We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt rotten with food and views”
Review of Mihingo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mihingo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spoilt rotten with food and views”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ahh Mihingo Lodge, my peace of luxury at the end of a period working in rural Uganda. Admittedly coming from a bean diet and basic toilet facilities this was luxury at it's best, but this really was something special wherever you came from.

Positives:

So many, where to begin?
Spectacular location perched high on a rocky outcrop looking down over the Lake Mburo NP.
Spacious relaxation areas with a variety of different locations, plenty of space for everyone.
Delicious 3 course Western style meals for lunch and dinner; cucumber soup was especially yummy.
Enormous lodges. I stayed in Kings room which had an incredible view of the watering hole and salt lick, along with rocks to clamber up onto, to listen to the silence and observe the animals. The bathroom with open rock shower was wonderful, and extremely liberating to stand in whilst looking out over the grassland through huge windows.
The horse back safari was excellent. I rode Elgon, a nippy ex-racehorse who took me close up to the zebra, impala and topi. It was wonderful to be able to get so close to the animals by a much more natural method. Of course it was also fun to canter/gallop across the open valley floor!

Negatives:

Struggling here....Ear plugs for the hyenas at night.

Overall:

The staff are wonderful. Clemmie and her team work so hard to ensure everyone is happy and catered for. Being alone I thought I might struggle with the family and tour groups, but Clemmie came and joined me for dinner and I later found another friendly single traveller, so I didn't once feel uncomfortable.

Such a wonderful place, and so deserving of the many accolades it receives for being 'the best lodge in Uganda'. I wish I could have stayed longer; I would have done the ride again and explored the lake by boat (the rain on my first day prevented this). Oh and had a few more of Michael's gin and tonics.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanangel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    40
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
158
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Re-visited Mihingo after three years away and frankly found myself wondering why it had taken so long. I was with friends visiting for the first time and it was great to see them enjoy themselves so much - the lodge team know exactly how to take care of people and we all enjoyed an excellent night game drive. Sadly the now regularly spotted leopards were having a night off but we saw plenty of other interesting nocturnal critters with several firsts for me, including a spotted genet and two rather surprised bush pigs. Food was the best in Uganda as usual, marred only slightly by the enthusiastic bees at breakfast - they clearly stock tasty honey... Saw one of the resident tree hyraxes from the dining room as well, which was quite special. All in all, must go back soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontgiveupthedayjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a group in early July. Food, accommodation and activities all very impressive. The managers (Clemmy and Iddy) both excellent hosts and couldn't do enough for us.
The lodge is in a great spot just on the edge of the national park and, in my opinion, is amongst the best in Uganda.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Absolutely first rate. Lovely accommodations with wonderful views, excellent food, and delightful staff, what more could you ask for? The walking safaris were great. So rare to be able to see Elam. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our first place we stayed at on our three week tour of Uganda and we both think it was th best and we only wised we had ended our holiday here as well. The moment you arrived you are made to feel so welcome by all the staff. the tents are awesome and the views to die for both from the tents and also from the restaurant. Sipping your delicious coffee watching the animals coming into the watering hole and salt lick is just magical. Take a walk to the Den where you can sit hidden away just metres from the said watering hole and watch the magnificent animals enjoy there day.
The food at the lodge is beautiful and again the best of our three week stay in Uganda.
Cannot recommend Mihingo enough and if you are thinking of staying here then you are in for a real treat. Stay for three days if you can as we found this the perfect amount of time.

Room Tip: From what I can see all the rooms have unique setting just that some are a bot of walk but then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay. Great food, amazing views, fabulous rooms/tents. We saw bush babies by the bar, tons of animals at the watering hole viewable from the pool, and of course tons of zebra, etc. on the walking, driving, boat, and horseback safaris. All that in two days! The staff was fantastic too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Never imagined I will get such facility at muburo. Stunning view from very well maintained rooms. Efficient room service team, freshly brewed early morning coffee. Food is fresh and delicious. The best part is the swimming pool. I truly had an awsome experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Mburo National Park
0.0 mi away
Sambiya River Lodge
Sambiya River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Murchison Falls National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
#19 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Irungu Forest Safari Lodge
Irungu Forest Safari Lodge
#16 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rwakobo Rock
Rwakobo Rock
#2 of 7 in Lake Mburo National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mihingo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mihingo Lodge

Property: Mihingo Lodge
Address: Lake Mburo National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Lake Mburo National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Lake Mburo National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a rocky outcrop with spectacular views across Lake Mburo National Park, Mihingo Lodge treats you to Uganda at its most magical. Unwind beside the lagoon style infinity pool, enjoy delicious home cooking and experience the rich wildlife through walking safaris, horse safaris, game drives and boat trips. All en route to the gorillas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Mihingo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mihingo Hotel Lake Mburo National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing