We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge rooms, enjoy the 'ocean breeze'”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Breeze Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tanga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Tanga B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, enjoy the 'ocean breeze'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I was travelling alone but the staff put me in a twin room (massive...for one person) and I just paid half. Located opposite the market, in a good area of town. TV in room, own bathroom, balcony, big comfortable beds (THICK MATRESSES...no foam) and the staff are lovely and helpful. Good price compared to what I've paid elsewhere in 'major towns' for much worse rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRGreen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I got a room on the 4th floor here. There was indeed ocean breeze, which felt great, especially in the evenings - no A/C necessary! I had a huge balcony.

The bathroom was not clean, but it was usable. Staff was friendly. The place was very peaceful - I wasn't feeling well so spent most of the day and a half that I was in Tanga in the room. The TV didn't work but there was very little noise, other than the toilet that kept running.

They can also help arrange tours around town & in the national parks, but I did not use those services.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Situated just across the market this hotel is located in the city center. Rooms are slightly faded but with working AC is good value for money. The bar can be noisy during weekends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

The Ocean Breeze is an hotel rather than a b&b, it is located in the center of Tanga. A good location for an overnight or business visitor, but not an ocean front property for a beach holiday.

The Ocean Breeze appears to be run entirely by women., who keep a keen eye on comings and goings. I felt secure there. The bedroom was accessed by 2 locked doors.

The room was quite large, with its own en-suite bathroom. Nothing special, but adequate and the price for me, a solo traveller, was a ridiculous 10,000 TSH (about US $7.50-8) including a basic breakfast.

I didn't see anything to recommend Tanga as a vacation destination. For me it was just the logical place to spend the night after flying in from Zanzibar and before continuing by bus to Mombassa the following day.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanga hotels
0.0 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Tanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panori Hotel
Panori Hotel
#1 of 12 in Tanga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fish Eagle Point
Fish Eagle Point
#2 of 6 in Tanga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nyumbani Tanga Hotel
Nyumbani Tanga Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tanga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ocean Breeze Inn
#5 of 33 in Tanga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
CBA Hotel
CBA Hotel
#2 of 12 in Tanga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hotel

Property: Ocean Breeze Hotel
Address: Cnr Tower & Sokoine streets, Tanga, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Tanga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tanga
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing