We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

As per other reviewer comments, this hotel definitely hits the mark on everything one expects in terms of service and facilities so I'll limit my comments to things that can be improved of which I can think of only two: (a) serve freshly squeezed juices for breakfast and (b) have an on-premises doctor. Will definitely stay here again next time we visit Langkawi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,523
    289
    71
    12
    10
See reviews for
799
1,572
71
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Fantastic hotel, the friendliest of friendly staff, the best breakfast buffet we have ever experienced and I would recommend anyone to go there.
We had a room on the 4th floor with views out onto the Marina - huge, comfortable bed, enormous bathroom with shower and bath.
The pool area is great, lots of room and choice of sunbeds.
Restaurants nearby offer a huge choice from Russian (we didn't try it) to Tapas and Pizza (which we did - both good). The Privilege Restaurant was excellent.
What really makes the hotel is the staff - from the highly visible senior management team to people working in the gardens - everyone went out of their way to make sure our stay was a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Have just return from holiday in Malaysia the last 9 days of ehich were spent at Danna Langkawi. We could not find fault. Most comfortable spacious hotel and all staff most friendly and helpful. Well placed next to Marina with several god alternative eating places to ring tthe changes on 9 day stay.

We would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to others

Room Tip: We had large Marina view which suited us well? Quiter than sea view and avoided strong afternon sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathcouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

One tends to expect a lot from 5-star hotels given the price you have to pay, and the Danna certainly doesn't disappoint. From the welcome back-massage, to providing a spare room for your pre-departure clean up, everything about the service is thoughtful and well executed. Staff were friendly and attentive, but not overbearing and pretty much everything about the service was just pitched at the right level. The breakfast spread is pretty tasty and we had a lovely spa treatment. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank little_un79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Null, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We just loved The Danna so much that we extended our stay by two days, and are already planning to return in the dry season, ie early in 2014. The staff are just fabulous and very good fun, the setting is sublime and not even three days of rain spoiled the experience. On the contrary, two rather burned out people started to bloom and bounce again. Adding to the fun was the Langkawi regatta, based in Marina. Effortlessly the best resort or hotel of the many we have stayed in for work or relaxation.

Room Tip: Go for a Marina room or a suite. It's an added delight to luxuriate in the bath and watch the wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrilyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed there for 2nights. 22Nov-24Nov.The Danna is the best hotel ive stayed before. The staff is friendly and polite. They had given us a wonderful service with a sincere smile. I feel so special. Their bed is so comfortable that i dont wanna get up. :) Overall i must say that the danna is a hotel u dont wanna miss and rest assure u will be well taken care of. My holiday was a relaxing and memorable one.I will definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johor
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is our 1st time staying in The Danna Langkawi. We stayed early Nov just right after the Deepavali Holiday so it was not very busy at all. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the staff from porter to reception. We had a 5 minutes free neck and shoulder massage together was served with cold towel and drink. The massage was fantastic and really made us feel so comfortable after a short distant flight from KLIA. We were assisted by Ms Aya upon check in, she show us around the hotel and brought us to our room. I must say the hotel has provided a very good service and facilities in order to fulfill everyone different needs . For instant, they have a Kiddy Room located near lobby are where there is a baby sitter to take care your child if you like to had a good relaxing spa service or going to the gym. Even we booked a normal rooms but the rooms size is big enough for 3 of us. We love the room from the bed, bath tub, hand basin and the shower area. The bed is so comfortable and spacious, the pillow is so soft and huge compare to other hotel. The size of the bathtub it is bigger than normal hotel one. We love it as you can comfortably stay in the bathtub with a very nice view too. The bath gel is made of from jojoba oil which made us so refreshing after our shower. Another this is, I love the radio beside the bed that you can just plug in your I pod or I phone and enjoy music in the room while you are packing or unpacking your luggage.
Not only that, we would like to give a thumb up to the guest service assistance Ms Annya. She was very friendly and helpful giving us information around the island apart from the map was given upon check in. The location of the hotel is very near to the Cable Car so we drove to cable car right after we check in and decide to have dinner somewhere nearby there. The breakfast served not only the buffet and also they have daily men This hotelu which you can order and enjoy the breakfast with the beautiful pool and beach view. They also served champagne that you can have it plain or mix with juices. You can have breakfast, lunch or dinner anywhere you want as they have a very big compound serving breakfast.The breakfast served is truly awesome and all the F&B staff were very helpful especially Ingo. The pool was my daughter favourite, she enjoy her swim while i can stay at a side reading and relaxing. All 3 of the pool have different design and function. If you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle are The Danna will be your right choice. If we are travel without our child we will definitely spend most of our time in hotel as i give us a very relaxing feeling with very personalize service provided too. The landscape in the hotel is really beautiful and well maintain too.
Though we only stay for 2 night but this hotel definitely will be my 1st choice whenever i travel to Langkawi. Upon check we were given a drink and a small box of chocolate as a gift too. To me this hotel is full of surprise from the moment you check in till you check out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreya85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
4.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
3.5 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
10.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Property: The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelbag and Booking.com so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing