We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover in the area”
Review of Lamberts Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lamberts Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamberts Bay
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice stopover in the area”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stopped at Lamberts Bay on our way up to Namibia as my husband wanted to see this part of the coast. There is not much accommodation in Lamberts Bay to choose from. The room was OK - a bit musty smelling but the bed was comfy and clean. We had dinner in the restaurant - I had the west coast smoked fish cakes, slightly too salty but very tasty and nice to have something a bit different from the usual fare. Breakfast was good. If you're in the area then certainly make a stop at the hotel. There is a bar at the front, wi-fi too.

Room Tip: We had room 2 just at the top of the stairs with a small balcony at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    28
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
12
39
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed at Lamberts Bay (Baii) Hotel on a weekend. The hotel is operated by the owner, it is a fantastic place to stay if you were traveling in that part of the world. The staff were super nice and friendly, room was clean and comfortable, and food was great. I had a fantastic weekend.

Room Tip: Get a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour. It is a good basic hotel with comfortable rooms, kettle, coffee/tea, lots of hot water, comfy beds and good bedside lighting. Free WiFi in lobby area only. A few minutes walk to the gannet breeding area. Restaurant & bar on premises and across the street. There is little else in Lamberts Bay. Excellent hot breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed for one night in early October. This hotel is clean and comfortable, if a bit old-fashioned. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food at The Lobster Pot restaurant at the hotel is good. You should try the local lobster (crayfish). Breakfast is also substantial and tasty - especially the savoury mince (which I found seems to be a staple of breakfasts in SA and Namibia).
The visit to Bird Island is a must. The entrance to the breakwater is a short walk from the hotel - just past the factories - and the walk along the breakwater to the Island allows you to see other birds and the fish in the tidal pools as well as look back towards the fishing boats and factories. You can't walk among the birds and the hide on Bird Island is well-constructed to blend in with the environment and allows you to get close to the Gannets without disturbing them.
The hotel may not have the most picturesque view as the factories hide the view of the ocean, but it is well-located for Bird Island and if you don't feel like eating in the hotel there are several restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel on our trip to view the flowers in West coast. Room 2 is very convenient with a lovely balcony. Room 29 had a smaller balcony but still nice. Both rooms were clean, with comfortable beds. Breakfast was good, however not the best ever, but we can really not complain. We missed a pot of perculated coffee though. We also missed assistance with the luggage. Alltogether a good and comfortable experience and well worth the money that we spend. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2013Flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Went to Lambert's Bay for the Crayfish Festival. What a misnomer, the only crayfish were pre cooked and being reheated on a braii. Really not worth the drive.
The hotel was pretty grim, the room smelt of damp and the bed smelt of a previous occupant!
The only slightly redeeming thing was the reception staff who were on the whole pretty helpful. Not a place I'd go back to.

Room Tip: Don 't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We just happened to find this hotel on our way up the West Coast - not knowing what accommodation to expect in this town and as it was getting late we decided to take our chances on this hotel - but only if it looked acceptable and clean. On walking in I was struck by the friendliness of the staff in the reception area. Sea facing rooms had already been taken by a group of German tourists but we were offered a family room which faced a courtyard with pool and a childrens play area, Our room was clean and pleasant and the bathroom had recently been modernised. We lacked for nothing, tv, coffee/tea etc, small bottles of wine, chocs - in all we were very comfortable, had a good dinner at the hotel that night and an excellent breakfast in the morning. As it was out of season the rate was really good - they have very good specials during winter months up to end Nov. This was the only hotel that I know that has 'batchelor' rooms (4)- single bed and en suite bathroom - and this is also extremely good value - nice for tourists who dont want to share and dont wont to have to pay a single supplement.- In all a very pleasant stop over and can see why it is so popular with groups

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamberts Bay
0.7 mi away
Sir Lambert's Guesthouse
Sir Lambert's Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Lamberts Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
@TheBay Guest Villa
@TheBay Guest Villa
#3 of 6 in Lamberts Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grootvlei Guest Farm
Grootvlei Guest Farm
#2 of 6 in Lamberts Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Strandfontein Accommodation
Strandfontein Accommodation
#1 of 4 in Strandfontein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lamberts Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamberts Bay Hotel

Property: Lamberts Bay Hotel
Address: 72 Voortrekker Street, Lamberts Bay 8130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Lamberts Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamberts Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamberts Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West Coast, about 280 kms north of Cape Town, at the Clanwilliam turnoff from the N7, is the picturesque town of Lamberts Bay, famous for its moderate climate, miles of pristine beaches and birdlife, the cosy Lambert’s Bay hotel combines traditional West Coast hospitality, excellent cuisine and an endless number of interesting excursions in and around the area to ensure an unforgettable stay. The Lobster Port à la carte restaurant serves light meals daily, when Waves Restaurant serves succulent crayfish in season and other delicious dishes for dinner.Facilities include options ranging from single to family en suite rooms, all with tea/coffee making machines, TV and selective DSTV. The rooms are either sea or pool facing and secure parking is available. A separate air-conditioned and fully equipped conference and function venue caters for up to 75 people.Recreational activities in and around Lamberts Bay are plentiful and include Dolphin and Whale watching (Aug –Nov), eco boat trips, 4x4 desert trail, angling and crayfish diving (permits essential), most watersports, and a host of others. Excurtions to view the rare breeding seabird colonies on Bird Island is a must. Visit the Sandveld Museum. Sports facilities in the vicinity are a 9-hole golf course, tennis or volley ball courts by arrangement and bowls.Lambert’s Bay has its own landing strip for light aircraft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamberts Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamberts Bay Hotel South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing