We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel-Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Britannia Hotel-Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Grand Anse B&B and Inns
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
1,009 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
“Just Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Britannia was a nice surprise. We stayed in the room which is not near the sea, but we didnt miss the sea as there was a tempting swimming pool. I will remember swimming with a view to giant fox bats which are gliding the sky in the evening - spectacular sight.
Lydia was so attentive and friendly as well as all the staff, And we really enjoyed the evening with fabolus creole cuisine and some entertainment by Lydia and all the restaurant staff...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank izi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    48
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Britannia has one of the best creole cuisine. The breakfast each morning was quite. Delightful. Lydia and her staff are warm and friendly. it has a very relaxing feeling especially. In the evening
It s simple and good value for your money. We go to praslin every year from australia and we stay at Britannia.

Room Tip: Britannia. Guest house is hidden in a quaint little oasis. The rooms and ensuites Are spacious. An...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jules c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I had read a lot about low quality of cheap hotels in Seychelles before my trip and I was very pleased with my stay in Britannia. The hotel consists of some brick-and-mortar bungalows with 2 or 3 rooms in each, separate reception+bar+restaurant building, pool and boutique with beach clothes and souvenirs.

Rooms are big and comfortable and equipped with everything you need, including fridge, air conditioner plus big fan on the ceiling, TV set, safe deposit, tea/coffee facilities. There is also a nice open veranda, well-protected from rain, with two chairs, a table and a frame for drying your wet clothes and towels.

Breakfasts are very good: buffet with fresh fruits (melon, watermelon, papaya, banana, pineapple, orange), cereals, toasts, butter, fruit jams, milk, juices, tea, coffee, and eggs being cooked for you as you like (scrambled or fried with bacon).

Dinners are upon request and a la carte, mostly traditional Creole cuisine, pretty standard for the most of (good) Seychellois restaurants. If you don't want to spend so much for eating, you can go down the road to the round-about, there are two "take-away" kiosks with cheap although too hot and spicy Indian fast-food (big portion of rice with curry meat or fish and a salade). At last, you can buy some canned food at mini market situated just outside the hotel fence.


Overall, everything was above my expectations. The only downside is the location. It is slightly off the main road and the beach line, so you should walk about 10 minutes to the beach, where you can discover another bad experience: the Grand Anse beach is mostly shallow, so you can't swim there normally. But there is a nice place just under the pier (before the police station, to the right of the round-about), where you can also find a shelter in the shadow of coconut palm trees. If it still isn't an option for you, Britannia Hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the best Praslin's beach, Anse Lazio, three times a week. If you rent a car, reaching a nice beach isn't a problem at all. At the other side, Airport and Vallee de Mai, famous coco de mer trees park, are pretty near, just few bus stops.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaksimR406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Lydia and her staff are warm and attentive. Her husband Dewit prepared the best Creole food we had while in the Seychelles. The breakfast in the morning is much more than continental, there are fruits, crepes, toast, and eggs to your taste. Half board is a good idea. The Inn is also very close to the bus stop, where regular service takes you to most places on the island. The Inn also offers free transport twice a week to Anse Lazio or Anse Volbert. We were made to feel at home here, and enjoyed the pool and verandah.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerum
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

My husband and I have recently been to Praslin . We stayed at Britannia for 5 nights,
Very large room and a twin shower, big bathroom . The bed was big but a little hard.
Refrigerator and a hairdryer All fresh and clean. We got big towels for the beach and swimmingpool every day. Breakfast was served as a buffe with plenty of fruit. You got your eggs as you wish. The only thing i would have liked ,was brown bread . Staff very friendly and nice.
We had dinner at the hotell every night. lovely food. We never thought to go enywhere else.
We will defenetly go back. The Hotell was good situated. Walking distans to busstop and shops , 5 minutes away. Good little shop just outside the hotell.

Room Tip: We had room nr 3 just in front of the swimmingpool . nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chessieLerum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau Vallon, Seychelles
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights last week.
It's very clean, the rooms and bathrooms are spacious and well taken care off.
For breakfast there is a small buffet but they make you your eggs exactly as you want them; The only downside of the hotel is the situation, it's far from where the restaurants are - you would need to cross valle de mai again to get to the cote d'or side. However if you don't mind staying in; they offer an interesting dinner menu plus a la carte choices of a high qualiy; Just lay off the wine and cocktails. Quality is not that brilliant.
Besides that this is absolutely a little hotel with a plus for me! I'm going back in Septembre!

Room Tip: The family rooms are all next to the pool and the doubles are across the 'road' but they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
535 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

The luncheon buffet was outstanding. There was a good variety of dishes, including vegetarian, cooked in the creole style. For those liking the food more spicy, there was a sauce to "spice things up". Service was good and individuals all were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveller604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
0.5 mi away
Indian Ocean Lodge
Indian Ocean Lodge
#2 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Berjaya Praslin Resort - Seychelles
1.8 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villas de Mer
Villas de Mer
#3 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 8 in La Digue Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel-Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel-Guest House

Property: Britannia Hotel-Guest House
Address: Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Anse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel-Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Hotel-Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel-Guest House Hotel Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing