We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally great hotel, but sad location”
Review of The Danna Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. With amazingly great service and great rooms.

As you are checking in, they bring you drinks, give you a neck massage. Off to such a great start. The rooms are also gorgeous. The bathrooms are big and opens up to the bedroom. There are two sinks so you and your partner won't be fighting over sink space. The bed's wonderful. There's a small balcony. Not amazing, but pretty cool still. The rooms are great.

Breakfast is decent too. The spread was good and pretty tasty. Not amazing but definitely average good.

The pool was pretty, but we had very little chance to use it as it rained quite a bit when we were there. I felt sorry for the pool boys who had to constantly turn the chairs and bring the pads to shelter or pick tables from the pool whenever the storm blows in.

Now comes the bad part. There is a design flaw in the architecture. When the rain comes, it COMES right into the walkways. And often, the place is puddled all over. And this is on tiles. We didn't have any accidents, and I hope there weren't any.

The location was not ideal. We were far from everywhere. We rented a car which was very useful as it afforded us to go further to get food and supplies and sightseeing. The beach was not the best on the island. I prefer the north.

Conclusion: Loved the place to just flake at the hotel. The hotel itself is great but it's location and certain design flaws work against it. May go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cinophel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Cinophel,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Langkawi.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoy the welcome treatments and the rooms, we hope these attractions made your stay a comfortable one. Our 3-tiered swimming pool is indeed an ideal place to relax, we are sorry to know that the weather was not very favourable during your stay with us.

We also noted your feedback on the rain coming in to the walkway. We highly concern about our guests’ safety, hence, we usually send Housekeepers to clear the water and dry the floor after rain.

The hotel feels as if it's far from the crowd, but we are only 20minutes away from Pantai Cenang. We are most suitable for a quality vacation as Pantai Kok is away from all the hustle and bustle but at the same time, easily accessible to Langkawi International Airport and Pantai Cenang by car.

It is indeed convenient to move around on the island. Rent a car like you did is one of the options; it is especially flexible for families. Through the hotel concierge, guests can also request a taxi, rent a car or a chauffeured driven island tour. Telaga Harbour Park next to the hotel has a convenient store and some restaurants, these facilities may be convenient to those who prefer to spend their time in the hotel.

We thank you once again for giving us an opportunity to render services to you and your family, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,952 - 1,958 of 3,390 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

where to start i read about this hotel before i booked it came out with nothing but great reviews well we were not disappontied everything was as good as the reviews said service was great staff very helpful nothing was to much trouble everybody were so polite i would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so wonderful the Head chef was such a kind and helpful person who made sure your food was as you liked it cooked the hotel was spotless. every where was always clean and bright our room was fantastic it was my other halfs 50th birthday and they done our room with flowers and ballons and champange which was brilliant the hotel is in a lovely setting right on the beach which is never crowded. the marina nearby has some very good eating places all in all a lovely relaxing holiday to spend time with our Daughter and granson from australia who flew out to meet us as a surprise for my others 50th if you go you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: rooms on the west side are the best overlooking the sea and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B4075ILpeterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had originally booked to stay at the Danna for 4 nights before moving to the north of island to stay for 5 nights at The Datai. If you are considering the two The Datai far exceeded our expectations.
We booked this hotel because the reviews were amazing and yes the hotel is great, staff so helpful but we just found something missing.
The one thing I cannot help to mention is the construction work nearby. Unless you sat next to the jacuzzi all we could hear was the constant drilling and hammering of the rock face. I hate to mention this fact because the hotel were so helpful when we said we wanted to check out early due to the noise they even refunded our money which we didnt ask them to do they suggested it and promptly did the same.
Most of the shops in the marina were shut or had never even opened and to us it just lacked any atmosphere.
Plus points the rooms were faultless. We had a Marina View room and it was huge. Everything that could possibly have been thought of was there. Brilliant room.
Sorry Danna to tell tales on the construction site but I wish someone had put this on Trip Advisor before I went.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 963Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear 963Amanda,

We highly appreciate the opportunity to have you and your partner during your recent visit to Langkawi.

We note your were overall satisfied with the room, hotel building and services rendered by our staff but disappointed with the road works happening outside the hotel.

We have several times addressed the same concern with the road builder to communicate our discomfort with the hope it would reduce the disturbance to its minimum. However, the builder has been awarded with licenses from the local authorities.

Meanwhile, 963Amanda the road works is temporary and currently is approximately 600 meters from the hotel’s main entrance. The project is aimed at realigning and broadening the current access road. Whilst there is no way for the Hotel to stop the road works, we are assured that the disturbance will reduce as the works progress.

We regret that you were disturbed by the noise caused by the road works, but we hope this isolated case would not deter you from staying with us. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you and your partner again in the future.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our stay at the Danna was simply wonderful. The rooms are spacious with big balconies and all the amenities you need, personalised room service and thoughtful touches. The hotel is grand, elegant, and sophisticated with lovely spaces, layout and cool breeze throughout. The central rainforest courtyard and huge, cleverly designed pool along with games rooms, beach and facilities mean you have everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We also liked the little marina next to the hotel which has lots of good restaurants to choose from and gives a nice alternative in the evening. The beach and pool are clean, quiet and well staffed. Food is superb with good choice and quality. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elhm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful colonial style room facing the marina bay. Quiet and peaceful location away from crowd. Within 5 to 10mins to cable car, seafood restaurant and black sand beach. Reasonable standard fixed taxi rates whether getting in hotel or outside. Beautiful private beach n pool. Wide selection of food. Breakfast was fantastic with champagne everyday! My only criticism would be their expensive spa packages.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank angelamoidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just got back after 11 nights at the Danna. This hotel could not do enough for us, I have stayed in hotels in Dubai and they can be over the top this hotel is elegant, from the time we arrived and until we left the staff could not do enough for us. Beautiful pool which they are obviously proud a lot of the time the pool had hardly anyone in it. We got upgraded which was lovely and on arrival had a neck massage and fruit and chocolates in our room. We had a lovely corner room with two balconies Special mention to Nutan in the Veradah lounge lovely girl always had a smile for you to Annya who looked after us and the guys round the pool bar especially hardworking June. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindajive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Having had a fantastic stay at the Danna last year we didnt think that they would be able surpass the quality of our stay last year, but we were wrong. From the minute that we arrived we were met by the management who supervised our check in and asked if we would like breakfast, after a long journey from Sydney. Suddenly all of the waiters and staff who we got to know last year, came forward and welcomed us including the new executive chef who is excellent.

We now know the area really well. The Danna has the best location on the island, only 15 minutes from the airport, 5 minutes from the amazing cable car, 20 minutes from Cenang Beach, and a 2 minute walk to a wider range of quality restaraunts at the marina while you view some incredible boats.

The hotel will organise any trip that you desire but I would highly recommend the mangrove tour and the jet ski island tour through MEGA Jet Ski. Both are brilliant trips. Ask for ANNYA who has been on most of the trips herself and will show you videos of what you can expect. She will book everything for you including collection to and from the hotel, iced water, beach towels etc, all you have to do is turn up on time, so easy.

The free wifi works really well at the hotel both in your room and by the pool. There are plenty of sun beds for everyone to use with ease withe plenty of towels that are changed regularly . The staff their are very attentive and will bring you drinks including free iced water throughout the day. The restaraunt is first class and very reasonable for a hotel of this standing. We make a point of getting to know several of the waiting staff who went out of their way to give superb service, thank you to AMIROL, MARNIA AND INGO. Plus the whole team put on an amazing BBQ on the Friday with freshly cooked lobster, steak etc. It really was a feast accompanied by traditional Malaysian music and dancers who were a variety of staff, it was a great evening. Also try the banana porridge, sounds strange BUT it is delicious.

Drinks and wine are great value especially if you take advantage of the various happy hours, find out the times and seek out KANNAN the cocktail waiter who is very skilled and making the perfect drink to your requirements. You can also take drinks through to the restaraunt which adds value.

Another tip is to hire a car with a driver who for around £30.00 will give you a half day tour of the island and will take you to places that other tourist do not see MIZI was our driver, a real character even though he is a Liverpool fans we had a great laugh with him and time was never an issue he brought us back half an hour late.

Finally everyone at athe Danna is committed to delivering an outstanding service, hence their award for the best service of any hotel in Langkarwi, combined with there excellent location it really is the perfect choice. We will definitely be back for a third visit and do not see how they will improve on our previous visits..

Thank you to everyone who we met at The Danna who made our stay to special and memorable, you even supplied round the clock sunshine,

The Clark Family.

Room Tip: We had a Grand Marina room which was excellent and slept a family of three really well. The beds ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sclark1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 108 in Langkawi
1,425 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ambong Ambong
Ambong Ambong
#1 of 7 in Pantai Tengah
644 reviews
13.3 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#6 of 108 in Langkawi
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range: £189 - £726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Danna Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing