We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
104
11
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
11
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After a full day touring the D-Day beaches, it was great to sit back, relax and enjoy a beer and wine with David in a peaceful setting in the middle of this little village. We had booked dinner ahead of our visit and we were glad we did. We ate outside on a pleasant spring evening in the shadow of the village church. The meal was wonderful and made from locally sourced products. The room was comfortable and very quiet. We would stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend the Priory to others.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mlynnottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014


We recently stayed for a few nights at this lovely old establishment in Normandy. The house is tastefully and sympathetically restored, with lovely antique furniture, comfortable beds, and powerful showers ; the large grounds are secluded and peaceful despite being in the centre of the village. We ate in one night and had a fantastic meal which whilst not cheap, WAS great value - don't miss this if you appreciate quality cooking, ingredients, and bonhomie. All the guests share a table and eat the same food, (the host included), so it's a bit like one of those trendy supper clubs you read about in the Guardian, and a real experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSLennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had a delightful overnight stop on our way back to England last June.
The Priory itself is simply lovely and beautifully decorated. the bedrooms were spacious, beds lovely and comfortable, plenty of drawers and hanging space.
The priory is set amid a large but not formal garden in the very heart of the village and we were free to walk over the old wooden bridge across the stream, look at the hens and generally admire and photograph the garden.
The food, cooked by David was lovely though I would say if you like good, plain cooking this is probably not for you. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful - home made bread, lovely honey and good coffee. Both meals we had were served at the long dining room table, where all guests are seated, along with your host. This was convivial and the other couple staying were very friendly and amiable - could have been a problem had they not been.
Overall, this place is a real gem set in a lovely village and very handy for the ferry terminal in Caan.
Haven't reviewed it before as we heard the Priory at Gouvix was for sale, but have recently received a e-mail shot indicating that this is not so.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at this gem of a place. It was comfortable and had a really authentic feel to it. The rooms were well appointed and clean.

The highlight of the stay was the food which was outstanding.

All in all we had a really relaxing and pleasant couple of days - we will be sure to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and I spend three marvelous nights at the priory in September 2013. Our first night set the tone for the rest of the stay. We arrived about an hour before dinner. David showed us to our rooms (Winter) then invited to share the evening meal with two other couples since he had made more than enough. The evening was one of the highlights of our three weeks in Europe! The dinner, the bread, the cheese and the wine, shared with a British horticulturist, his wife, an expert on some of Europe's fines gardens and another couple from the states who had traveled the world and our host, David lasted well into the night! The next morning's breakfast was delicious. David had lots of suggestions on the best roads to the Normandy beaches, where to eat, what to skip and what to add to our time in Northern France. Parts of the Priory go back to the mid-15th century and the area is steeped in fascinating history. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the best showers we used in all of Europe and there are books everywhere. After Paris and London the cost of a night at the Priory at Gouvix is a grand bargain. And today I received a little note saying they are now offering one to four-day "cookery breaks." Young, old, single, hitched, if you're anywhere within 100 miles, I recommend at least one night in Gouvix at David's priory.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moe93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews