We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel with excellent service”
Review of The Danna Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We were stunned by the huge rooms (we stayed at the merchant room) with big bathrooms, the infinity pool, the restaurants, the kids club, the library and the beautyful garden they have. The service is excellent and the view to the ocean from the pool is just beautiful. The hotel is very clean and brandnew. We got pampered by the staff with cold face towells and chilled watermelon while laying in our sunchairs by the pool. The huge breakfast buffet offers all kind of delicious food (western & asian). The poolside is very well designed. It offers neck massage fountains, Jacuzzis, main pool (the biggest one I ever saw in a hotel, for lap swimming) and a stepwise deepening pool area for babies and kids. Very quiet and excellent place to relax and rejuvenate.They offer many free services, e.g. free DVDs to watch in the room, Waterbottles, coffee, tea in room every day, every saturday evening they have an open air cinema, cool towells and chilled fruit by the pool, free boat ride to the man made island, library with many books, game room... and so on. The arrangement and ambience of each single item in the hotel is perfect. Unfortunately we stayed 2 nights only. That was definitely too short. We are planning to go there again, and then it will be for one week.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lale77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation and also for taking the time to write your review. We all really appreciate it. We are now looking forward to your return soon.

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,772 - 2,778 of 3,271 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2011

We would very much want to convey our deepest appreciateion to Planters staff, Fifie & Dayang specifically for going the extra mile. They always came up to check if we need anything more and shared many informations for our trip. They contribute a factor to a great start every new day!
Not forgetting Zul from the front desk,if i got it right. He showed us around and that is really kind of him. Hubby LOVED the games room. And i simply LOVE the pillows!
Room Service was efficient and they promptly made up our room ensuring a daily comfy night sleep. We had in room dining and all came in hot along with additional requests of cili padi's and extra crackers!! superb!

We hope to make time to return there again next year, perhaps try out the Viceroy room!!
Thank you everyone there! The smiles and great service will sure fly me there again..!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mfsrlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for a wonderful review. Dayang, Fifie, and Zul are so happy to know that you folks enjoyed so much at The Danna. We are looking forward to your return to The Danna soon.

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I had stayed at some other five star hotels... Hotel de Crillon Paris, Grand Hotel Vesuvio Naples, Grand Hyatt Shanghai (and so on...) and I didn't satisfied those hotels. But, this Hotel was different from any other hotels! There was tasty food(not so expensive), fancy interrior, cleanly room, breathtaking views from window. And in particular, their service was excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferozzz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a wonderful review about The Danna Langkawi. We are happy to see that you have compared us with such wonderful hotels and resorts. Thanks again and please come back soon with family and friends.

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

excellent services from the hotel staff especially during the breakfast! the staff even share and recommend the places that we should go and recommended some tips for our activities

Room Tip: facing the harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review. We all at The Danna Langkawi really appreciate it.

Looking forward to your return to The Danna

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Well, we went to Langkawi for our honeymoon and were staying at Four Seasons on the first & second nights before moved to The Danna.

With the great and fantastic services in Four Seasons, we didn't expect the same service level as what The Danna could offer. Out of our expectation, it was really a fantastic experience that we could get, same as in Four Seasons, except they couldn't address our name upon arrival. (Dear management, may consider this .. )

The floor gave you a warm welcome upon arrival, until you leave .. staff, is really playing a very important role on it, and you made it!

Oh ya, 1 of the set back was the Spa. It wasn't a pleasant experience. I made an appointment before going over to the spa few hours before. However, non of the staff were at the counter upon my arrival on my appointment time, but i could listen to their conversation and laughing at the back of the entrance.. I waited for about 5 minutes and 2 staff passing through the entrance and saw me .. The masseur don't even know what kind of massage that I have chosen .. no explanation on the product used and nothing were mentioned on the massage that I have chosen. By paying at the price of the massage, I would expect to have a service worth of the value ..

Overall, our stay in The Danna was impressive. We will definitely back to Danna again, in the near future!

Room Tip: Grand Viceroy Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedbak. We appreciate the time you took to write your review. Please do accept our sincere apologies for some of the shotfalls and the team is vey eager to change and learn from their mistakes and move on with out repeating them again.

We are looking frward to your next visit and hope to see you soon

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed from 26th April to 1st May,2011. We wanted somewhere to relax and recharge and that's exactly what we got. We arrived in the evening and were greeted with drinks,cold towels and a complimentary massage from one of the Spa staff. Check-in was smooth and our room was amazing, furnished in the hotel's colonial style,spacious and cool.Enormous bed, large flat screen TV, huge bath, choice of two shower heads in the shower! His and hers sinks so no waiting for one person to finish brushing their teeth!! Shaving kit, and toiletries provided. Absolutely huge bath towels and plenty of them. We woke up to a lovely marina view from our balcony. At breakfast every morning we were greeted with an "eye-opener" a shot of yogurt and juice or combination of juices. Breakfast itself consisted of a range of cereals,muesli, yogurts,fruits- fresh and dried, cold meats, cooked meats,eggs cooked to order, bread, rolls, pastries,continental, local cuisine, oriental and south east asian foods. I think they had everything covered- more than enough choice. Service was excellent.
The hotel "infinity" pool was the best we've encountered so far. No "deep end" as such, the pool is tiered, the main large pool was1.35m(perfect depth) throughout, with shallower areas leading up to it. Pool looks out to the beach. There is a jacuzzi area. Complimentary iced water and snacks poolside- lovely touch. Although we didn't have our children with us the hotel is child friendly. The staff were very attentive to children and there is a baby sitting service, a TV and billiards room, a games room-PSP and Xbox and a library. Lovely garden area in the inner courtyard. The staff were lovely. Special mentions for THEVA, FARHANA, PRABA, SIVA, DAYA, EMILY, HATINI, SUNTER, BURNDIMAN & THE GUYS ON THE FRONT DOOR Apologies for anyone we've missed as we couldn't always see the name badges! Extra special mention to Farhana and Praba. On our last day my wife thought the "eye-opener" was coconut but it wasn't and mentioned how we hadn't manged to get any coconut on out trips out. They brought us sliced cocnut and coconut water while we were having breakfast! Our return flight was in the evening with pick up at 7.30pm and we were worried about having to check out at 12 midday. The hotel came to the rescue by enabling us to check out at 4pm and informing us that we could continue to use the facilities, pool,spa TV room etc. This was quite possibly the best touch for us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alwaysupforaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your long and positive feedback. I am so happy to see that everythin went well for you and that your stay was a memorable one. THEVA, FARHANA, PRABA, SIVA, DAYANG, EMILY, HATINI, SUNTER, BUDIMAN & THE GUYS ON THE FRONT DOOR :) are all on cloud nine and are very grateful that you also remembered them. I am sure they served you both really well. Farhana and Praba are our many stars that we have and hey are always anticipating and looking for opportunities to make their guest happy.

We hope to see you again at The Danna Langkawi

Warms Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

After failing to get a reservation at Casa Del Mar where my wife and I stayed last year, we chose this new Hotel after reading many positive reviews.
Our daughter has written a detailed review which describes this wonderful Hotel and superb staff. From Suaib and his friendly and efficient staff in the restaurant , the pool staff ,the spa Ladies, the desk staff ( particular thanks to the young man who came up to the room at 22.00 hrs when we had made a snap decision we wanted to go snorkelling next day and arranged everything).
All led by a Manager and his team who do really care and it shows.
This is an outstanding Hotel which we all look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms overlooking the pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusty333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so mch for your review. I am glad that what you read on Tip Advisor is what you saw and exactly what you experienced. Suaib is a very focused and dedicated Manager and definitely leads a great team who is passionate about just one thing and that is serving their guest and making them happy. I am glad we were able to create the intimat Danna experience for you to remember for always.

Looking forward t seeing you soon at The Danna Langkawi

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
13.3 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#5 of 105 in Langkawi
383 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range: £193 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Danna Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing