We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff made our stay fantastic! Well done!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The staff made our stay fantastic! Well done!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at The Danna as a family with our 3 year old daughter. Probably the best hotel we've been to in Malaysia. Everything is perfect - great room, great food, pool is amazing our daughter had a lot of fun. I have to mention the staff - from check in, pool F&B, breakfast crew everyone really made you feel like you are not just a number. Special thanks to Chef Ridzuan who greeted us at our table each morning and went out if his way to treat our daughter with chocolates. Very attention to detail and personalized. Thank you to Loges at Kiddy' Club too. Will come back definitely! Thank you The Danna and the staff! Well done!

Room Tip: We had forest view and partial sea view. Worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barboo212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear barboo212,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your glowing review on the site following your stay with us recently and I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. The hotel is a little gem and a home away from home with cozy rooms and warm and welcoming drawing room. Our team are highly dedicated people who will assist with all aspects of your stay and who do indeed care about all your needs and I am pleased that you felt the service was incredible. I have passed you kind word to everyone and especially to Chef Ridzuan and Loges, we are all very thankful. We do certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming all of you back to The Danna on a future visit to Langkawi and please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can be of assistance at any time

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,523
    289
    71
    12
    10
See reviews for
799
1,572
71
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Our Family stayed in Danna for three nights two weeks ago. Langkawi is beautiful and hotel is located in on of the most beautiful part of the island. Rooms are spacious and our rooms had sea view with balcony which made it extra enjoyable. Food was great and there were plenty of choices for breakfast.
One thing that makes Danna very special is their staff. Every individual tries his/her best to make you feel at home. We were received by Ahmed and he is highly praiseworthy. They all go extra mile to make you feel special.
This hotel is highly recommended and although a bit pricy but definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Go for Sea view; it's worth the money you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syed Rais A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Syed Rais A,

Thank you so much for your warm words and for sharing your feedback on-line. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our team, including Ahmed took good care of you. I am proud to say that our rooms are spacious as compare to other hotel. For us, size demonstrate luxury. I am so pleased that you highly recommending us to all reviewers. We do hope to welcome you back soon. My team and I remain at your service.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We chose The Danna Langkawi for our pre-wedding photoshoot after reading great reviews about the hotel. True enough, we were impressed and very happy of their amazing services, cleanliness, delicious breakfast, and beautiful decorations. Even though our stay were short, but it left a long lasting impression and happy memories. Great thanks to the manager, whom was very accomodating to us during the photoshoot. We planned on returning back to The Danna soon with out families. Thank you once again for your excellent services.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna148anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Anna148anna,

I was really pleased to read you recent comments following your visit to The Danna. We do hope that your pre-wedding photography session was success. As you mentioned we take great pride in our wonderful hotel and the service we provide to our guests. My team put a lot of very hard work in to ensure our guests expectations are met on a consistent basis and I have, like I do with all the comments we receive, passed these on to them. We will wait for your honeymoon room booking. Please do contact me directly any time if we can be of assistance.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

It is rare for me to use my time on a revue, but The Danna on Langkawi island, Northern Malaysia was such an unusual combination of factors, that I wish to honour the efforts of the hotel management and staff by commenting on such an excellent hotel. We were an english family of four, with two teenage children - never an easy combination for a hotel to satisfy easily - The impressive building sitting next to a lively quay full of boats and a small fishing village,provided every ounce of comfort and service at the most reasonable price. One could laze by the side of a magnificent pool or wander along a delightful seashore amidst the remanants of the rainforest, with the occasional Sea Eagle for company, or hire a car and potter around the island. There were also a number of organised trips like kayaking in the Mango swamps. The rooms were expansive and quite beautifully appointed and kept spotlessly clean. The breakfast was undiluted pleasure with the head chef anxious to be visably supportive. Other meals could be taken outside, pool or beach, or in one of the in-house restaurants. Also the hotel actively encouraged guests to sample the wide array of eating places a 100 yards away by the quayside, which even boasted a Russian restaurant. The staff to a man were unbelievably kind, courteous, civil, and where necessary, knowledgeable and always happy to be helpful, no matter what trivia was requested. A wonderful week of happiness!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the quayside or the sea have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Clive C,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at The Danna Langkawi. With the length of your stay with us, you have managed to encapsulate many of the advantages that makes the hotel so special. The hotel is ideally situated for the leisure traveller within walking distance of many of Langkawi’s must-see sights, and easy access to a Langkawi night life-Pantai Chenang. All of our bedrooms are larger than average for Langkawi hotels, the pool at The Danna always the place to spend your day. Langkawi consists of 99 Island and gazette by Unesco as Geopark Island, one of the must do thing is Mangrove Tour. We will pass on your compliments to the team, who will appreciate your feedback. We are really pleased you and your family left us as happy customers and very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and i spent 5 days of our honeymoon at the Danna and it was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Its not just the beautiful location, spacious rooms, huge infinity pool, gorgeous food and tastefully decorated dining and reception areas but the staff that make the Danna such an amazing place to stay. How one hotel manages to have the cream of the crop staff wise i dont know. Many thanks to Azroy, Izaham and Asyraf. A special mention for Ridzuan the executive chef who meets and greets customers at meal times and for whom nothing is too much trouble, what a pleasant surprise to meet the man behind the fabulous menu. But our favourite member of staff was Rose who with her cheerful team at the pool bar was attentive and entertaining. absolutely fabulous hotel we will definitely return. Jules and James Spencer

Room Tip: You dont need to have a sea view room we had a marina view and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julespants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Julespants,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on the site following your stay at The Danna and I am delighted to read that you thought it was the nicest hotel ever. It is rewarding to hear that you found the staff exceptionally warm, gracious and attentive and that we were able to assist with everything. And it is so wonderful that you liked your spacious room, the pool and our food. Chef Ridzuan is one of our star who are very good in cooking and talking, he still remember you both. I have passed your kind comments to all the team especially Azroy, Izaham, Ashraf and Ros who appreciate your time and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few days in 2012 and were very impressed with the hotel that we decided to go back there again - wise decision! The staff were fantastic, from reception, concierge, breakfast service, housekeeping, till evening drinks and meals. The excellent service from the staff cannot be overstated. Infinity pool is the best we've seen, lovely just to sunbathe and swim all day. The room is spacious and clean. Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mekbrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Mekbrag,

Thank you for your review and your continued support of The Danna Langkawi. We are thrilled that you come back after time. It is of course our great pleasure to take care of you. We certainly don’t want you to stay anywhere else in Langkawi and will continue to work hard to make sure that remains the case. I have passed your kind words to everyone in the team and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Danna is truly a unique experience. The hotel is Grand and the decor is colonial but more than anything else it is the staff that truly makes this hotel special. We stayed in the countess suite and the room was perfect with my twin boys. Every request and need was catered to with enthusiasm. The food, though a bit limited, was executed really well and the pool side barbeque was exceptional.
Even though the Hotel was full, The Danna never feels crowded and you never have to wait to be served. The poolside is luxurious and the private beach gives you enough space to enjoy yourself. The only thing I thought was bit out of range was the price and after staying there I can understand why they have such a tag. Looking forward to going there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aamir V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Aamir V,

I was really pleased to read your recent comments following your visit to The Danna. I hope your lovely twin boys love the twin bed set up in your Suite. It was a pleasure to hear that you were impressed with the barbecue, it is a must try weekly event under the stars. As you mentioned we take great pride in our wonderful hotel and the service we provide to our guests. My team put a lot of very hard work in to ensure our guests expectations are met on a consistent basis and I have, like I do with all the comments we receive, passed these on to them. Please do come and see us again soon.

With warm regards.
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
4.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
3.5 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
10.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Property: The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel and Booking.com so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing