We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best lodge in Uganda”
Review of Mihingo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mihingo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a group in early July. Food, accommodation and activities all very impressive. The managers (Clemmy and Iddy) both excellent hosts and couldn't do enough for us.
The lodge is in a great spot just on the edge of the national park and, in my opinion, is amongst the best in Uganda.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank straggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Mihingo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Absolutely first rate. Lovely accommodations with wonderful views, excellent food, and delightful staff, what more could you ask for? The walking safaris were great. So rare to be able to see Elam. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our first place we stayed at on our three week tour of Uganda and we both think it was th best and we only wised we had ended our holiday here as well. The moment you arrived you are made to feel so welcome by all the staff. the tents are awesome and the views to die for both from the tents and also from the restaurant. Sipping your delicious coffee watching the animals coming into the watering hole and salt lick is just magical. Take a walk to the Den where you can sit hidden away just metres from the said watering hole and watch the magnificent animals enjoy there day.
The food at the lodge is beautiful and again the best of our three week stay in Uganda.
Cannot recommend Mihingo enough and if you are thinking of staying here then you are in for a real treat. Stay for three days if you can as we found this the perfect amount of time.

Room Tip: From what I can see all the rooms have unique setting just that some are a bot of walk but then you...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay. Great food, amazing views, fabulous rooms/tents. We saw bush babies by the bar, tons of animals at the watering hole viewable from the pool, and of course tons of zebra, etc. on the walking, driving, boat, and horseback safaris. All that in two days! The staff was fantastic too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Never imagined I will get such facility at muburo. Stunning view from very well maintained rooms. Efficient room service team, freshly brewed early morning coffee. Food is fresh and delicious. The best part is the swimming pool. I truly had an awsome experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I think there aren't enough superlatives to describe this place. So glad we decided to stay an extra night as we saw loads of Eland at the watering hole from our breakfast view in the restaurant on our final morning. Tented accommodation rooms stunning and well appointed - loved our house skink and geckos who kept the insect population down. All the rooms have their particular added attractions. Staff very friendly and attentive. Marvellous variety of food at all meals and cooked to an excellent standard. Loved the morning delivery of tea and the biscuits to set off the morning well from our balcony view. All wonderfully organised by the manager Clemmie who made you feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her. She did a stupendous job. Really enjoyed the safari trips and knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides made it a more memorable experience. Magical experience seeing the bush babies. All in all a brilliant place to stay and the happy memories will linger on for a very long time. Well done to all at Mihingo - you are stars.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are down some steps which may not suit those who are not as mobile as the average...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was a great place to wind down from a fantastic trip to Uganda. Very attentive staff. We stayed in the lake room and I would so love to start every morning with hot coffee delivered and the time to sit and enjoy that view. Saw 2 Leopards on our night drive and got a different and beautiful perspective from out horseback ride. Absolutely the best food our our vacation and the special attention to my vegetarian needs was greatly appreciated. A lovely cake for our anniversary was so thoughtful and much appreciated even though we were so well fed we couldn't eat much of it! Love the story of the lodge and the restful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttercap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Mburo National Park
0.0 mi away
Sambiya River Lodge
Sambiya River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Murchison Falls National Park
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#18 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Equator Snow Lodge
Equator Snow Lodge
#2 of 14 in Kasese
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
89.8 mi away
Lake Bunyonyi Rock Resort
0.0 mi away
The RainForest Lodge
The RainForest Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mabira
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Irungu Forest Safari Lodge
Irungu Forest Safari Lodge
#16 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mihingo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mihingo Lodge

Address: Lake Mburo National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Lake Mburo National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lake Mburo National Park
Price Range: £241 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a rocky outcrop with spectacular views across Lake Mburo National Park, Mihingo Lodge treats you to Uganda at its most magical. Unwind beside the lagoon style infinity pool, enjoy delicious home cooking and experience the rich wildlife through walking safaris, horse safaris, game drives and boat trips. All en route to the gorillas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Mihingo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mihingo Hotel Lake Mburo National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing