We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Star Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$221
US$212
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$101
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
60
22
7
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
22
7
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsteaksunday lunchgreat selectionlong walkpuddingaverage foodnew ownersbrecon arealovely welcoming pubthe riverbeeraleslandlordstardogschoice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

If I call the landlord Ian it's not because I'm an old mate of his, it's because if you go in there half a dozen times a year he remembers names and faces. And that's an example of what a very good pub it is. Superb cellar, and who worries about waiting for food, that means its being fresh cooked to order. Unlike a certain pub a few steps away, where microwave cooking gets it to your table so quickly. Just one warning; be carefull of the beer festivals, particualrly if you are going to cycle home along the towpath!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 34,064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were camping in Talybont, attending a motorbike rally. As we arrived early 5 of us plus three dogs went to the Star in the evening. What a welcoming place. The hounds made themselves at home and we had a very good meal. 2 veggie choices and I can recommend the puy lentil lasagne. We tried the special ales and were amazed to find that they had changed on the next evening so we had more to sampe! .Once again we were made to feel very welcome. How a pub should be!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The friendliest pub ever. We feel so much at home here that we travel hundreds of miles several times a year just to come to the pub.
The area is of course outstanding for recreational activities, and knowing that you can relax in the evening in a pub where you will be guaranteed a warm welcome, excellent real ales and great food makes a stay in this part of Wales just perfect.
Nice choice of ciders, some from the Gwynt y dragg brewery, and the five ales, personally picked by the landlord, are on constant rotation, making sure that there is plenty of choice- no wonder they are favourites of CAMRA.
There are two beer festivals a year, with live music and even more ale and cider, and with Ian and Anna (landlord and lady) constantly involved with everything we would highly recommend this family friendly pub :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

As licencees ouraelves, we recognise a good pub when we see one, in fact Duncan claims he can smell a good pub from a mile away. At the Star you get a warm welcome, good choice of well kept ales, tasty food at a reasonable price who could ask for more.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lukehfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here with friends on walking weekend. We were made very welcome by Anna and Ian who always had time for a chat even though they were very busy. Excellent value bed and breakfast. Our three bed room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Warm friendly atmosphere in what is obviously a very popular pub. Huge choice of beers and evening meals delicious and good value. Excellent location for outdoor activities in Beacons and Usk valley. What more can you want?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobHopkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews