We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Hotel L'Archipel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel L'Archipel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Au Cap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I have returned recently from a fabulous holiday in the Seychelles, seven days of which were spent at the lovely Hotel L’Archipel on Praslin Island. The holiday was to celebrate a special birthday and was made so much more special by the attention and service we received from the moment we arrived.
The hotel itself is located in a beautiful, quiet position at the end of the bay. The grounds and gardens are tended constantly and are lush and exotic.
Our recently re-furbished, and well appointed room was in an elevated position with a wonderful view of the hotel grounds and the ocean and C’ote d’or beach beyond.
We found the food to be of a very high standard and it was lovely to be served at the table rather than queue for a buffet.
Much has been said in other reviews that you do not have a permanent table for dinner during your stay. We didn’t find this a problem as we had an opportunity to find an area that suited us and choose a table close by. It was normally not a problem to find a table by a window for a cool-ish breeze.
It was very clear to us that a great deal of effort is made to make visitors welcome and to feel valued…we most certainly did.
Overall we find it difficult to fault the hotel and are already discussing a return visit as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Hotel L'Archipel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent 7 days at L'Archipel, wondering how some people could write such bad reviews of this hotel - do not let them influence away from here!
Ok, the hotel is at the end of the beach, but the walk along the beach to the village has to be one of the most romantic in the world. The staff were very friendly - maybe we make an effort to speak to them and show an interest in them and their island, however, they could not have been more attentive and helpful.
The room was lovely, fantastic view and what a sunset! The food was excellent, we were on HB and had lunch most days - yes it's not cheap, but you're in the Seychelles!
A care for a day will let you see the whole island - and it's worth it.

Room Tip: There are a few steps, so let them know if you need a room near the beach
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed 30 April to 5 May 2014

An excellent stay in a,boutique hotel with competent, friendly staff. Set in an isolated location with its own lovely private beach, the 'chalets' dotted round a very attractive garden area. Some chalets are on the hillside with good sea views, others are more at sea level, with views of the sea slightly obscured by the palm trees but a very convenient location. The room was comfortable, spacious, well equipped and thoroughly cleaned each day.

The food in the restaurant was good but there are some good restaurants in the nearby village; 2 of them provide a free taxi service from the hotel.

While, for us, the weather was most disappointing, the overall stay was very good. Our only quibbles were that there was no free water in the rooms and no free wifi ($2.50 per hour)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 735Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights on our honeymoon. The location is first class, in its own cove with the most amazing beach. It's not too big which meant it never felt busy and so was very relaxing.
It is a 20minute walk from the "town", but we came to get away from it all so that was great. However it does mean that practically you have to eat in the hotel unless you rented a car. The rooms are fantastic - large, well furnished and with amazing views over the sea. The facilities are really good. There is a lovely pool and free kayaks to borrow, and we enjoyed sitting round the pool in the evening with a drink. We'd read a lot of bad reviews before we went about the service in the restaurant but they really seem to have sorted it out. The food was good quality and the attention by the staff was brilliant, especially Sookesh and Petra. We were half board, so got a set starter, a choice of a fish or meat main and a choice of the dessert or ice-cream. If you are fussy eater that might be a problem but we thought it was great.
There were very few negatives for us. The remote location might not suit everyone and the lack of competition close by means the food and drink is a bit expensive. But they are minor points in an otherwise lovely hotel. If you want a beautiful beach and a quiet location to get away from it all then this is a great place for you. Steve & Roni

Room Tip: We had a villa on the hill which gave you fantastic views. There are a few steps to get there but no...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronaldo90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is the first time TripAdvisor actually mislead me. Based on the reviews, I had some very decent expectations. They were not only not met, but this property has failed on all possible levels.

- It is extremely overpriced. Just my wifi set me back 100 eur for 7 days and this is not for unlimited usage. The signal was really poor as well. Had to log in/out constantly. I have paid that much at St Regis and Four Seasons Bora Bora and they are galaxies further than this hotel.

- The food was again overpriced and below average. I am not comparing this hotel to 3* Michelin restaurant, but the food was really tasteless.

- On a remote island, in 4 star property, not a single drop of complimentary bottled water. Not even a bottle on arrival. Instead, they charged 4EUR for a small bottle.

- The beach and beds were awful. Lots of vegetation and the beds are 10 years old and really uncomfortable. No beach service!

- The staff was lazy and apologetic! I swear they were. There was only one guy doing his job properly - a server wearing make up named Pierre. This is not a joke.

- They rent a bikes at 10 EUR that break up on the middle of the road. Be aware if you decide to go shopping in nearby village.

- I was shocked by electricity in my room. Actually, under the shower!!! This is the most ridiculous experience ever. Having a shower, almost ankles deep in water due to bad draining and at some point while I touched the shower I was shocked. Did it again and was shocked again. My wife thought I was going crazy, came and was shocked as well. Maintenance guy #1 came after 15mins and two calls. Got shocked as well. At this point I demanded the manager to show up. He did and couldn't replicate it with maintenance guy #2 (#1 went missing).

They claimed they believe us and understand we would really appreciate a new room. The best thing they did was to move us. Nothing else. Just a bland apology and a new room. Horrible way to treat two customers who had beed shocked by electricity. I can only imagine a father's reaction if a kid was taking a shower....

Overall - really bad experience and I would definitely advise on paying a bit more for a higher end property. This one is below average three star hotel.

If it wasn't Anse Lazio this would have been the worst vacation ever.

Beware.

Room Tip: If you have issues climbing a lot of steep steps, ask for room closer to reception. You get WIFI sig...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hristo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resident_Manager_LAR, Manager at Hotel L'Archipel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Sir,

I thank you for your stay at Hotel L'Archipel and thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I note with regret to that you did not enjoy your stay with us at L’Archipel. We feel that if you had mentioned all these misfortunes with our Operations Manager, who met with you each night, we would have been in an improved position to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Now, please allow me to clarify on all your points raised:

In your comments, you mentioned that the hotel is overpriced. It’s regretful that you have such sentiments, but our prices are in the same range like any other Hotel in our category and or Restaurant on the island of Praslin and in the Seychelles in general. It has to be noted that nowhere on our brochure or website does it state that the internet is free of charge. Upon Check-in, I have no doubt that you were briefed and informed that the internet is available in the public areas and some rooms and at a fee. If you recall, I was the one to brief you upon your arrival. I think you will agree with me that the internet problem is not only at L’Archipel but the whole of the Seychelles in general, as we are off the fiber optic grid due to major damage.

It has to be noted that our restaurant is amongst the best on the Island. We have a French Star Michelin Chef who comes 2 – 3 times a year for the refresher training of our Kitchen Staff and Chefs on the culinary developments taking place within Europe. A full set Menu if you are on Half Board will cost you Sr800 including Vat and Service Charge. You will have a starter, Main course and a dessert. If you wish to have a la carte you can have snacks from Sr95 for small samoosas , a starter from Sr94 for a grilled vegetables, a main course from Sr275 for a fish pane and chips and a dessert from Sr165 for a cream caramel. All of these are inclusive of VAT and Service Charge. As in your case you had the HB Menu as you were on the promotion BB=HB where we offer you free Dinner every night of your entire stay.

We do provide free bottle of water in rooms depending on the category of rooms booked. At the bar you can purchase a bottle of water for Euro 3.30 including VAT and Service Charge. Normal rate for a 4 start Hotel round the world.

It’s unfortunate that at the time of your stay, we encountered increased seaweed on our otherwise unspoiled hotel beach, like you mentioned above. It has to be noted that the period from end November to end March we do experience a build-up of seaweed on the beach. This is primarily due to the strong SE winds that prevail over this period on the side where the hotel is located. However our garden staff ensures without fail that the beach is cleaned on a daily basis, so as to enable our guests to enjoy the beauty, peace and tranquility of our secluded beach. I agree with you that our beach beds are a somewhat outdated but we are in the process of changing them. We have a water sports centre where we propose a variety of different activities such as excursions, Canoing, Snokeling and Fishing. Some at a fee and some of which we offer free of charge.

You will agree with me that we cannot predict a fault or for that matter even a mechanical failure on either a car or a bicycle. We apologise if this happened to you during your stay with one of the bikes borrowed from the company working with the hotel. If you had mentioned this to a member of our reception team, I certain that we would have found an amicable solution to your problem.

Finally to conclude our response to your statement, we are stunned that you claimed having received an electrical shock in the shower. You stayed in one of our Deluxe rooms, in fact a newly renovated room, where we have redone everything in the room e.g. Wire ring, plumbing, decoration, etc.. It must be noted that there are no power points in the bathroom apart from the shaving point. Even for the hair dryer, unfortunately for the ladies, they have to plug the electrical device in front of the big mirror in the corridor; as the regulations in Seychelles stipulate, we are not permitted to place any power point close to the water. I had a lengthy and detailed discussion with my maintenance technician and Operations Manager who came to check your room when you claimed that you had experienced an electrical shock. He confirmed to me that he did not experience any electrical shock. For that matter, neither did the guests pre nor post your stay in that same room report any such incident. He told me that he even removed his safety shoes in front of you and in the presence of the Operations Manager to make sure that there is no static electricity. He advised me that he climbed up into the ceiling to verify all cable connections and reported everything was in order. Our Operations Manager did speak to you and you mentioned that you wanted another room, which he responded accordingly to your request. You were without delay allocated another Deluxe room which was the same category you had booked, whereby you thanked us.

I hope this will clarify all the misapprehension and adversity that you had during your visit to Seychelles and at Hotel L’Archipel. As and when you return to the Seychelles in the near future, we will extend a warm welcome to you once again at Hotel L'Archipel. On this next occasion we will do our utmost to be more attentive to your expectations, and make your stay an enjoyable one. I take this opportunity to thank you for the great Room Tips which you have posted below your comments. I am sure this will help many of our future guests .

Kind Regards
Lucas d'Offay
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I spent one weekend with my girlfriend at the Hotel and it was the best ever, super!
the staff are very friendly, the rooms were very clean, the environment were very beautiful.

Whilst arriving at the Hotel, the welcoming drink were super!

It has its own swimming pool, own beach. the buffet at night were very delicious and amazing breakfast.

The best place ever!

Room Tip: the place is amazing!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertrand A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked l'Archipel to celebrate our 25th anniversary and it was everything we had hoped for and more! By chance we found out later that my sister had spent her honeymoon years ago in the exact same hotel. We wanted a quiet location and our feet skimming the beach from our room, or nearly. The room was spacious, pretty, albeit sparsely decorated but functional and very comfortable, with a sea and sunset facing terrace to drink cocktails on at 6 o'clock.
The hotel manager Mr Suresnes, was extremely organised, helpful and attentive and the new management family is getting things done progressively to compete with the big guns not too far away.
But this intimate spot, with its own private beach, away from the road (not the case for the most expensive hotel on the island, The Raffles, a same-same chain looking monster), with a slow pace and no one to show off to is exactly what we wanted.
The Maître d'hôtel, Pierre, in the restaurant, was most attentive and very professional, as was the main waiter John. Mrs Demelza at reception is always smiling and suggested so many great ideas for restaurants and activities. Nothing is too much for the staff and management. They mean to make your stay very comfortable. We really relaxed here and were truly sorry to leave our little corner of paradise. We loved l'Archipel and will return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Au Cap
1.6 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,357 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,017 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
790 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Archipel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Archipel

Address: Anse Gouvernement | Praslin, Au Cap, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Au Cap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Au Cap
Price Range: £220 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Archipel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on praslin at the end of the famous cote d'or Bay, overlooking the secluded beach of Anse Gouvernement. L'Archipel hotel enjoys an idyllic setting with all rooms offering sea views, so you can sit back, relax and enjoy the tranquility. 5 Superior rooms 60sqm, 18 deluxe rooms 60sqm, 7 senior suites 65sqm and 2 family suites 120sqm. Hotel L'Archipel proposes some of the best cuisine on the island in its two reputed restaurants: La Feuille d'Or and la Gigolette which offer a variety of delicious international and memorable Creole dishes featuring the very best seafood and local produce. Attractions include the live cooking of seafood right on the beach, weekly themed nights and spectacular Barbecues. The special Creole night comes complete with a moutya dance and, on occasion, live entertainment. We are happy to cater for guests with special dietary needs and clients who go fishing may request the chef to cook their catch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Archipel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Archipel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing