We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best small hotel on the island - guaranteed!!”
Review of Palm Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palm Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Finland, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best small hotel on the island - guaranteed!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Lovely hotel with incredible service!!! From the moment we stepped in we were welcomed by the wonderful ladies at the desk. After such a long journey, they were so kind enough to offer us and the children some refreshing homemade tropical juice. We were so happy that the hotel was able to accomodate the early check in as the kids were so tired from the flight.

The rooms are very spacious and immaculately clean. I wouyld recommend to book room number 18 as it has the most perfect view of the sunset!!

The children were so well looked after by all the staff..every request was handled perfectly. The children being very difficult with choosing food, were very happy and had no problems at all with the meals provided in the hotel. The hotel being coneviently located right on the beach was like a heaven for the children... they loved spending time in the bay as well as using the water games facilities and canoe provided by the hotel.

We would gladly recommend this hotel to any of our family and friends.. and look forward to going back next year. Many thanks to the hotel manager Joel and his wonderful team!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaHoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    59
    34
    17
    8
See reviews for
35
93
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

My family stayed at this wonderful hotel for two weeks. We were warmly welcomed by the lovely and friendly staff of the hotel.

Our room was very clean and spacious with a big double bed. We also had the most amazing view of the bay and the two islands from our room. In the evenings we sat on the balcony of our room and watched the wonderful sunset. We were very happy to have excellent seychelles food everynight at the hotel. The fish was so delicious that we asked the manager to prepare fresh fish everynight for our dinner.

The manager and staff of the hotel were so helpful in making our holiday a most unforgettable and amazing one. I would recommend this hotel to all my family and friends. I look forward to coming back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NatashaHoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We stayed here for 1 week, as part of our honeymoon. The location is good, right on the beach and close to the local community where you'll find a few restaurants, take-aways, a post office, banks, small food shops, and a 'tourist shop' with post cards, sun tan lotion, trinkets etc. We got snacks and drinks from the local shops rather than the hotel, as it was much cheaper (you need local currency for this). We had dinner at the hotel once, and although the food was good we preferred to explore the local town/village. The local take-aways are cheap (again, most will take local currency. Beware of take aways/restaurants who only accept Euros as they tend to be much more expensive) and you can either eat there or take it back to the hotel. Vegetarians will struggle, as most dishes are meat/fish based, and meat is usually served on the bone. If this doesn't appeal, you can eat at the hotel or one of the other hotels in the area, such as the Britannia where the food was very good.

The hotel room we had was of a good size and the furnishings were simple but adequate. The air con and the ceiling fan worked perfectly. The balcony was great, and the view stunning. The bathroom was modern and clean (apart from some minor patches of mould, but it must be very difficult to avoid that in a tropical climate), and the bed was big and comfortable. There is a small fridge in the room, which is great for snacks and drinks. There is also a safe. We had no problems with the cleaning what so ever, and got new towels every day.

The breakfast was usually good, with tropical fruit, tea/coffee, juice and toast. Most days we were also offered eggs and bacon, but on some days this option wasn't available and no one bothered to tell us that this was the case or explain why. The 2 dogs who hang around the hotel (friendly) and birds would often join us for breakfast, and since the staff didn't bother the clear away the left overs, the birds would jump around on the tables, helping themselves. This was clearly not seen as an issue by the staff. Some of the staff were very friendly and efficient whereas others were sulky, slow and couldn't have cared less.

The hotel has a pool and sun loungers, and you can also get fresh beach towels every day, free of charge. There was some seaweed on the beach when we were there, but it wasn't a big issue at all, and it didn't smell. At low tide you can walk along the sand bars and at other times you can go swimming. There isn't much to do in the local area, but you can rent a car from the hotel (try to haggle if you're renting it for more than 1 day!) and explore the rest of the island. Anse Lazio is stunning! If you're sensitive to insect bites, bring some repellent, as there are sand flies and mosquitoes around. We got bitten on the local beach, but also on other beaches and other Seychelles islands, so it's not just a local problem. You may also want to bring a bottle opener for your drinks and a torch for your evening walks (it gets dark early and there are no street lights).

To sum up: a good, basic hotel. Don't expect any luxuries or extras, and don't expect the staff to be overly courteous.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — lack of interest in customer care
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2007

1 The location, although someone said it was very good... I found it really bad. It is the last hotel in Grand Anse (south wise), 5 minutes walk to the Sunset Cafe. The bus stops in front of the hotel.

2 Hotel staff... not helping at all. You ask for maps and such, they tell you they gave them to tourists and turists don't bring them back :)

3 Restaurant. We only ate there 1 evening. The buffet is 20 Euros per person and not much choices. From the a-la-carte menu, we ate what we would have from the buffet and paid 10 euros.... However, if you have to eat close to the hotel... I would recommend going for the takeaway Sunset Cafe... 3-4 times cheaper and better food.

4 Room... Ok for an average hotel. Although we requested a room on the upper floor and we got a family room with 1 master bed and 3 more single beds.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

PS We paid 130 Euros per room per night.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank octaviand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Anse hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
2.7 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
158 reviews
3.7 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Berjaya Praslin Resort - Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
876 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hotel

Property: Palm Beach Hotel
Address: Grand Anse, Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing