We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quality”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very high quality hotel, with exceptional service, a fantastic pool and easy beach access. Will definitely visit this hotel again as unfortunately only spent two nights here. Should have definitely stayed longer, perfect getaway venue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,720
    307
    72
    13
    11
See reviews for
883
1,673
77
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We've been to The Danna for 3D2N and we have also experienced the good things the other commenters have been saying about. Hotel structure is big and well decorated. Their rooms are huge, the one we got is the one with balcony that has a big sofa. The bathroom is very clean, with bathtub and shower area. They also have this infinity pool which we think is the highlight for this hotel. The customer service was superb, from the concierge who assisted us when we check in, especially to Paul who also orient us around the hotel premises and make sure to ask us if we needed help if he sees us, to the guys at the pool who always gives us cold drinking water and towels, the ones at the restaurant who's very attentive to our requests and all the other staff who are very courteous and will smile whenever they see us. Their breakfast buffet also has a large selection of food and you can choose to sit outside with the view of the pool and sea in front of you. Their location is also very good, they have the beach in front, around 10mins drive to cable car, and they have other restaurants beside them like the Tapaz which have a very good seafood paella, and Artisan pizza which is very affordable. All in all, we had an excellent experience here, beautiful hotel, good food, superb customer service, so what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melvilene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Danna, and what a wonderful hotel.A real treasure in Asia. From the moment we were met from the airport, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were so attentive, almost knowing what we wanted before we did!! The hotel is beautiful, almost has a 'Raffles' feel about it.It is clean, very well decorated and has a really comfortable feel. It is so refreshing to go somewhere in Asia, where the staff are friendly and so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We did not leave the hotel for the 3 nights we were there, as we had everything we needed. The restaurant food was very good, having a good selection of western and Asian foods.
The swimming pool is beautiful, and quiet, just what we wanted. Staff are always on hand to bring cold water, fruit cocktail in the afternoon, followed by a small snack. To top it all someone even comes around and cleans your sunglasses, now thats service!!!
It is a must if you travel to Langkawi, and want a wonderful hotel with excelent service. A little bit of me does not want too many people to know about this treasure, as we will go back, and would be devestated if we could not get booked into The Danna, because it was full!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We are a family of four (3 + 5 year old) stayed with another family also with young child (3). The level of service is like none I have ever seen before. Nothing was too much trouble, down to the food placement on the plate for my fussy child at dinner time. My sunglasses were cleaned poolside by one of the multiple staff milling about the pool ready to help you for any request you could throw at them. We were kept hydrated with endless bottles of chilled water poolside in ice buckets. AJ was a particular star looking after our family when poolside. Happy hour was great, we particularly loved the pink mojitos. The happy hour continued into the cocktail lounge which we enjoyed one night. Breakfast was amazing, honey in the comb a highlight for me, and the pianist in the corner which my girls loved. The almost triple height ceilings in the communal areas gave the building a sense of serenity and calm which flowed through your entire stay. You couldn't help but feel relaxed....no mean feat with children! It even seemed to have a knock on effect with them. The hotel doesn't necessarily cater for children, but there is a kids room and activities if you choose to participate. Ours fed the fish which was excitement enough. OTher than that they were perfectly happy lolling about in the expansive pool, as were we. Its a 5 min ride from the cable car, a must do. Other than that, no need to leave. The beach out the front is quite and protected by little islands. Cant recommend The Danna enough. Id be back in a heart beat if I could.

Room Tip: I cant imagine there is a bad room, only your wallet would differentiate with the views of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went there for 5 days with my wife, my 3 yo son and my 4 months old daughter.
we really enjoyed out time there in all aspects: The hotel is beautifully decorated in an ancient colony style; the room was of a good size with a big balcony with a sofa to enjoy the weather at night, the bathroom is huge and sublim with a massive bathtub which can easily fit 2 persons; the swimming pool is the best I have ever found in a hotel, suitable for both our children (the only thing is that it is lacking a shaded area, but that's negligeable if you like to enjoy the pool by end of the day); The personnel and the service is fantastic, with plenty of little attentions to make your stay unforgettable; the kid's room is free and very nice with loads of different toys, my son did enjoy staying there; we organized all our excursion with the concierge, we found the prices to be reasonable and they gave us some good advices.


I can only recommend you to go there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcloofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Mcloofy,

We thank you very much for choosing The Danna Langkawi as your recent family vacation destination on Langkawi.

Inspired by the old world charm of colonial era, The Danna Langkawi was built and decorated in this way while sitting in a Mediterranean ambiance. We are glad that you noticed our room size as all of our rooms are larger than usual, measuring from 60 sqm. Besides the children’s pool and main pool, we hope you also experienced the outdoor Jacuzzi which is on the other side of the main pool?

We are pleased to know that your son had good time at the kids’ club, and that you find our personalized services made your stay even more enjoyable. We thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming back you and family in the future.

Regards,
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had such a lovely stay at the Danna. I was with my husband and 23 month old son. From the pickup at the ferry from Penang to the introductory drink and shoulder massage, I knew we were in for a treat. the Viceroy room with sea view balcony was superb. The staff were more than accommodating. The food and drinks were great. And the pool. I was there for 2 days and I did not leave the pool. I have absolutely no idea what is outside the hotel because I didn't feel the need to step out at all.
The bathrooms are massive and the tub is heavenly.
Do go guys. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Viceroy room with sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Latika D,

Thank you for choosing The Danna Langkawi during your recent family holiday on the island. We are very delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and our services so much that you did not even step out from the hotel at all. We thank you once again for staying with us, your review on TripAdvisor is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you and family back in the future.

Regards,
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed at The Danna for four nights, as a birthday treat for my husband. The hotel staff had gone to some pains to make sure we felt welcome. Our room was elegantly decorated with balloons, and my husband received a bottle of sparkling wine and a delicious chocolate cake, compliments of the hotel. Service was great - staff are friendly, helpful and very courteous. Although we are not typical resort-goers, the infinity pool at The Danna was too good to pass up. We found ourselves spending a few hours by the pool every day, enjoying the jacuzzi! The only issue we had was that there was a smell of cigarette smoke coming through the air-conditioning vents on several evenings - probably from one of the nearby guest rooms, even though all rooms are non-smoking...I know these things are hard to police. Breakfast spread was very good, with some creative dishes on offer. We didn't have lunch or dinner here but did enjoy the poolside snacks which were great. The Danna does not come cheap, but the service and quality were certainly worth it. A point to note is that you do need transport to get anywhere from The Danna. Taxis can be expensive (RM26 to the airport, RM30 to Pantai Cenang and more to get to Kuah). Renting a car would be sensible. A scooter could work too, but distances on Langkawi could make scooter rides a bit tedious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear vsylee,

Thank you very much for choosing The Danna Langkawi to celebrate your husband’s birthday.

We hope you and your husband enjoyed the birthday specials from us and that it was a good birthday celebration. Having the largest infinity pool on the island, we are glad that you enjoyed the pool and its attached outdoor Jacuzzi.

In Langkawi, generally the taxis and rental car would be better choice to move around since there is no other public transport on the island expect taxis. You are certainly right, renting a scooter would work but not for island touring as it would be very tiring.

We thank you once again for staying with us vsylee and thank you for writing us a review on TripAdvisor. We hope to hear from you again and welcoming back you and your husband.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
1.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
3.9 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,343 reviews
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
13.4 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 104 in Langkawi
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Property: The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing