We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at the beach shore.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grootvlei Guest Farm
Ranked #2 of 6 Lamberts Bay B&B and Inns
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place at the beach shore.”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We selected Grootvlei Guest farm for our 2 night stay in Lambert's Bay.
Grootvlei has been a fantastic experience.
Long beach Walks, fantastic weather and a nice and comfortable cottage in the dunes.
Very quiet, fantastic hosts (Linke & Edmund, thanks so much!) and a decent no-nonsense breakfast.
Can recommend this to everybody !

I just hope that Grootvlei is going to change their policy and will start serving dinner as well !!
Good quality food, nothing special, with Weskus hospitality will do the job.

If you look at my experiences at the neighbouring "world famous" Muisbosskerm restaurant, you will understand why I hope Grootvlei will soon start serving dinner.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaap D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A charming modern B & B with great staff. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. First floor rooms have a view to the ocean. Large common areas for you to have a drink with friends. A bit out of town but very conveniently located near Muisbosskerm restaurant which is a must to dine at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had two nights at oppidiun - self catering facilities were great and had a great fire place - rooms clean cosy and comfortable - sounds of the sea great to sleep to and a great breakfast was served at Grootvlei - well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Grootvlei! We stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed each night. Our hosts were wonderful - Edmund and Lynca - warm and garrulous, sharing with a wealth of stories and laughter. The B&B is situated along a dirt road parallel to the coast and you can hear the surf at night. The rooms are large, with all the usual amenities, and very comfortable. Breakfasts were great. We got good recommendations for places to see in the area, and their recommendations for us to eat at the Muisboskerm Restaurant in the dunes will always be appreciated - it was wonderful. With good food nearby, great hosts, and very comfortable beds, it is a hard place to leave at the end of a holiday. I certainly will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor, either ocean or garden-facing room. The views are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Grootvlei lodge. The accommodation is really good, within walking distance of the ocean. Being 6 km from town means it is very quiet and relaxing. The only downside is that you have to drive to town for something to eat (except breakfast), but it only takes 10 minutes so it is not too bad. Overall received very good service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnmb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Grootvlei Guest Farm is situated 6km from Lambert’s Bay, on a gravel road. The road is going to be resurfaced but in the meanwhile is very corrugated.
We stayed at Grootvlei which is within walking distance from the Atlantic Ocean, and the long uninterrupted white beach. Lovely setting, comfortable rooms and bedding. Great breakfast.

We were taken to their other property Oppiduin (on the dunes) for a sundowner, which is on the beach. A very nice romantic, shell clad getaway.

The guest house on the farm and the shell-cottages on the dune can sleep 22 people. Various catering options can be arranged and bar facilities are available on the premises.

We had dinner at a local venue on the beach called Muisbosskerm, an open air restaurant. A must do, for a seafood experience of a lifetime. Reservations are necessary, as the restaurant is not open every day.

Depending on the rainfall and Mother Nature, the area is covered in colourful displays of wild-flowers from July to early October. From here inland areas such as Clanwilliam, Van Rhynsdorp and Namaqualand can be visited.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelcasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champery, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We were there in late january and hopefully we had the choice of the room and we stay in the honeymoon" room on the dunes, just in front he ocean. What to say, the place is wild, magic for those who love the ocean.
The room is very large and built as a shell with the shower in the center. The dune "house" is 4 kms fro Lamberts Bay and 300 meters from the main guesthouse where we had a wonderful breakfast.
Edmund, the owner of Grootvlei Guest Farm is very nice and we appreciated his warm welcome and above all his humour.

Room Tip: A dream : the honeymoon suite in the dune house ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamberts Bay
0.0 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel
Clanwilliam Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clanwilliam
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Yellow Aloe Guest House
Yellow Aloe Guest House
#2 of 11 in Clanwilliam
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sir Lambert's Guesthouse
Sir Lambert's Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Lamberts Bay
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamberts Bay Hotel
Lamberts Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamberts Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grootvlei Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootvlei Guest Farm

Property: Grootvlei Guest Farm
Address: R27 Elands Bay, Lamberts Bay 8130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Lamberts Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lamberts Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grootvlei Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Grootvlei Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootvlei Guest Farm South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing