We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We liked the look of this hotel straight away and were so glad we booked. The staff were brilliant and worked seamlessly together to provide everything we needed from cool face towels and complimentary fruit salad around the pool, to a room with fresh towels to freshen up in and complimentary chocolates before leaving on our last day.

The hotel is as beautiful as the photos on the website and the pool is great. Rooms were large and in good condition. We had the cheapest room (overlooking the carpark/harbour) but it honestly didn't matter.

There was a great selection at breakfast and throughout our stay we were regularly supplied with refreshing ginger tea served on a tray with a fresh orchid.

The only downside was that the public beach outside the hotel was not particularly clean. Ok to walk on but not pristine, which was a shame. But don't let that put you off - the hotel is amazing and the staff are a credit to it. Only one more thing to note - in all of the establishments in langkawi, a service charge was added to the bill. Here in the UK this would be divided amongst the staff as tips but this is not the case in Langkawi. So please tip the staff a little extra in cash (given directly to them) if you can - they do a great job and will definitely have earned it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistys_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,620
    298
    72
    12
    10
See reviews for
837
1,620
77
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the hotel and can only give the place and the staff praise for making the visit to Langkawi memorable.
My wife has a gluten allergy and so has to eat foods free of wheat, barley and oats. This is a difficult allergy to have when visiting the far east. However, the way the hotel dealt with this issue was superb. We had sent them notification of the illness prior to arriving, and they confirmed that this was to be sorted on arrival. When we went for our first dinner, the executive chef, Ridzuan Abd Malek, came to see my wife and they discussed meals and foods. For the first time ever on our travels the chef served her with many styles of gluten free bread at meals, in addition he made her muffins. She does not even have this choice at home!
Justine, who first welcvomed us to the hotel, maintained contact with us during the stay to ensure everthing was ok and help us with our exploration of the island. Everyone in the hotel was friendly, helpful and as with all Malays did so with a smile.
Finally, this is a 5 star luxury hotel and all the facilities and our room reflected this. It's colonial style reminded us of Raffles hotel in Singapore - lovely.

Thankyou to everyone at the Danna

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyB830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at The Danna for a total of 3 nights. The pool was great and we loved spending our afternoons by the beach. It was very clean and quiet.

Service was good. We could sense their warmth and sincerity. From the balloons in the room to the complimentary chocolate cakes, everything was meticulously organised.

Rooms were very clean and beautiful! We love the big and fluffy bed!

Breakfast was ok, but the menu was mostly the same throughout our stay. We had dinner once at The planters. Food was nice but we were badly bitten by mosquitoes despite sitting indoors.

Hotel was very kind to provide us with a shower room. It was actually a vacant hotel room that we could use for 45mins. Pity we couldn't do a late check out and had to leave our room by 1pm when our flight was at night. But nonetheless, we understand the constraints that they might face.

Overall, a great hotel if you don't intend to travel around the island extensively.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLosers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is an ideal hotel for a family holiday. It's in a quiet location away from the city. It has fantastic swimming pools with sunbeds in them. Great kids club. The rooms are beAutiful. Great service all round.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pingvs1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Danna May 2014, what a beautiful hotel. Although not central very close to the cable car and a short taxi ride into town. The hotel staff are lovely and I cannot fault the hotel at all. Would definately recommend if staying on Langkawi.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenbirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Excellent service and hospitality. Built about 4 years ago on a British colonial theme it is bright clean and modern unlike some of the tired resorts nearby. The staff were knowledgable and very attentive to all our needs and were helpful in organising restaurant bookings and giving information about the local activities etc.The food was excellent - we had a BBQ on the night of our arrival where every type of meat and seafood was available. The breakfast buffet was amazing.There were no water sports despite being situated on the beach(public).The pool however was excellent. I recommend car hire and this brings all activities within a short drive particularly the beach at Cenang where multiple water activities and restaurants are available. My wife and I had a wonderful 4 days and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view room is preferable (but more expensive)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

After 2 weeks travelling in Malaysia staying at mostly 5 star accommodation, this was the best. We couldn't fault the service and facilities. While experience the slow service at lunch one day, the overall experience was not diminished. Also we did notice the jackhammering in the distance but again it was nothing when relaxing around the fantastic pool where the service of towels, water, food was amazing. We chose the location deliberately as we did not want to be in the "centre" of the action but wanted just .a few restaurants and shops close by It was the perfect place to relax after a busy touring holiday.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the harbour is well worth the extra money. Memorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
3.9 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
1.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Property: The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing