We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay with hiccups”
Review of Palm Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palm Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Okay stay with hiccups”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The good: clean, spacious room, comfortable bed and pillows, warm shower, cold AC, beautiful view of the ocean/sunset from the 2nd floor, close to the airport, rental cars on-site for 35 euros a day, decently priced comparatively.

The not-so-good: poor customer service, sullen faced staff (from reception to servers to even the owners), leaking roof in room, phone didn't work, food is expensive and average on a good day, beach is covered with sea grass, location is on the other side of the island from all activities, most restaurants and beaches thus car rental is necessary.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is great- avoid room 20 which is a converted attic space
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    58
    33
    17
    8
See reviews for
33
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel

Service: Good. Every staffs were kind. We had some problems and they were really helpful to get over it. Especially this hotel provides fast wifi. It was really amazing to enjoy this fast internet in Seychelles. However, you should double check whether your package includes free wifi or not. If not, they will charge 20 Euro for internet. This hotel has a rent car service. It seems really convenient.

Location: Average. This hotel is located in south west, and all the good beaches are in north. You must have a rent car to reach famous beach such as Anse Lazio. It took 30 min to get to Anse Lazio. However, it's really close to the airport just 10 min drive. So there is bad side and good side at the same time.

Facility: Average. Room is clean but the bed was problem. This hotel gave to me kind size bed but it turns out the bed were made by 2 twin beds combined. My boyfriend and I had to sleep separately.

Food: I'm really sorry to say this, but breakfast was very disappointed. I paid around 200 Euros per night but, there were just bread, omelet with only onion&cheese, 3 different fruits, cereal with hot milk and coffee. That was all!! This hotel has to improve your food quality.

Room Tip: You better make sure your bed is real queen sized, or king sized bed. You may get a combined twin si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erangtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe Trekker
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We just loved it - much better than some of the higher ranked hotels. The currently TripAdvisor rating is way to low at number 23.

Booked directly on their website as it provided the best discount and got a free car for a day. We stayed 4 nights in Praslin at Palm beach hotel. Take the flight instead of boat - much more convenient and almost costs the same.

Room was big, nothing too special as it isn't a 5 star but clean and got a daily new design when they made the bed with lots of flowers. (See also room tips)

Restaurant was good and they were able to cook a new vegetarian dish for me every day. Try a small take away shop 100 m away or a shop for drinks which can save you a lot of money. Try the local Takamaka Coconut Rum, and the local beer - lovely. Creole food and especially fish (relished by my partner) was great. Often had breakfast with sand on your feet. Selection was limited for breakfast but always came with eggs made to order.

Car for a day was great to have and we did beach hopping on this day around Praslin. However the bus stop is right outside the hotel and worth a try if you want to do a day trip to Valley De Mai or to the Ferry to go to La Digue.

The beach is perfect for families with little kids and has an amazing sunset. At low tide, you can walk quite long, and forms a lagoon - perfect for little ones. The pool is great and we often jumped in after it was dark as then the pool was really warm.

Service was great. Its cheaper to pay in Seychelles Rupees assuming you don't get charged significantly for withdrawing rupees by your bank.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing and have a balcony. The views are better on the first floor, but the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkyOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stay there for one week, staff was very helpfull and very friendly. Hotel is small and very nice, room was cleaning every day, Its close to main village grand anse, 1minute from the hotel to the local shop and take way. Hope we will come back there again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasikac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in Palm Beach for 2 nights and the room rates were better than the other hotel. Decent and clean, though some small cockroaches in the bathroom roaming around while you take a shower. Breakfast was good and early as well. Since Sunday is an off day for the nearby "food take away" we were forced to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant. I suggest, just order their 3-course meal than ordering a-la carte. you will pay the same anyway. Go for the seafood as they are most probably fresh than the meat that seems to be frozen or might be the animal used to go to the gym (muscular/tough).

There is a small beach area where you can swim and relax as well as the not so well maintained pool.

The staffs were friendly and would at some extend to an extra mile to serve you.

Btw, if they tell you a higher rate more than Euro100 for a night, try to negotiate, if the hotel is not so busy you might just get it as we had.....

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony and facing the beach (might be all rooms are facing the beach, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwenCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed three nights at this hotel to finalize our honeymoon. Originally, I had only looked for a one night stay not too far from the airport and therefore didn’t check the location very thoroughly during my online research. At the end, we needed to extend our stay to three nights and I was a little bit worried if the hotel was going to live up to a honeymoon experience. All in all, however, it did.

The décor of the hotel is very cute with lots of attention to detail in a colonial architecture design. The only disappointment is the beach access – it is actually not really possible since high tide makes the beach disappear. In the European summer time, the wind from south west also brings a lot of sea wheat into the bay.

Grande Anse is not the most happening place in Praslin but the hotel was a bargain and a good stay for 3 nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Palmas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Wonderful people, very helpful and peaceful atmosphere.
Nice & quiet colonial hotel in the front of the beach. Great sun-sets from the upper rooms, small beach in the front of the hotel, economic cars for rent and possibility to organize some trips. The breakfast needs a little more variety and bathrooms some renovation, but certainly I recommend staying in Palm Beach, because of helpful staff.
The relation: quality - price = very good.
I had a lovely time; you can count on a manager Joel and Audrey.
Thank you Audrey for making my holidays a real pleasure.
Regards to all staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EliLasPalmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
2.7 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
148 reviews
7.5 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
859 reviews
3.7 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Berjaya Praslin Resort - Seychelles
2.0 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,310 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#7 of 12 in Anse Volbert
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hotel

Property: Palm Beach Hotel
Address: Grand Anse, Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing