We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Gowri Nivas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gowri Nivas
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Cuddled in the midst of Coorg is a homestay that makes the long journey from Bangalore absolutely worth it!

Stayed there for 2 nights, with warm hospitable hosts and clean rooms Gowri Nivas offers everything it promises and more.

Thanks to Bopanna all my queries about Coorg were answered and I had an opportunity to savour some delicious food in their beautiful house(The antique furniture they have collected are stunning)

Bopanna ensured that all my travel needs and frequent phone calls to him were answered and was kind enough to give me a ride in his car on a rainy day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaghavNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gowrinivas, Owner at Gowri Nivas, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
thanks raghav.. the pleasure was all ours...)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
100
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a two-day stay at Madikeri, Coorg and we chose Gowri Nivas for its top rating in TripAdvisor and it surely kept its name. Our stay has been so homely and wonderful that we never felt like leaving the place. The owners at the place were so friendly and homely, they really made us feel at home. When we had breakfast and dinner, it really felt like we were meeting our school friends after 20 years and having an enjoyable time.

The owners took so much detail into the different aspects of house-keeping, room decoration and amenities. It simply showed the love and care they showed towards their guests and made it feel so homely for us. The food is wonderful, hospitality is super, owners are friendly and homely and amiable.

Will definitely choose this place next time when we visit Coorg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krishna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gowrinivas, Owner at Gowri Nivas, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
krishna thankssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!..........)))))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Gowri Nivas for one night end of June. Its an awesome property, nicely maintained, picture perfect. Madikeri town is small - so one's not really far from anything in this place. Mr. Bopanna plays the perfect host - helping us in our cab arrangement, dining options and even offering us a ride in his car to the Coorg Cuisine restaurant for dinner. Only 2 negatives - mosquitoes (always keep your doors closed, as Mr. Bopanna advised), and a bit pricey. Overall, will recommend Gowri Nivas highly to anybody looking to idle around time in Madikeri.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ipsanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gowrinivas, Owner at Gowri Nivas, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
tks ....glad to see your response to our homestay...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It was my first visit to Coorg. I read the reviews about Gowri Nivas and decided to book it as the reviews were good. Sometimes though reviews are good actual experience may not be good. But I was proved wrong this time,the homestay is as good as the best in town of coorg.
The hospitality provided by Mr Bopanna and Ms Muthu is excellent. Room service is better than expectations. Mr Bopanna also guides what to see in and around.I would definitely recommend this homestay to the visitors of Coorg.

Santoshkumar Pinge, Mumbai

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santoshpinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gowrinivas, Owner at Gowri Nivas, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
thanks santosh...hang on we are going to be in pune sooner than you can imagine!!!!!...))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Mr. Bopanna sorry to write it late, we enjoyed the stay there, thanks for the food and the hospitality you provided.
Great Collection of antiques and books. we loved the stay!!
We were family of eight and booked cottage and a room.

Highly recommended for those who prefer different type of stay other than hotels!!

Again thanks to very kind host, Mr. Bopanna. Remember me when you come to Ahmedabad. :)

Room Tip: All rooms nice, for senior citizens select room within main house, Its amazing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarang2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gowrinivas, Owner at Gowri Nivas, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
hi sarang..it was amazing to meet your family and your grand parents...so full of life and interesting stories....you were pretty apprehensive about your first experience with a homestay but we are glad that everything turned out well & you left with fond memories....thanks for coming...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latur, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was the first time visitor of coorg. Saw the reviews of Gowri Nivas which are as good as Orange county coorg. Booked it and wow what an amazing experience. I was worried as rooms are not AC but hey who needs AC the construction material of the room makes it very cold even in summer. We njyd rains in the garden of the home.
The attic with liht fan and bed in the room was awesome.
Cleanliness was great.
Hanmant is the perfect attendant.
And above all Mr. Bopanna, a man who will mix with u like a relative of urs. He is very friendly, takes care, makes the environment friendly and cherful. He guided us for sightseeing, arranged cabs for us.

Location is 5 mins from Rajas seat the prime spot in madikeri.

Surely recommended for family, couples , single boys everyone.

we are coming again soon.

Room Tip: Cottage was pretty awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atsona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gowrinivas, Owner at Gowri Nivas, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
doctor..you are scaring us with your excellent reviews and making us raise the bar for ourselves...thanks so much for coming and glad you enjoyed your stay with us & wish you both the very best in life...)))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our first homestay experience, its been hotels and resorts in the past. Though Mr Bopanna was out of town, Mrs Daisy played a perfect host. The hospitality, the food, hygiene and interiors were just amazing. Kids too thoroughly enjoyed the short stay here. This is definitely highly recommended for folks looking for homestay in Coorg. Also I would like to thank for giving us access to kitchen, it was very helpful and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umeshw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gowrinivas, Owner at Gowri Nivas, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
thanks umesh , we were out of town but glad that daisy was there & you had a good holiday..))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
3.8 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 25 in Madikeri
442 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Coorg
Hotel Le Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
307 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
501 reviews
3.4 mi away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowri Nivas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowri Nivas

Property: Gowri Nivas
Address: New Extension Madikeri, Madikeri 571201, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 200 Speciality Lodging in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gowri Nivas 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowri Nivas, which has been rebuilt meticulously, is an ancestral home known for its legendary hospitality to family and friends situated in Madikeri. It has its own story to tell from handmade floor tiles to the antique door, pillars and windows rescued from a chieftain’s house and painstakingly restored. Gowri Nivas offers you a quality home stay service with the luxury and comfort of home in Coorg. "Live in the heart of Madikeri, experience the soul of Coorg." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Gowri Nivas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gowri Nivas Hotel Madikeri
Gowri Nivas Madikeri, India - Kodagu (Coorg)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing