We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel. Ticked all the boxes.”
Review of The Danna Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We had a wonderful experience staying at this brilliant hotel. From the moment Noor (Front Desk) greeted us we were treated like family by all of the staff. Our Viceroy, Sea Facing Room was very spacious and had a great view.
The location is terrific allowing visits to the nearby marina.
We had five out of five wet days in June but it didn't spoil our stay in the lovely Danna.

Room Tip: Viceroy Rooms sea facing rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and patronage for The Danna Langkawi. Noor is a super star in our front office team. I am glad that your stay went great.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Danna Langkawi

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,696 - 2,702 of 3,211 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

It has been a wonderful trip for me and my brothers in Langkawi. The staff has been excellent in making our trip a truly enjoyable and memorable experience. We will certainly come back to The Danna in next few months time for our next family trip at Langkawi. Hope to see all at The Danna again soon. Thank you :):):)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pencilbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is indeed a pleasure to see tht not only foreign guest but our local folks also love The Danna. Please do come back soon with loved ones.

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

LOVE IT!!! ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!! Fiance & I are planning to have our wedding there next year's April. We fell in love with the hotel as soon as we saw the pics through the website. When we got there, it just re-confirmed we have made the right choice. Peggy Foong, Sati (Director of Food & Bev), Chef Annuar (Executive Chef), Noor (Front Desk),Fahmy (Food & Bev Att) have made our stay unforgettable. Both my fiance n I are from the hospitality industry. Hence,we look out for a lot of things where a normal guest wouldnt notice. Seriously, the service provided by DANNA was IMPECCABLE, personalised and we felt like we were the King and Queen. We had a tour around the premises as well and provided us heaps of ideas for the wedding. Very well done!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelodyLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear Guest,

I am so happy to see that you really felt like a King and Queen. This title will also become official once your wedding will be held at The Danna in Apri next year. Peggy, Sati, Chef anuar, Noor and Fahmy are all very excited to know that you both were so happy with their services.

We are now looking forward to be part of your MOST special day in your lives in April 2012

Warm Regards and best of Luck

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed at the Danna 9 nights in the Merchant room with view of mountain.It was a big room with the comfortable (king-size!) bed. Our 14-years son had the comfortable bed too.The bathroom had 2 showers,big bath and big window(!) with the nice view. The cleaning of our room were perfect/Thanks Zila and Jene.We had fruits in the room each (!) day.The food in the Planter's was very tasty.Let's go to Planter's lunch and dinner! The Nyonya Tiffin Set was...YUMMY! Troppo offers wondefull Afternoon tea with the desserts (the price is very interesting) Our family loved pool.The beach near the Danna was very clean.We had unforgettable BBQ,thanks chef! The son loved games room. We rented a car 3 times.And always there was towells and bottels of water.Certanly, the Danna's staff is the best!Thanks Nor,Yuri,Nero,Fahmy ,Dayang,Farhana,Adha,Shaiful and other for your attention and smiles. We had a great service in the quiet, friendly and really magnificent hotel.We'll recommend Danna to our friends and our family hope to return sometime.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kosta_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and writing the wonderful review about your The Danna Experience. Nor,Yuri,Nero,Fahmy ,Dayang,Farhana,Adha,Shaiful, Jane and Zila are all on cloud nine and very happy to read that they have been recognized for their great service. We thank you again and are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Danna in a not too distant future.

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

A beautiful quiet and peaceful place to relax and run away to. Excellent place to stay in Langkawi. definitely not your average 5 star hotel. recommended to everyone.

Room Tip: ask for the seafront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sani8093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed it very much at The Danna.
We are looking forad to your next trip to The Danna Langkawi

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Like other reviewers we would have to say the staff make the Danna - whoever does the hiring really knows what they're doing. I need to mention a few names - Thiva poolside, Shaiful, Dayang, Rofa, Farhana, Aimillian in restaurant - and others whose names escape me at the moment. Such lovely people and really very kind to our children.

Now to the review part - The decor of the hotel is of a really high standard - as are all the offerings. Good quality diningware/towels fittings and fixtures. The bedrooms are enormous, even the base level ones. Double basins in bathroom as standard and bath that opens to room. I would say it is worthwhile getting a room with a view of sea/pool rather than just a garden view. (As an aside - We went to the Westin and checked out the rooms there as we were tossing up between these two - the rooms at the westin were half the size. The landscaping at the westin, however, was more impressive and really had the wow factor as did the 'natural' rock pool there. Yet staff at westin nowhere near as friendly and I had a virtually inedible dry steak sandwich there. )

Housekeeping - did an amazing job. So clean but also they tidied - with 2 children there were toys and clothes about in our interconnecting rooms all the time. THey folded clothes into neat piles, put pjs on the beds and tucked children's toys up in the covers ready for night. Above and beyond.

Tasty breakfast and delicious waffles/roti/omlettes to order. Food generally good. The menu that requires attention is the kids menu. Fried things and pasta - not particularly healthy food. It's really not up to what I would expect. Yes the bolognese was delicious, but I can't feed it to children 2 times a day. Fish fingers, hot dogs, pizza etc... these would be fine if offset by non spicy variations of fresh malay food, or poached fish and vegies, or vegie/meat/rice dishes etc... We often resorted to ordering expensive fish and vegies from the regular menu. I feel strongly that it needs an update with more healthy options - I wouldn't allow my children to eat most of what was on it.

THe kids club staff were lovely - especially the woman who does the great origami -thankyou! I would say, compared to other kids clubs, this one is a little small and could do with access to more natural light/the outdoors. One day it was just us and our 2 children with the staff member playing in there - it was tricky for 2 to hoola hoop and nowhere to go with ball play. Other kids clubs we have attended have had ball pits or outdoor play equipment. Also, more varied activities - we went to the scheduled kid's yoga only to be told it wasn't on. Our daughter really enjoyed craft activities and what is there is well appointed but I think they can do better.

The spa - had great treatments there but they were expensive and no facials. Clearly management had thought about this because on our last day they updated the spa menu to include facials and dropped the prices. Too late for us but good for the future. It still needs manicures/pedicures and waxing to provide the complete services one would expect but what they do, they do well.

One other small criticism which echoes an earlier review - the landscaping is still growing but it definitely needs additions. Hard landscaping and more planting across the beach areas - more trees, chair pads on beach loungers and maybe some permanent beach cover like the palm covered 'beach umbrellas' at the Westin. Also the poolside bar building and toilet block just doesn't match up to the fabulous interior decor. I would expect nice tiles, marble benchtops, the same style as the inside buildings but this one is very basic and could do with an update. Also, the drive up to the hotel is marred by an outlook on the rather unattractive carpark for the marina bulidings next door. This needs at the least a high wall and some more impressive landscaping so that the first impression isn't let down by what is next door.

So overall - a wonderful holiday and three cheers for the staff. Excellent size rooms and pool, everything we were looking for. If they make some minor adjustments will be perfect.

(did I mention really comfy beds?)

Room Tip: you definitely want a pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. I am very grateful to you for writing in so much detail. Thiva, Shaiful, Dayang, Rofa, Farhana, Anillan are all very happy to see that they have been recognized for their services and hardwork. I have taken note of your suggestins and will discuss them with our project team soon.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at The Danna Langkawi

Warm Regards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The service and personal attention paid to guests at this hotel is above and beyond all expectations. I actually thought that I must of been mistaken for a celebrity or VIP. All future hotel experiences I am afriad are going to fall short of my 6 night stay at The Danna.

An example of this service was the sous chef Som, knowing that I am a vegetarian, meeting me when in the restaurant to discuss what I would like prepared regardless of menu. All the food was fresh and very tasty.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review of The Danna. Chef Som Keat is a super star and a very passionate Chef. His Thai and Chinese cooking in fact shows all the care and passion he puts in all his cookings. I am glad you enjoyed it. Our vegeterian menu has been re-engineered now to cater to guest from all over the world.

We are looking forward to Welcoming you back at The Danna

Warm Rgards

Aamir Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
1.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
3.9 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
5.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range: £183 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, ACCOR, Prestigia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Danna Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing