We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grootvlei Guest Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grootvlei Guest Farm
Ranked #2 of 6 Lamberts Bay B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Extremely helpful and friendly service from Edmund. Very clean. Homely. Serene. Relaxed. We stayed in the guest house and really enjoyed our stay. Excellent breakfast. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone looking for an escape from the hustle and bustle.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank denzilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Edmund was a wonderful host - friendly and welcoming - The dunes accommodation was just stunning - clean comfortable and the views amazing. a combination of the sunset and the sound of the sea sooths ones soul and we all had a good nights sleep

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funkyfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

On arrival, Edmond was very friendly and showed us to our room as well as took us on a tour of Grootvlei.
Room very comfortable and quiet. A large choice for breakfast. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen_Naude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night, owners amazing and friendly, helpful and kind. Could not do enough and wanted to tell us about area. Great sea views, sunset and will recommend and go again. Beautiful water feature with sound of flowing water when you sleep. Secure gated farm.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We selected Grootvlei Guest farm for our 2 night stay in Lambert's Bay.
Grootvlei has been a fantastic experience.
Long beach Walks, fantastic weather and a nice and comfortable cottage in the dunes.
Very quiet, fantastic hosts (Linke & Edmund, thanks so much!) and a decent no-nonsense breakfast.
Can recommend this to everybody !

I just hope that Grootvlei is going to change their policy and will start serving dinner as well !!
Good quality food, nothing special, with Weskus hospitality will do the job.

If you look at my experiences at the neighbouring "world famous" Muisbosskerm restaurant, you will understand why I hope Grootvlei will soon start serving dinner.....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaap D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

A charming modern B & B with great staff. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. First floor rooms have a view to the ocean. Large common areas for you to have a drink with friends. A bit out of town but very conveniently located near Muisbosskerm restaurant which is a must to dine at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had two nights at oppidiun - self catering facilities were great and had a great fire place - rooms clean cosy and comfortable - sounds of the sea great to sleep to and a great breakfast was served at Grootvlei - well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamberts Bay
0.0 mi away
Piekenierskloof Mountain Resort
0.0 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Clanwilliam Hotel
Clanwilliam Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clanwilliam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sir Lambert's Guesthouse
Sir Lambert's Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Lamberts Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
@TheBay Guest Villa
@TheBay Guest Villa
#3 of 6 in Lamberts Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#1 of 5 in St. Helena Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grootvlei Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grootvlei Guest Farm

Property: Grootvlei Guest Farm
Address: R27 Elands Bay, Lamberts Bay 8130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Lamberts Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lamberts Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grootvlei Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grootvlei Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grootvlei Guest Farm South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing