We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Danna Langkawi
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$132
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$83
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$603
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$39
US$32
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$621
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$80
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,507)
Filter reviews
3,507 results
Traveller rating
3,070
329
80
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,070
329
80
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshoulder massagemarina viewcolonial stylegames roompool staffinfinity poolbeautiful hotelcable carwelcome drinkbest hotel we have ever stayedplanters restaurantour honeymoonmoment you arriveperdana quaymerchant roomluxury hotelpool side
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,108 - 2,113 of 3,507 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

So my Husband and I stayed her for a week as part of our honeymoon. Not a single fault, the staff were so polite, well mannered and caring. The food was spot on, absolutely delicious i was so glad we opted for all inclusive. The room was cleaned more than once a day which was great as my husband and I regularly came in during the day to change after the day out. THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED EVER!!!!!

GREAT GREAT GREAT hotel. Thank you for making our honeymoon amazing...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Naz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A gorgeous Hotel in a small secluded bay however still close enough to visit the rest of the island. A great place for relaxing but also a good variety of excursions available. We did the Jet Ski Tour 2 which was so much fun and a great way to learn about some of the history of Langkawi and some great spots on the islands! We also went of the Mangrove Kayak trip which was also fun!!
Everyone is so polite and friendly making you feel at home and well looked after! Our room was very luxurious, amazing shower and the most comfortable bed!! The pool area is dreamy, with views of the sea, mountains and a huge infinity pool to loose yourself in! Great food and drinks around the pool, and although the staff could pay slightly more attention to you for drinks they did pamper you with flanels, fruit pots & yummie snacks. Hotel food was amazing, even the room service was decent! It's a shame there is only one restaurant to choose from as it's nice to have a mixture, but there are many lovely restaurants to visit not too far from the hotel. I can recommend the following restaurants, Privilege situated upstairs just walking distance from the hotel by the marine, The Cliff restaurant great to watch the sunset & Bon Ton restaurant at the Bon Ton resort which are a 20 minute taxi drive away. Also, although slightly further around 30 minute taxi drive, you must eat in the Thai restaurant at The Datai Hotel! Overall the most enjoyable experience, and a truly exquisite hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear hmatters,

We thank you for staying at THE DANNA Langkawi during your recent visit to the island.

Your description of the hotel location couldn't be more precise. We are located in the edge of leisure-convenience, all activities can be arranged through our Guest Experience Planners. We are glad that you had fun doing Mangrove Kayak Trip and Jet Ski Tour!

The swimming pool is indeed dreamy like you have mentioned. Nestled in a natural theater, this largest swimming pool on the island is often our guests’ favourite spot! The snacks and fruits served by the poolside are part of our efforts in creating THE DANNA Experience. We are glad you enjoyed it!

We noted your very positive comments on the food served in the hotel, our chefs have been made known to your kind words. Telaga Harbour Park has an array of specialties to offer, from western to local, light snacks to fine dining, this 2-minute walking distance hub has absolutely given our guests even more dining choices.

Thank you very much again for staying with us hmatters. We hope to hear from you and welcome you back to THE DANNA Langkawi soon.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I had a pleasure of spending 2 weeks holiday with my wife and our daughter (20 years) in the Danna on January 2014. Our plan was to go around the island a bit but most of all relax and enjoy the first class service. The Danna was absolutely perfect place to do that.
Hotel was beautiful and our grand viceroy room was even luxurious. Especially the view and large balcony were amazing.

If I try to find some downbeat maybe some persons in the staff could have been speaking a little bit better English but that really was not a real problem. One thing to pay attention to anyway. We had all inclusive package and that is pretty profitable if you are mostly going to stay at the hotel. Telaga harbor is of course around the corner and there is also good restaurants where you can eat for reasonable prices. But if you are taking AIP package then you should know in advance that it's not exactly ALL inclusive. It has some restrictions but at least for us it was not a problem at all because we had information from our travel agency that for example all beverage brands or wine by the bottle are not included. Knowing that there won't be any problems. And if there still is you can always ask hotel clerks who are always happy to help (ty Ms. Selvi & co) :D

And that takes us to the point what was best of all in the Danna: the staff. They were really helpful, polite, friendly and always smiling. It doesn't matter if you are by the pool, at the dinner restaurant, spa or just saying hi to the cleaner. Everybody are just so friendly for real that you can't do anything but smile too. In 2 weeks we became so attached to them that it felt really sad to leave.

I recommend the hotel for anyone who wants to relax in beautiful surroundings, enjoy great service and experience a bit of luxury and I hope to be back there soon...

Room Tip: a view from the seaside room was spectacular
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Petri P

Thank you so much for staying with us during your 2 weeks holiday on the Langkawi Island and taking the time to write us such a beautiful review. We believe you and family have reached home safely by now.

From your wonderfully written review, we could only assume you and your lovely wife and daughter had good time with us, which really matters us the most. The Grand Viceroy room is indeed grand and luxurious, we are glad that this 75sqm room and its balcony with views delighted your stay.

We thank you for bringing up the All Inclusive Package. This package is indeed a value for money as the supplement covers unlimited meals at all dining outlets and room service, and unlimited beverages including standard pouring brand at all restaurants and bar. We are glad that you were well informed prior to your arrival with regards to these the package. And you are absolutely right, our team members are always ever ready to be of assistance, Ms Selvi no doubt is one of our most bubbly team members!

Your comment about the English command of our team members is well noted. Be it for better services or the team members’ personal development, we shall pay more attention to this area in the future.

We thank you so much for staying with us and your time for the lovely review Petri P. I am sure the team misses you and your family too. We hope to hear from you soon and look forward to welcoming you and family again.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned from a one month stay in what is clearly one of the best hotels in the world.
Apart from the magnificence of the hotel itself, it is complimented by thee most outstanding, professional staff ever encountered.
Despite our stay encompassing a frenetic holiday period, the staff carried out their task of caring for the customers in exemplary fashion overcoming multiple obstacles in a manner wondrous to behold and worthy of every praise. One cannot over compliment them, they are a glowing testament to the hotels selection and training programme. As customers we cannot thank them enough for all they did for us to make our holiday so memorable.
If fellow travellers want unbridled excellence in Langkawi they need look no further for this hotel has everything plus and the "plus" includes the piano player at breakfast which is such a pleasurable feature.
We greatly look forward to our next holiday at The Danna in full knowledge that we will experience exactly the same world class standards.

Room Tip: There are multiple options which can all be viewed on the website.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Sayed here for 6 nights following 5 nights at the Casa Del Mar. We were hoping for a totally different experience from the two hotels and this is exactly what we got. The Danna's reception is beautiful and the welcome shoulder massage was lovely. We were shown to our room, where the bed was adorned with flower petals and towels made into a heart with a lovely note congratulating us on our wedding anniversary. The room was spacious with a really great bathroom which had the BEST shower ever and lovely complimentary toiletries. The bed was very comfortable with great quality bed linen and we saw monkeys in the trees outside our room on one morning. The pool area is really nice with very comfortable sun beds and such a gorgeous view over the infinity pool and the sea. Great breakfast choice, we loved sitting outside in the fresh air which gave breakfast a lovely relaxed feeling, this could have been helped by the free flowing sparking wine! All the staff in the hotel were excellent, very helpful and really friendly. Enjoyed happy hour cocktails by the pool. Something the hotel don't really advertise is that happy hour by the pool is from 17.00 and that there is also a happy hour in the piano bar from 19.00, we wouldn't have known about this if friends who were at the hotel previously had not told us about it. One day we walked along the beach where we found a van selling traditional malaysian food which was great, sat at plastic tables and paid about £1 each for lunch. We ate at several of the harbour side restaurants in the evenings, the Italian restaurant and the Indian restaurant on the opposite side of the harbour were our favourites. Cash can be obtained from ATM on opposite side of the harbour. We had our washing done at the laundry in the harbour, cost peanuts and was lovely to get home and not have loads of washing to do! Our friends had spa treatments which they said were lovely. We used the gym at the hotel which was well equipped and open from early in the morning until late at night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonbather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews