We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“BEST LOCATION AND SERVICE IN LANGKARWI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Matfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BEST LOCATION AND SERVICE IN LANGKARWI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having had a fantastic stay at the Danna last year we didnt think that they would be able surpass the quality of our stay last year, but we were wrong. From the minute that we arrived we were met by the management who supervised our check in and asked if we would like breakfast, after a long journey from Sydney. Suddenly all of the waiters and staff who we got to know last year, came forward and welcomed us including the new executive chef who is excellent.

We now know the area really well. The Danna has the best location on the island, only 15 minutes from the airport, 5 minutes from the amazing cable car, 20 minutes from Cenang Beach, and a 2 minute walk to a wider range of quality restaraunts at the marina while you view some incredible boats.

The hotel will organise any trip that you desire but I would highly recommend the mangrove tour and the jet ski island tour through MEGA Jet Ski. Both are brilliant trips. Ask for ANNYA who has been on most of the trips herself and will show you videos of what you can expect. She will book everything for you including collection to and from the hotel, iced water, beach towels etc, all you have to do is turn up on time, so easy.

The free wifi works really well at the hotel both in your room and by the pool. There are plenty of sun beds for everyone to use with ease withe plenty of towels that are changed regularly . The staff their are very attentive and will bring you drinks including free iced water throughout the day. The restaraunt is first class and very reasonable for a hotel of this standing. We make a point of getting to know several of the waiting staff who went out of their way to give superb service, thank you to AMIROL, MARNIA AND INGO. Plus the whole team put on an amazing BBQ on the Friday with freshly cooked lobster, steak etc. It really was a feast accompanied by traditional Malaysian music and dancers who were a variety of staff, it was a great evening. Also try the banana porridge, sounds strange BUT it is delicious.

Drinks and wine are great value especially if you take advantage of the various happy hours, find out the times and seek out KANNAN the cocktail waiter who is very skilled and making the perfect drink to your requirements. You can also take drinks through to the restaraunt which adds value.

Another tip is to hire a car with a driver who for around £30.00 will give you a half day tour of the island and will take you to places that other tourist do not see MIZI was our driver, a real character even though he is a Liverpool fans we had a great laugh with him and time was never an issue he brought us back half an hour late.

Finally everyone at athe Danna is committed to delivering an outstanding service, hence their award for the best service of any hotel in Langkarwi, combined with there excellent location it really is the perfect choice. We will definitely be back for a third visit and do not see how they will improve on our previous visits..

Thank you to everyone who we met at The Danna who made our stay to special and memorable, you even supplied round the clock sunshine,

The Clark Family.

Room Tip: We had a Grand Marina room which was excellent and slept a family of three really well. The beds ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sclark1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,379
    281
    68
    12
    10
See reviews for
773
1,463
68
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days and had a fantastic time. Everyone was so nice and they make you feel special. I would stay there again. We stayed here with family. The view from the hotel to the beach is breathtaking. Nice Gardens as well. Rooms are very nice and clean.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paddy208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a 5 star hotel with a lot of poor points. Beautiful building and rooms and location lovely. Staff members really need to learn how to fully address any guests issues. Service very slow and "sorry" does not make up for an hours wait for main course on more than one occasion. The staff are all charming but there is room for improvement in the quality of professionalism with some.

Room Tip: Sea view or courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gangy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear gangy101,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Langkawi. We noted your disappointment for the delayed services; however, we would love to hear more details from you so that we can further improve on our standards of service. Would you please share more details with us through info@thedanna.com? We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Again, we thank you for your support gangy101. Hope to hear from you soon.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Brilliant pool around which we and, generally, other WASPs were happy to let days evolve. In February, very hot and dry on Langkawi so hotel a relatively peaceful oasis. Hotel square with rooms on all sides but outlooks and prices vary hugely eg pool view expensive. Champagne included in breakfast a nice touch. Adjacent marina had several restaurants to provide variety and moderate cost of in house dining. pools ain't just pools ..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melbournepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

A very nice place, for me one of the best resort on the island.
A real 5 stars resorts, the staff is very polite, and the decoration so beautiful, well done to the designer.

Special thanks to Jaswinder who take care of her guests, which is very professional.

Please try the delicious cakes, so good....

I will be back
Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newbalanceFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed for a long time in the hotel and on the one hand I could talk long time about the wonderful facilities and services of the hotel (infinity pool, welcome massage, restaurant Planters, romantic dinner by the beach, etc etc). But what I think makes The Danna one of the best hotels in Asia is its staff:
From the begining you feel like at home, every single one tries to do his best for you, no matter their position or their roll in the hotel (bellman,waiters,house-keeping,managers,....) all of them are very friendly, professionals and helpfull. Their team members are from many different countries (Malaysia, France, China,Japan,Sudan, Vietnam, Germany, Russia, Filipines, Spain, Paraguay,etc) but all of them act like a family what means you feel like with your own family and friends.
Thank you so much for made my time in The Danna was perfect, specially mention to Alex, Igor and Denise.

I look forward to see you soon.

Room Tip: the rooms facing to la marina are really incredibles
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

When deciding on a hotel to stay in on Langkawi we chose the Danna based solely upon the reviews on Tripadvisor, any review of a hotel is a purely personal perspective, however having read the reviews about this hotel from other guests and having stayed here recently for five nights I can understand why people like it so much. We arranged to be collected from the airport by the hotel and whilst it is only a short journey it was nice to be greeted by someone who seemed genuinely pleased that we had chosen to stay at this hotel. The reception area is elegant and stylish and very relaxing even after only an hours flight. Our room was wonderful overlooking the swimming pool and whilst it may be a little more expensive per night in my view it was worth the expense. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very conducive to a good nights sleep. The food served in both restaurants and outdoor barbecues is excellent and if you require vegetarian alternatives these could be supplied without a problem. This is a large property with only a comparatively small number of rooms there is however plenty of staff to help with anything and you immediately feel you are special and nothing is to much for them.Would I recommend this hotel to anyone without a shadow of a doubt, just sit back relax and watch the world go by absolutely perfect to forget about work and stress

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the swimming pool the view out over the bay is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter020362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
3.5 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 102 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
10.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Property: The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, ACCOR, Prestigia, LateRooms, Booking.com and Travelbag so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing