We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to the 80s” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nan Tong You Fei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nan Tong You Fei Hotel
Ranked #28 of 309 Hotels in Nantong
Bucks
Level Contributor
215 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Welcome to the 80s”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

As has been written before this is a hotel in a time warp. 80s opulence. WiFi connection is slow but exists.No power points next to the bed. Showers and towels are more than adequate. It's saving grace is the location. Very central, plenty going on and restaurants nearby. Got a good rate on the room via Cosco, biggest employer hereabouts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_genial_zod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    43
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I read a lot of negative reviews of this hotel, which almost made me not stay here. I am glad I didn't make my decision based on those reviews. I was staying at the Nantong Hotel -- see also my review of that hotel, which is very nice. But, the location of Nantong Hotel was not good -- it was not near any good shopping or restaurants, and not in the beautiful part of the city. I moved hotels to enjoy the city!

You Fei Hotel is beautiful on the outside, and located near the canal area that is lit up at night. As a woman business traveler, I find the streets very safe and don't mind walking alone.

The rooms in You Fei are small. That is true. Probably half the size of the rooms at Nantong Hotel. If you are a person who likes to stay in your hotel and be comfortable, then you might not be as happy with You Fei. But the room is comfortable, the bed linens and towels are clean, the room is reasonably clean, but the carpet is not clean. And, the hotel seems older, more dated. However, I'm fully satisfied with it.

The bathroom has all amenities -- soap, shampoo, conditioner, loofa, toothbrush, razor, cotton -- just check the drawers in the bathroom. It is all there. My room is in the B tower. The wireless internet works fine. (Nantong Hotel did not have wireless, you had to sit at the desk and plug the cable in.)

Biggest inconvenience for me is the electrical outlets. They do not hold a plug securely. If you try to plug in charger or hair dryer, it only works if you hold the plug and firmly push it into the wall. As soon as you let go, it loses the connection and you lose power. This is the same no matter which cord or charger I plug in -- US style, European style. So, I have had to wedge something under the cord to keep it pushed firmly into the wall.

Breakfast buffet is good. I have not eaten other meals at the hotel.

Laundry service is good, and quick. Front desk people are helpful, speak good English. Bed is comfortable for me, though I like a hard mattress. Overall, I recommend the place. If I come to Nantong again, I will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisdeB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Nantong You Fei Hotel is the kind of place that Chinese business hosts book foreign visitors into. It is centrally located, which is convenient for them, it has a huge buffet with lots of food they like and some Western choices too, and it has a opulent lobby and Las Vegas style gold lions at the entrance, which makes them feel like they're giving you lots of respect. God bless 'em, but if you were choosing a hotel in Nantong you wouldn't choose this one. There is not much to recommend, only to say that the rooms are not horrible, just a bit dated and dark
(stay in tower B only, tower A is not nice, so brace yourself), and if you find yourself in Nantong, a business friendly city in northern Jiangsu province with little to offer a tourist, you probably have stayed in worse in China, so you'll manage. But if you are traveling to Nantong for personal reasons this hotel is only recommended if you insist on staying in the downtown area. For giggles, check out the buffet -- there is a dish called "F--- a Bullfrog" (no lie) which is to die for.

Room Tip: You must stay in Tower B
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mriguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here on a number of occasions over the last 4 years. As far as I have been able to ascertain it is the only real choice for westerners in Nantong. The location, as others have commented, is excellent. Experience has lead me to try and stay in 'Tower B'. Whilst the hotel is not what I would describe as 5-star it is adequate and some of the reviews here do seem a little harsh. The rooms are ok although a little tired. The bed is fine which is probably the most important thing and the bathrooms whilst small and dated are functional. Yes, the shower is in the bath and, yes, if you are over 5' 10" you probably have to stoop to get under it. Cleanliness has never been an issue, housekeeping is good and Landry is efficient. This is an industrial city and they are not catering to the Shanghai crowd. Waiters English is a bit if problem but they are generally willing and try their hardest. Breakfast choice is good, they have an egg station and the omelettes were actually good. Coffee is appalling (not ususual for China). The bar is generally deserted and there are many better and more sociable bars in the vicinity - try Summer Bar or the Office Bar which are both nearby. Captains Bar is very westernised and only 10 minute walk. Culturally it is an experience so try and enjoy it ,

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

Except location everything is terrible. Except one girl at front desk no one can't speak English well.
Nantong is very small city, it's full of factories so many people is on business trip every year I think this city really need a good 5 star hotel. I want to try out Jinshi Hotel for next time

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moji256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I travel to China 10 times a year. I must say that You Fei hotel is the worst I've stayed at. I have stayed in this hotel 4 times in the last year. The service is horrible the personnel is very rude, and try to charge for anything you ask. I am allergic to mites and I have had an asthma attack the last 2 times. The rooms are filthy. The hotel has three towers A, B, and C. Try to stay away from tower C is the worst.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alassio, Italy
Level Contributor
162 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Externally, it boasts the proud architecture of Chinese patriotic grandeur. The location is excellent, central and right on the river with great opportunities for boat tours or pleasant strolls along the very well maintained riverside pathways.
Inside, the hall is nice although a little old fashioned, and overall it’s like living a 1980s experience. Slow check-in with obsolete office equipment. Smallish and slow elevator. The corridors have low ceiling, room is a little small for a five star, and with poor soundproofing; the bathroom very small and basic. Tap water is not suitable for drinking, but of course this has nothing to do with the hotel. Toilet amenities are limited to one piece of soap. Old TV, wi-fi not in all rooms, but you do get an in-room fax machine!
Breakfast is fine in terms of choice, but the waiters have a bit of a puzzled look and role.
All would be nice and good, a bit of a cultural experience which I actually enjoyed, if it wasn’t for the price that is frankly excessive for a certainly not contemporary hotel in a second-tier city – a rate that in Shanghai could get you into really high standard hotels. Would have been just fine for half the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto_NW_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantong hotels
3.2 mi away
Jinshi International Hotel
Jinshi International Hotel
#1 of 309 in Nantong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Nantong Oasis International
1.1 mi away
Nantong Hotel
Nantong Hotel
#4 of 309 in Nantong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hanting Express Nantong Qingnian East Road
3.5 mi away
InterContinental Nantong
InterContinental Nantong
#2 of 309 in Nantong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wenjing International Hotel
Wenjing International Hotel
#26 of 309 in Nantong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nan Tong You Fei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nan Tong You Fei Hotel

Property: Nan Tong You Fei Hotel
Address: No.8 Haonan Road, Chongchuan District, Nantong 226001, China
Region: China > Jiangsu > Nantong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 309 Hotels in Nantong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Nan Tong You Fei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing