We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place great hosts”
Review of The Allt

The Allt
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talybont-on-Usk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Allt
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely place great hosts”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Anne and Seamus really make you welcome in there home great setting (pity you can't move A40) but double glazing works well. Nice room great breakfast just a few details in cleanliness brought it down to three stars from us - but would certainly return for the breakfast alone

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ExeterUKMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at the inn for two nights and it was cozy and convenient. It is located on the A40, right near Talybont-on-Usk. It's a good point between Brecon and Abergavenny - if you're planning to do the brecon central hike (Pan-y-Fan and the rest) and some hikes around Abergavenny (e.g. Sugarloaf) it will be convenient. The hosts are very friendly and give advises and maps if needed. The included warm breakfast is also great - more than I could expect. In sum, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assaf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Allt after attending a wedding at Treberfydd House. Anne and Seamus were wonderful hosts. We booked the en suite room and two single rooms. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. Breakfast which was excellent was cooked to order and included a good choice for a vegetarian. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at The Allt; the hosts were very welcoming and helpful; the rooms comfortable and well-equipped; the facilities well-maintained and spotless. The location, about half a mile from Talybont-on-Usk, is a great base for exploring the Brecons and right on the route of the bus from Abergavenny (for those of you who don't drive).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We called in on spec on the first night of a motorcycle tour of Wales. We were made to feel very welcome and had a pair of comfortable single rooms.
Tea and coffee facilities were provided with fresh milk in a fridge on the landing which beats UHT cartons any day.
The shared bathroom was big and spotless.
The excellent breakfast was served at a communal table where all the guests could get to know each other.
There was a lovely view across the road of the river Usk.
The only downside was some traffic noise coming from the A470 but it wasn't too intrusive.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back to avoid the sound of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The Allt was the first location in Wales where we stayed on our trip and it was the least expensive one in our entire voyage. Therefore, our expectations were not too high, however, The Allt turned out far better than we had hoped.

Our room was nice and spacious and warm. All was there which can be expected, and we had ample space for our dog and our multitude of bags. Sure, some of the furniture could not betray its age, the Allt in general is not a young building. But it has charm and is is well maintained, as is the beautiful huge garden. The bathroom was modernized and contained both a shower and a bath, we only used the shower and were very content.

Breakfast was good. A selection of musli, fresh fruits and the obligatory toasts, your average breakfast buffet. The cooked part made the difference for me. It was really good and had enough things to choose from, also for us as vegetarians.

The owners were friendly and extremely helpful. A bit more distant (or shy?) maybe than our previous hosts, but I believe that may well be a Welsh thing. To be clear – they were always very friendly and approachable, helped us out with maps and books. But we love to have longer chats with our hosts about where we are, and the history and geography of the region.

Overall, we can recommend The Allt and would surely stay there again. For a fair price we got a good accommodation, great breakfast and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We are dedicated walkers with experience of all our National Parks except the Brecon Beacons NP. We always look for the best base from which to explore and the Allt near Talybont-on-Usk is ideal. Anne gave us a warm welcome and lots of useful info, including the loan of OS maps. I can honestly say I have never slept in a more comfortable bed and the breakfast next day was ample and perfectly-cooked. Unlike some places we've stayed, we had huge soft towels and lots and lots of hot water to ease any aches.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyDaisyBromsgove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Allt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allt

Property: The Allt
Address: | Llansantffrraed, Talybont-on-Usk, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Talybont-on-Usk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Talybont-on-Usk
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing