We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic place with lake full of catfishes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake of the Pregnant Maiden

Lake of the Pregnant Maiden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.92*
and up
Island Hopping Tour from Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Scenic place with lake full of catfishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

It was our first stop of Island hopping tour. We were given a 45min time there.

After reaching there, a bunch of monkey will welcome you on their land. you have to cross at least 40-50 steps to reach at the top where the fresh water pond is situated & from where you can see the pregnant lady structured hill.

We went up there & found a pond full of catfish where you can put your feet so that the catfishes can kiss your feet. it was kind of tickling sensitivity.

Anyway, you can do boating, swimming there & take a lot of photo. it worth a visit.

But, please remember to take water with you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Zulfiqur073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    174
    94
    28
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paro, Bhutan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An ordinary lake surrounded by thick jungle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Alway be careful of the wild monkeys along the trekking!!!!No foods and drinks while walking please!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianaWangdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

This place is taken on the island hopping tour . Worth a visit . Be careful of the monkeys. You can swim in the lake .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnubhaSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the walk up and down - beware there are steps to be negotiated. The monkeys were a bit annoying and the bins obviously need emptied more often. Also our tour guide said we didn't need money - but you do if you need to go to the toilet! There is a shack to buy drinks and you can also hire pedalos. We enjoyed the fresh water dip - very refreshing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could have been excellent...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

For RM30 we did a 3 stop island hopping trip.

The pregnant maiden lake was the first stop. Swimming in fresh water after swimming in pools and the sea was really nice, not to mention its was great to have a dip and cool off. The setting and lake itself should make this a 5 star however there are a few niggles:

1) There are pedalos available for hire. This just ruins was could be a perfect serene lake/jungle/crater swim.

2) The floating jetty thing is a bit ghastly. There are no natural beach so something to get swimmers in and out is required, but the big plastic jetty is horrible.

3) the walkway to view the lake from the side end in a broken floating pier which is a bit horrible.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake of the Pregnant Maiden also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Lake of the Pregnant Maiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing