We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Danna Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed anywhere. Excellent service, great food, staff who could not do enough for us and a perfectly managed hotel. I would recommend the Danna to anyone looking for a luxury holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cemtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear cemtrav,

Thank you very much for your Excellent review cemtrav. We are very pleased that you are willing to take the time to write us a review despite you have back home for months since then.

We are glad that you were overall satisfied with our services and the food served. Our hosts are dedicated to creating a memorable and enjoyable staying experience for our guests, we are pleased to learn that you and your partner found it pampering.

Thank you for your recommendation cemtrav. You are absolutely right, The Danna Langkawi is the choice for a luxury lifestyle getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Best regards,
Pascal Masse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,967 - 1,973 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Danna surpassed all my expectations of a great hotel/resort and it is now my personal benchmark for other five-star properties to do better. Stayed 5 nights with the wife in late November 2013. Grand Merchant room with hill and marina views (because we got a corner unit). It's the newest (I stand to be corrected) five-star resort in Langkawi. It opened in 2010.

EVERYTHING - the architecture, the pool, the reading room, the bedroom, the wonderful aroma of scented candles/oil lighted around the property, the quality of service, the breakfast - was perfect (no exaggeration here). I tried very very hard to identify a few truly excellent areas that stood out for special mention, but I really could not. Everything was truly excellent, everything was exceptional, everything deserved to be up there! The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in, so much so I hated getting up every morning and truly dreaded the day we had to check out. The bathroom with rain shower was the most elegant and spacious I've ever used. The breakfast (I've never seen champagne served during breakfast!) was so good you'd wish it was also lunch and dinner. The pool and jacuzzi by the sea were amazing, especially during sunset. The reception provided (with complimentary shoulder massage and drink) sets up a high expectation of things to expect, and trust me when I tell you that the bar never drops the longer you stay. OK, I think better stop gushing...!

The Danna is not cheap, but you really get what you pay for. Hence good value for money. It's located next to a business park (Telaga Harbour Park), where you'll find a laundromat and a few restaurants (local/Malaysian, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Russian) and a bakery. Almost all restaurants front the marina, so the view is not boring.

Some reviewers think that The Danna's location is not very strategic, but I say it depends on what you're looking for. For the money you'll be paying and the high level of service and comfort you'll be getting, The Danna is best for couples and families wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of the city and those who simply want a retreat, want to relax and forget everything else. Note that the other high-end resorts there are in even more secluded locations (The Four Seasons, The Andaman, The Datai). You must rent a car to properly enjoy the island. Travelling at about 60 kph (What's the rush? You're on holiday!) on the road, The Danna is about 25 minutes by car to Kuah, Cenang and Tanjung Rhu, and 15 minutes from the airport.

There is no doubt The Danna is where I will stay at the next time I visit Langkawi!

Room Tip: Choose a corner unit if you book the Grand Merchant room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear CLChia,

We are all flattered with your generous review CLChia, your have made us feel proud.

We are very pleased to know that you love everything of the hotel. The reasons our beds are so noticeable by many guests are because the pillow-top mattresses are custom-made, and the feather pillows and duvets are made using downs only. The rainfall shower is indeed our guests’ favourite too, with its nice water pressure and wooden floor, it creates a pleasurable shower experience.

We believe the breakfast is the most important meal of the day, hence, we make sure our guests start their day beautifully. We hope you like the separate a la minute menu that’s changes daily too. Talking about the pool, it’s most romantic for couples as the pool is wide enough (Olympic-sized in width!) to provide one’s desired privacy at the same time marvel in the golden-reddish sunset. The welcome drink and complimentary neck and shoulder welcome massage are part of our Danna Experience efforts. We are glad that you found them worth mentioning.

CLChia you are absolutely right about the hotel value and our location, for holiday makers who are looking for a quiet quality vacation and enjoy being pampered, The Danna Langkawi is the place. For all those you have commented, we are very proud that we made your holiday with your wife a memorable one.

We certainly hope to welcome you back again soon should your travel plan bring you back to Langkawi. Meanwhile, we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

In your life you come across special places. These last 11 days we have been one of those. This hotel is quite honestly the best hotel we have ever stayed in and between my partner and I we have stayed in many exceptional hotels around the world but this beats them all, hands down. The service was absolutely exceptional, the surroundings beautiful and we have left (and met) so many special people there. The food in the hotel was simply superb, the rooms fantastic, the pool amazing and finally the staff became our closest friends for the time we were there. Occasionally you go to a hotel where after a few days one or two of the staff know your name, this hotel everyone from the bell hop to the manager knew our name and made it a point to converse with us every day. Nothing, absolutely nothing, was too much trouble, the chef even calling his friend at a rival hotel (The Datai) to ensure we had excellent service there when we decided to go for dinner one evening. There are so many individuals that deserve a mention so it would be unfair to single anyone out, simply put, a big thank you for making our holiday superb and special.

On more specific points about the hotel, the rooms were very large and spacious with the maid service at least twice per day. Ours had a huge very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a double washbasin, separate (very large) shower and a bath. Free wifi is available in the room and throughout the hotel (even around the pool side). Breakfast was a buffet and table service with just about everything anyone would require, including free champagne every morning with the head chef overseeing everything. Dinner was simply exquisite. The curries excellent and the Tiffin a delight - you need to be hungry! We ate at many other restaurants on the island and these included the restaurants identified and rated as numbers 1 and 2 on Trip Advisor but neither came close to The Planters restaurant.

Around the pool plenty of sun loungers and towels are provided along with complimentary bottled water. From 1pm every hour the staff bring around complimentary snacks, fruit drinks, cold face cloths and, get this, provide a sunglasses cleaning service. There is also a bar where food and drink can be ordered, although you don't need to go to the bar as a member of staff is always close by to take your order and then bring it to you, although you can eat at tables provided around the bar area if you so wished. The pool itself is simply magnificent - a 51 metre wide infinity pool (1 metre longer than an Olympic size swimming pool) that looks out to sea. A short stroll through the well manicured grounds takes you to the beach, which is excellent and extremely clean. Here you can also hire the hotels jet ski if you so wished.

The hotel has a beautiful bar, that alas is not frequented by many of the guests but the staff there are wonderful and make great cocktails.

The hotel is exceptionally clean - on one night we witnessed the gardeners cleaning the trees!

I am sure if we asked for the moon at this hotel, the staff would have worked a way how to get it for us.

One day we will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DB1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear DB1958,

All we can say after we read your review was a big heartfelt Thank You! We really appreciate your kind compliments and the recognitions. Your first paragraph itself has already made us feel so deeply moved. And then your recognition of the food served at The Planter’s was exciting especially our culinary team!

All of our rooms are averagely larger than usual rooms with the Merchant room starting from 60sqm, and of course the private balcony, double vanities, separate shower and bath, complimentary WiFi are extended to all room types. We are glad that you tried our Tiffin Set, it’s one of our signatures. Yes, our chefs are quite generous in the portions, with 4 different types of authentic local dishes for two persons, one need to have a raveneous stomach.

The swimming pool is the largest infinity pool on the island, there are total of 5 times services by the pool side, these are also part of our Danna Experiences, we are glad that you mentioned this.

We are dedicated to ensuring our guests enjoy their stay with us, like you mentioned, we don’t’ treat our guests as guests anymore but friends, there is nothing more important than making sure our friends get the most when they visit us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon DB1958, meanwhile, you have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, from all of us from The Danna Langkawi!

Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Wow! Could not have thought of a more romantic place to celebrate our 40th. Magnificent colonial building(3 years old), unbelievable pool overlooking private beach, friendly attentive staff who couldn't do enough, a breakfast(to die for) with beautiful live piano music and free French champagne. Additional meals a little too costly for our budget but a small restaurant wharf area and a small supermarket across the road was a bonus. The complex quite a long way from other shopping/restaurant complexes but 5 minutes from the cable car. Fantastic billiards room and games area. Felt I was in a bygone era!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alipie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear alipie22,

Belated Happy 40th Anniversary to you and your partner! We are glad that both of you had a romantic celebration at The Danna Langkawi. We are honoured to be the chosen hotel to celebrate your special occasion.

It’s certainly looked like you and partner had good times with us and this made us feel satisfied for making your stay worthwhile. The infinity pool is the favourite amongst our guests, it is the largest on the island and is spacious enough (Olympic-sized horizontally) to offer privacy for the love birds. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the breakfast and other facilities, like the Billiard Room.

The dining outlets at The Danna Langkawi offer local and European-inspired cuisine. One may find the prices are a bit costly compared to other eateries nearby, but the quality, freshness and taste of our food served will definitely complete the staying experience as we use only the freshest and finest ingredients.

The restaurants and mini market area that you mentioned is called Telaga Harbour Park, it offers a variety of food choices. We are glad that you find these facilities convenient.

We thank you once again alipie22 for staying with us. We hope to welcome you and your partner back soon! Wishing you and family a Happy New Year!

Warm regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Greatest Hotel... I was traveller with a friend whom is a travel agent so she has stayed in a few high end hotels across the world and she even said it was the best hotel she had stayed in. Well presented with english style granduer and charm, no expense spared. The pool area is one of the best I have seen, sun lounges surround it and it's massive!!! The staff really made it, very polite and welcoming. The head chef was a character, always checking on guests to see if food was ok. Food and drink were resonabily priced (not malaysian cheaper prices), and worth it i guess as the menu was quite varied. Food was lovely. Cannot recommend this hotel enough, great place and Im sure I will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misswagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After being to quite a few places, I must say that the Danna is one of the most memorable places for many reasons. We spent a total of three nights at the Danna.

The staff were extremely genuine and helpful in ensuring that my travel companion and I knew our way around. The transfer from the airport to the hotel took only 15 minutes and check in was done quickly. We were brought on a short tour (by Alex) around the Danna (billard room, games room, library, bar, swimming pool etc) before being shown to our room (Grand Viceroy) and we were just stunned by how beautiful the view was (pictures attached). The room and bathroom were very clean and had an amazing view of the sea and hills (and sunset as well as we found out later in the evening).

We explored the nearby Oriental Village the next day, which has a cable car ride all the way to the top. The view from the top was breathtaking. Spent about half a day there before heading back to the hotel. As the trip was meant to be a relax-and-do-nothing type of trip, we hadn't planned much activities. The hotel was just so comfortable and cosy that we were happy hanging out around the hotel.

We opted for the breakfast (rather than full board) so that we could have some meals out of the hotel and explore the restaurants around it. Breakfast was great - I really loved the jazzy tunes played by the pianist on the grand piano. Combined with the view of the pool and the sea and the taste of the delicious buffet spread, it was a multi-sensory experience every morning. Lunch and Dinner was a short 3 minute walk to the Perdana Quay right next to the Danna. We tried a different restaurant each meal per day (there were Russian, Spanish, Italian, Malaysian-fusion, Western, Chinese cuisines) and the quality was generally fantastic. Service there was good as well.

On the last day while we were at breakfast, one of the staff (Justine) approached us to confirm our flight timings as we had booked transport from the hotel to the airport for an evening flight. We were initially concerned that we might be suspended in limbo as the check out time is usually at 12pm. However, we were pleasantly surprised when Justine informed us that they were able to extend our check out time to 5pm - this meant that we had time to swim and have another meal before freshening up and taking a nap in the room before our flight in the evening! We were really impressed by this special touch.

Finally, it was time to leave and check out was done very quickly. The staff had also assisted us in gauging the time for us to leave the hotel in order for us to catch our flight in time. Alex (the staff who had welcomed us on our first day and showed us around) was there to ensure that things proceeded without a hitch and we felt very gratified by his sincerity.

A huge thank you to Alex, Justine, and all the other staff in the Danna. We will definitely return again! :)

Room Tip: If you have slightly more money to spend, opt for a room with a sea view (Viceroy and above) and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sg_globetrotter89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Easily the best hotel we have ever stayed at.
The staff are very friendly and professional.
A special mention for Anya who was very helpful and attentive every day of our stay.
beautiful pool and spa.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
1.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
5.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,421 reviews
13.3 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 104 in Langkawi
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range: £186 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Danna Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing