We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mkonge Hotel”
Review of Mkonge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mkonge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Tanga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2013

As you approach the hotel you can't help being impressed with this wonderful colonial building (originally the Tanga Sisal Growers Club), with gardens down to the waterfront. Unfortunately the accomodation is in all in a soulless 1970's style annex and the rooms are in need of rennovation.
In terms of hospitality, this is, without doubt, the worste place of stayed at during 4 months in Tanzania, with most of the staff being grumpy, surley and unhelpful.
On the postive side, it's the only hotel inTanga with a decent swimming pool, which non guests can use for a Tsh5000 (£2) fee.

Room Tip: It costs an extra $10 for a sea view, but this is mainly obscured by trees, so have a look at the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

The outside appearance of this hotel is fantastic, but that's where it stops! We have stayed here a few times, only because we were warned off other hotels by some locals, but the place never changes. Apart from the cleaners and a couple of waiters, the staff are mostly unpleasant; the rooms are average but, I must say, clean; breakfast very average and other meals ordinary. It is nice to sit out on the grassed area overlooking the water. We ate at the Tanga Yacht Club which is very friendly and the meals delicious. We visited the new hotel, Nyumbani, and what a difference that is. We were shown over the upmarket accommodation by very very pleasant staff and will definitely make that our headquarters next time we are in Tanga. And, by the way, if you have vehicle problems, call in to Lal's Garage.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deefadog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

To walk into a room that has been over sprayed with mosquito repellant (to the point where you can barely breathe) and then have to spend half an hour killing at least 30 mosquitoes, is not my idea of a relaxing place to stay. I then discovered the bed had no mosquito net and when asking for one at reception, I was told they don't have any. I've stayed in rooms in Tanzania for half the price this hotel charges and they had mosquito nets, it's hard to believe why the hotel would not provide nets in a country that has malaria.

The room itself was ok, but overpriced for the quality.

We ate next door at the Raskazone Swimming club which was better than we thought it would be, there is also a pizzeria across the road. The Kiboko restaurant (Indian) has permanently closed. The breakfast was very basic but did have a nice outlook across the water.

The swimming pool was large but was overrun with locals using it for day use on a Sunday. The hotel does have a large grassed area which is good for kids.

However, I would suggest trying the Nyinda Classic Hotel which is approx 1km from the Mkonge Hotel. It is a newer hotel, cheaper and had mosquito nets, although no pool. You could stay there and walk to the Mkonge hotel and pay for day use of the pool.

Room Tip: It's not worth paying extra for the water view. Go and check the room before moving in, some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aconscioustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Well what can one say about this place. One thing for sure, it looks a remarkable colonial building built in 1950 apparently as a club for the “special employees only” of the Sisal Estates scattered around Tanga of its time. Once you enter inside, your whole perception fizzles out rapidly. For a starter, the dormitory block which is a much later add-on to the original building is a big eyesore and must have been designed by a Trabant or a Lada designer. Hugely ugly, basic and Spartan. Equally, the staff at this hotel comprises of glum looking chums presumably trained in Kazakhstan to do a job in which they have no passion or love to serve the customers or simply do their jobs professionally. The breakfast buffet was the biggest laugh with a few items scattered around (including an un-appetising display of so-called fresh papaya, pineapple and plain yoghurt). It reminded me of my experience of eating meals on a Russian construction camp not many years ago. The unappealing and threadbare bed covers and torn chair cushions date back to 1950’s it seems. You are also provided with a footstool sized fridge – again of a Lada charm.
The hotel is located in Bombo area, the name of which I presume came from an old shipwreck bombed during WWII which stood as a partially sunk landmark in the sea water close to this hotel from my memories as young boy. I feel the dormitory needs to be Bombo’d too. The whole staff, including the imported chef, need to be sent on permanent leave. To wait more than one hour for your meals is just horrendous and unacceptable. Don’t forget to take your shampoo and toiletries with you. You are provided only with a bar of Eva Luxury soap which has an rancid odour which is easy to understand but hard to describe.
The inside décor of the old colonial building needs to be upgraded tastefully and substantially for this hotel to come up to its full potential. Mr Alibhai, please have pity. Hire a professional hotel staff and rescue this beautiful property before it rots away into extinction.

Room Tip: Simply, go elsewhere unless your employer has no other option for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TahirUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here two nights (one double & one triple).
We booked in advance and everything was allright.
the food in the restaurant was basic, but tasted nice.
The location (at the waterfront) is great.
They also have a nice pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Not easy to find a nice hotel in Tanga. I checked out several paces and Mkonge is fare-out the most tasteful and characteristic. Set next to the sea on a beautiful lawn.
Rooms are good, with a nice balcony ( I had sea view). Tip: if you are traveling with local friends: Tanzanian residents pay less.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor of the wing with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritavH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Expensive rooms (for Tanzania) $95 with seaview. We didn't see any ocean though, a lot of bushes where in the way. Breakfast not included. AC worked, room clean but could use some renovation. Excellent restaurant but the bar was noisy. Far away from city center. We left after one night and checked in to another hotel in Tanga.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tanga hotels
15.7 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Tanga
163 reviews
16.9 mi away
Fish Eagle Point
Fish Eagle Point
#2 of 7 in Tanga
132 reviews
2.7 mi away
New Kwetu Hotel
New Kwetu Hotel
#5 of 7 in Tanga
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nyumbani Tanga Hotel
Nyumbani Tanga Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tanga
15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tanga Beach Resort
Tanga Beach Resort
#3 of 7 in Tanga
49 reviews
0 mi away
Panori Hotel
Panori Hotel
#4 of 13 in Tanga
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mkonge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mkonge Hotel

Address: Hospital Road, Tanga, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Tanga
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Tanga
Price Range: £77 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mkonge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing