We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a magical place and Host!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
cc. Rajvir
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
cc. Rajvir
The main estate house, built in 1940s
foggy days
The view towards Mlinga trail
Relaxing at the main house
The old palm oil factory house
Factory tour to learn the history at magoroto
Palm oil factory
Kitulwe peak
Dairy cattle at magoroto
Going up the mountains with boda boda, an aka for pikipiki (swahili for motorcycle)
View during a hike
Boat ride moments
Boat ride
Swimming across the lake
Nature on rainy days
On foggy days
Nature
View in one of the hikes
Kids playground
Diving deck
Diving deck
Relaxing infront of mainhouse
cc. Daniel Msirikale Moments at the lake
Cooling off at the lake after an intense hike
Moments at the mainhouse
Swinging at mainhouse
Swimming at lake
Short break during a hike
Morning picnic at the lake
Group boat ride
Lake view
Camping at the main house
Tree house camping
Relaxing infront of the main house
Relaxing infront of the main house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Tanga, Tanga Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
peacelove...
Juba, South Sudan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a magical place and Host!”
Reviewed 28 March 2018 for a stay in March 2017

For a lack of better words, Magoroto Estate is simply magical! From the warmth of the hosts to the sheer beauty of the location, I would say, skip the super touristic activities and head to this estate. It's a 5-6hr drive from Dar, but certainly a trip you will not regret.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gration K
1 review
“Breath-taking”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in April 2017

An amazing place where you can forget all your problems and enjoy the social sounds of new friends. A place to visit again and again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredwaah
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“The experience of a life time”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in April 2017

We visited magoroto with a group of friends back in April for 3days and my word what an exceptional experience. If there ever was a perfect remote destination to relax n disconnect from the city life then Magoroto is the place to go. From the amazing green and mountainous terrain, to the beautiful hidden lake (like oh my word that lake!! Paradise) to refreshing hike trails and finallt to the unforgettable views n scenery overlooking entire forests and villages. Like its definitely my number one escape destination. If ur ever in Dar or Tanga then this is the place to go guys. The perfect get away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2018
Thank you Fred, it was a pleasure to host your group and looking forward to having you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lily j
1 review
“Happy place”
Reviewed 27 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

If you love adventures but also want to relax this is the perfect place. With the friendly hosts, clean air, greenery and alot of things to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebongol...
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
1 review
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Magoroto is a perfect getaway from the city noise. If you need a good hike, they offer multiple scenic hikes that suite your needs. The hills and the trees give the area a fresh breeze. The top highlight is a swim at the lake after a hike. Totally worth it. Jerry is an awesome host so don't worry about your needs cause he will take care of you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilianfla...
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“Timeless Harmony.”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Magoroto really is a slice of paradise. It’s the greatest getaway out of the bustling city for a taste of crisp fresh air. The lake is definitely a highlight, so is the hike through the forest and the late night bonfires and the amazing people there.
It’s worth the trip. Again. And again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arafa H
1 review
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 22 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

My friends and I visited the Magoroto Estate during a long weekend, and it was amazing. The drive from Dar-es-Salaam was easy, and we were welcomed graciously by the host, Jeremy. The accommodation was extremely comfortable, especially the fire just outside the house over-looking the valley. The hike was a bit of a challenge but it all became worth it once we got to the viewpoint at the top. We ended our Saturday by the gorgeous lake, and the weather was so perfect an improptu photoshoot took place. It was so peaceful and relaxing that I even managed to meditate. I cannot wait to go back soon and I fully recommend visiting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing