We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If they fixed she service, the place could be perfect”
Review of Hotel L'Archipel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel L'Archipel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Au Cap
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
280 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“If they fixed she service, the place could be perfect”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent a New Year's week in the Executive Suite (around 150m2) with the marvelous beach view. We booked the room directly with the resort and were satisfied with all the responce/feedback stuff. We used some of their special offers for honeymooners so the side effect was very nice and romantic Candle Dinner on the house. We even did take our two kids (5 and 2,5 y.o.) with us.

The Suite was very big, well furnished and convenient. Room service worked flawless (what was hugelly amazing, as the direct restaurant orders did take 2-3 times more to be delivered than those made to the room (sic!). As we did use these services a lot, I may recommend this (pricey) option.

Service in the only restaurant was were slow. Sometimse you have to wait 15 minutes only to be able to order tea/coffee to the brealfast. Ordering a la carte meals was even worse. Once I did observe our breakfast omellets waiting ready for 10 minutes to be delivered by the "busy" waiteress. In fact it landed on our table delivered cold by the manager himself (we did not intervene - just watching and considering options). Food itself, if delivered and especially in the room service menu, was tasty and generally ok.

The resort's beach is little but clean and allowing access to the public areas for the longer walks. About the locations - you have to be aware that this property is located a little bit in the middle of nowhere so any visit to the grocery shop or other restaurant will require a taxi/hiring a car.

As for the internet, it is available only in he reception area and very unstable.

The pool, little infinity-view one was always very clean but it is not the one you may consider an option for the little kids (1m deep in the most shallow part). Actually property has zero attractions for children, same no gym or other sport amenities (if you do not consider renting snorkels/towells sport activity :)

Regardeless minuses listed above, we spent a nice holidays there.

Room Tip: Take an Executive Suite - very good option for 4-5 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    167
    50
    16
    4
See reviews for
43
436
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manzanares el Real, Madrid
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and from booking (which we did directly with the hotel), we were made to feel welcome - greeted by the manager with a cocktail by the small infinity pool while paperwork was completed. Our bungalow by the private beach was perfect - just steps away from the soft white sand. The room was tasteful with a large comfortable bed overlooking the beach with a large wet room and separate toilet. There was a private balcony which gave a fantastic view of the bay and the maid service provided was second to none. When we asked for all the soft drinks in our mini-bar to be replaced with just Coke, our request was carried out straight away. The grounds were lovely and very well maintained and all areas of the hotel were clean and nicely decorated.
Breakfast was served right on the beach and there was a great selection, including fresh fruits and pastries and a cooked option -can recommend the cinnamon pancakes with maple syrup! Lunches were great too - but oh, so expensive! The fries were to die for!
The service in the restaurant was where it all started to go wrong... if you were a couple you could only sit at a table for 2 - even when the restaurant was empty and there were so few guests it was never going to fill up! Service was rotated daily, so even if you sat at the same table, you never got the same server - which was a shame, as we found one server who knew what he was doing and went out of his way to make our meals a pleasant experience - but it was hit or miss as to whether we got him or not (John). Mostly, the serving staff were either fawning and didn't listen to orders/requests or surly and couldn't care less! The restaurant manager spent his time walking round interrupting you eating to ask if you had a nice day, rather than supervising staff efficiently. Bearing in mind this was a 5-star hotel, if you ordered Coke, the tin and a glass (you had to request ice separately) was slammed down in front of you unopened! The wine order was often wrong and we were on more than one occasion billed for more expensive wines than we ordered. Often you found that people who had come in after you, were served before you - especially if they spoke French! As Brit, I often felt like a second class citizen there with inferior service and attention. We had to request condiments at EVERY meal and I resorted to stockpiling butter from breakfast to have with my bread in the evening, because even if I requested it, it was hit or miss whether I got it before the dessert course!! The food was like something off Junior Masterchef where the chef was trying to impress the judges with too many flavours and spices on one plate - none of which quite worked together. If you were half-board, you had two options for your evening meal if you didn't want to pay the extortionate a-la-carte prices. Often I went hungry.
There were lots of hidden charges - prices shown did not include tax or the gratuity which was always added on to your bill. Perhaps if the gratuity was not added to the bill, but paid by the customer - then the service might have been a lot better in the restaurant!!
The beach clearing was often done just as the guests were sitting down on the beach after breakfast instead of first thing in the morning as you would expect - and they used a smelly diesel emitting truck to clear away the seaweed!
On checking out, we were disappointed that the manager completely blanked us - perhaps he had already read our survey! We would have been quite happy to discuss the problems we had with him.
All in all, we did enjoy our stay and it was a lovely location and hotel - shame about the food and service in the restaurant - not 5 star - or even 4 star I am afraid compared with the accommodation which was definitely 5 star!

Room Tip: DeLuxe room beach facing will probably get you a bungalow like ours just steps from the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queen04fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

You can see why the hotel rates itself 5*, stunningly beautiful location, very attractive buildings and pool area, set in delightful gardens. Our beachside bungalow was really nicely decorated, the bed spacious and comfortable and had a beautiful view. There was a separate toilet from the well appointed and large bathroom, with walk-in shower. Fixtures and fittings all looked brand new and pre-warned by T.A .we had brought our own shampoo & gel. Everything was spotless & our lovely maid Jeanette kept it that way every day. We sat down and thought we were about to have the holiday of a lifetime.
Breakfast was good, particularly all the on-site baked items. Good selection and fresh. Through the holiday 40% of our hot items were either wrong, or came incomplete. When the bacon eventually turned up everything else was cold. I ordered hot milk and often got cold, the one thing I never got was an apology. We had paid for the half board package and were disappointed with the food at dinner. There seemed to be too many uncomplimentary flavours and fiddly garnishes on the plate, which tended to spoil what was basically nice food. This was where the lack of service really started to grate. Rolls without butter (we asked on 9 occasions) a glass and an unopened tin of soda dumped in front of you, food unceremoniously plonked down, 40% of wine orders wrong and sometimes billed at too high a price. Tables received food out of synch and often people who sat down after us were 2 courses ahead (particularly if they spoke French).
Oh and the whole place was so dark that guests were resorting to torches and cellphones to read the menu and bill. N.b. The already highly marked up drinks have 15% tax and 10% service added! (Over 10 euros for a small draught beer?). If they wanted to improve service by 300% they could ship their staff off to a 3* in Magaluf and bring in the complete staff from an Applebees in Doha.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for a week in July for our honeymoon and it was the first of the 3 islands we visited. We arrived at L'Archipel after a 17 hours journey and we were warmly welcomed by Gerard with wet towels and delicious cocktails which we enjoyed in the terrace from were this picture perfect beach opened in front of our eyes. Powder white sand, blue water, the most crystal clear water we have ever seen - it's like bottled water. We stayed in Felicite junior suite, which we were upgraded to upon our arrival. The room was really nice, creole style, with natural wood furniture (i think it is hand made), very spacious, huge dressing, generous bathroom (with both bath tub and walck-in shower). The room has a sitting area which we never used because we had this beautiful terrace with sea view where we enjoyed our evening drinks. The restaurant is absolutely great, so going on a half board basis is the best choice. Actually, we ate here our best meals in all Seychelles and we include here the Constance Ephelia restaurants as well (we stayed there as well during our holiday). The menu is a-la-carte - you have to choose between 2 options every night. The service is great and is included in the drinks you buy (which are very expensive, by the way... ~12 euros a big bottle of sparkling water) and we loved the fact that the waiters are presenting the food when they put it in front of you.
The beach in front of the hotel has the softest sand on the island. The only downside is the fact that there are lots of seaweed close to the shore so you cannot enjoy swimming there very far away. But it is good enough for a bath.
You cand take boat trips directly from the hotel. The prices are reasonable (cheaper than with the travel agency) and the boats are new. We went to Cousin island with a small yacht so go figure :). You shouldn't miss visiting Cousin: they have an Aldabra Turtles reserve there and you can pet and feed the turtles. Plus the island is so beautiful. Also, the snorkelling at St Pierre is amazing, but you cannot leave Seychelles without snorkelling at Ille Coco.
The Anse Volbert village is 20 minutes walk which may seem a bit far, but most of the resorts in Praslin are pretty insolated so that L'Archipel is very good positioned from my point of view, beacuse you are close enough from the village but far enough to enjouy a quiet and peaceful resort. The Anse Volbert beach is not as quiet as Anse Gouvernment. We rented a car directly from the hotel and we used it to visit the whole island. You shouldn't miss Anse Georgette, Anse Lazio and the Vallee de Mai park.
All in all, we had an amazing holiday here and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking for a peaceful piece of heaven.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the hillside for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The staff were friendly and attentive. the location is great, views across the bay from the veranda of our beachside villa made early morning tea and early evening drinks so much better. A minute stroll to the beach to relax, swim or snorkel made it a great location. If you speak French then even better but we found that all the staff spoke English more than adequately for conversations. It is a bit off the path but a stroll along the beach will get you to cote d'or with ease, if you get too hot just pop in the sea too cool off before continuing on your way, you will be dry before you know it. If you want to go further afield we hired a car which took us to vallee de mar ( incredible ) and the south of the island, this is recommended at least just to see a bit more of a beautiful island. However, either on the beach or by the pool it is a wonderful location to just sit back, relax and enjoy being there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, go with an open mind and a friendly attitude and you will leave with a smile and a desire to return. We did, and hope to return again.

Room Tip: We were by the beach, higher up may have been a better view but no complaints whatsoever. Oh, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Excellent senior honeymoon suite. Personal service. On the downside, you tend to stay put at the hotel, missing other places to see, to eat at, etc. 25 min walk to village and other restaurants, shops etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavvely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

L'Archipel is situation on a beautiful quiet bay on Praslin island. The sea is crystal clear and the sand like fine sugar. The hotel is small and therefore it's quiet compared to other resorts. The upside is that the staff get to know you, and most are very friendly. Finding a bed by the beach is not hard, but you will likely be lying right underneath a coconut tree! The sunbeds have seen better days, but are not awful. The restaurants are pleasant - we preferred the a la carte on the beach as it's much nicer to sit there rather than in a rather blandly decorated restaurant. As the menu didn't change, we got a bit bored after the third night. The service is slow; on one evening there was just one person waiting on about seven tables. The breakfast is adequate but lacks the sophistication of a larger hotel, so choice is somewhat limited. The rooms are dated but clean and pleasant with the views spectacular. Sitting on the balcony in the late afternoon, reading a book was always something to look forward to. The biggest drawback to anyone needing to stay in contact with the outside world is that the internet only works in the pool area and you have to pay for it, so you waste time trying to get shade whilst reading emails that would better be done at a more convenient time from your room. Overall this is a charming hotel with friendly staff and the most beautiful beach but suffers from lack of sophistication with regard to food and bedrooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Au Cap
1.5 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Archipel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Archipel

Property: Hotel L'Archipel
Address: Anse Gouvernement | Praslin, Au Cap, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Au Cap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Au Cap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Archipel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on praslin at the end of the famous cote d'or Bay, overlooking the secluded beach of Anse Gouvernement. L'Archipel hotel enjoys an idyllic setting with all rooms offering sea views, so you can sit back, relax and enjoy the tranquility. 5 Superior rooms 60sqm, 18 deluxe rooms 60sqm, 7 senior suites 65sqm and 2 family suites 120sqm. Hotel L'Archipel proposes some of the best cuisine on the island in its two reputed restaurants: La Feuille d'Or and la Gigolette which offer a variety of delicious international and memorable Creole dishes featuring the very best seafood and local produce. Attractions include the live cooking of seafood right on the beach, weekly themed nights and spectacular Barbecues. The special Creole night comes complete with a moutya dance and, on occasion, live entertainment. We are happy to cater for guests with special dietary needs and clients who go fishing may request the chef to cook their catch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel L'Archipel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Archipel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing