We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star all round” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Five star all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a relief to not see any complaints about the noise level in any of the reviews over the last few weeks when we were staying there. We were a group of 12, 6 adults and 6 kids under 9.
6 kids playing and fighting at the same time will sound like 20 kids but we still had a good time.

The pool is big enough to accommodate everyone and breakfast was pure luxury.
I recommend asking for the fresh orange juice + champagne. I think there's a special name for it - it's just lovely.

Danna is one classy hotel and so are the staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneHoSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,520
    289
    71
    12
    10
See reviews for
799
1,569
71
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

as i used to travel with my kids in Asia only in 5 star hotels i was choosing The Danna regarding to good reviews. this is definitely the best hotel in Langkawi and perhaps in all Malaysia.
I was travelling with my 12- years old son. our room was very spacious, beds, pillows and linens extremely comfortable and finest quality.
All staff was very kind, smiling and helpful. All of them spoke very good english.
The pool area is magnificent, you can easily spend all day there without getting bored. Even the hotel was full you didn't feel it even in a pool area, so calm and relaxing is all area.
The breakfast is best ever! i'm foodie so is my son, we really enjoyed our every morning breakfast with such a great variety and choise for every taste palate.
when it was time to leave all staff in a front door came to say good buy to us...it was so touching! we felt like leaving a family, truly!
We will definitely come back, dear Danna!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angeelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel very big and massive selection for breakfast. Good store near by just outside with cheap booze and also nice selection of restaurants near by. The hotel is clean with nice big rooms and really nice pool. Is a family orientated hotel but also offers privacy. They even had a Shisha lounge and the pool bar was great with good drinks. One minor hiccup when we arrived and at the pool the drink that was given to me was put on a wicker table that was rocky, the drink fell after a sip and I was charged for another, thought that minor detail should be looked into. Other than that we did visit the Danna and actually felt this was far more our cup of tea!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We returned to the Danna for our fourth stay at the start of this August. Of course our expectations were high, but we had a pretty good idea that we would enjoy our stay. And that we did! I'm not sure how they do it, but the service and the EXPERIENCE gets better with every stay. Wait, I do know how they do it...through the great people working there doing whatever they can to ensure you are having the best time possible. Throughout our stay, Aya helped us in whatever way she could, helping with a wide variety of requests big and small. Both Hafizs also checked up on us regularly to make sure we 100% happy...and the staff at the pool / bar looked after us and our children with big smiles and amazing level of service.

There are so many times through our stay that the service went above and beyond...here are just a couple examples:
-Our son's watch battery died and we asked if we could borrow a screwdriver to open it so we could replace the battery. Redha from the concierge was incredibly helpful: "Let me take it to the watch shop on my way home...I'll get it fixed for you!"
-We joked a little bit about not eating Japanese food while at the Danna (there is a slight offering at breakfast, but nothing amazing...) So, Fuad went to the Japanese restaurant in Kuah Town and picked up sushi and presented it to us poolside before bringing it to our room. Huh? Totally surprised by this unexpected and thoughtful gesture!

Our deepest appreciation to all of the staff and management at the Danna. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UPTapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houten
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Danna Resort is everything you pay for worth it! Excellent and polite service at all times. They provide help whenever you'll need it. Neat rooms, Well preserved throughout the week by the roomservice. Nice touch of everyday complementary mineral water. Even on a rainy day, the Many facilities, such as the gym, game-room, library, billiardroom and the Spa, will keep you distracted from the enormous infinity pool outside. The poolside has a Nice view on the ocean. The bar provides guests with several complementary snacks during the day. The private beach got me calm minded, hearing only the sound of the waves nearing the beach. something you have to do is, is rent a jet ski at the hotel! Absolutely kickass to do! The menu's of the main restaurant, the straits and Co restaurant and the poolbar give you plenty of choice of dishes coming from all over the world!

My experience? Absolutely incredible! I am going back for sure.

I only hope it will be as consistent as it is now in a few years, thus when I'll be back, it will be of the same proportion of excellence or even better!


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurensss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

After reading all the good reviews, we decided to stay in The Danna for our recent trip to Langkawi. Unlike most of the luxury hotels I’ve stayed in, the check in process in The Danna is very unique. Instead of having to stand in front of the check-in counter, we just passed our passports to the concierge staff. Then, we sat on the comfy couch, enjoyed the complimentary shoulder massage (10 min), the cold towel and welcome drink- while the concierge assisted us with our registration.

We were glad to know that we were upgraded from Merchant room to the larger Grand Merchant room which came with a big balcony with a day-bed. We were first given a tour around the hotel. By the time we got into our room, our luggages were already there, brought up by the porter. Our room was facing the lush greenery of the forest. It has a huge walk-in shower and a separate bath tub. The TV channel ‘Classic FM’ played nice soothing music. It made our room feel so relaxing and we enjoyed every moment in the room.

The hotel provides excellent valet parking service, which was really welcome. Every time we drove back from sightseeing, we just stopped the car in front of the hotel and the valet will take care of the rest of the chore for us. When we needed the car, they’ll drive it to us in just a few minutes.

We went for the 1-hour aromatherapy massage (RM540 per couple). I particularly like masseur Ina, her massage was very relaxing. We also ordered room service on a few occasions. The food quality was very good, and the room service staff was very attentive. It feels good to be able to dine in-room at our own comfort and timing.

There is a library just upstairs of the café. You can spend the afternoon reading some books there while sipping your cup of coffee. The café also serve 3-tier high tea set for RM88 (serve 2 persons). There is even chess set for you if you want to spend a long afternoon there.

We woke up early for breakfast because we love to enjoy the morning view of the pool from the outdoor seating area. You can order one item from their ala carte menu. There is a wide spread of buffet options indoor, with live piano performance- I really can’t ask for anything more.

Location wise, the hotel is just a short drive away from the “Seven well waterfall” and the cable car “Sky Cab” (and Oriental Village). It is a 20 minutes drive from the Langkawi airport. Another plus point is that there is a Petronas petrol kiosk nearby.

The only minor point is that the bathroom soup tends to attract a lot of ants (I wonder if it is sweet). I also have a suggestion for the room service menu: the dessert was included in the ‘Supper’ option, making it unnoticeable. I only found that out (by accident) on the last day of my stay. If I had noticed the dessert options, I’d have ordered it.

All in all, I love staying in the hotel. I wish I could come back again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent a week at the Danna for our honeymoon and were blown away with it. We arranged a chauffeur to meet us at the airport, there on time waiting for us with towels to cool us down and water. Whilst waiting to check in we were given massage and cocktail and then we were given a tour of the hotel and all info given was very helpful. We had a room with a harbour view which was very luxurious. Huge 4 poster bed which was very comfy, 2 double wardrobes, big bathroom with walk in shower and separate bath. French Connection Toiletries restocked daily and towels changed on turn down as well as morning clean. A bottle of wine was delivered on our first night to help celebrate the honeymoon. Pool was amazing, very comfy sun loungers and lots of them. Only criticism is that pool service was lacking compared to rest of hotel. One day we were moved 4 times when we had ordered food and another time we waited very long to get served despite there being 4 waitors standing round chatting. Food at pool bar takes a while arrive too (we waited about 40 minutes!). Concierge was very helpful and efficient, trips were sorted very quickly for the days we wanted and confirmation was delivered to our room in the evening. Breakfast was nice, lots of variety including Asian and continental food, service at breakfast was very good. They work really hard in there. We both had a spa treatment (massage and body scrub) which was amazing, The girls take really good care of you, put you at ease and are very good at their job. Lovely spa facilities too. The building and ground of the Danna are beautiful and so relaxing (the hotel was not busy at all when we were there!). We had cocktails at happy hour in the bar which was really well priced. We ate in the restaurants on the Harbour in the evening which were all really good (especially Privilege). The harbour is the only thing in the area but you can easily get anywhere in the island by taxi, we hired a car one day. If you are looking for a party place, avoid Langkawi - it is a beautiful place to relax, lots of things to do in the day but evenings are VERY chilled. Loved the Danna, definitely worth spending that little bit extra. If you go to Langkawi and are looking for luxury, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
4.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
3.5 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
10.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Property: The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelbag and Ebookers so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing