We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was denied the room we booked.. But the alternative turned acceptable”
Review of Hotel Rajdarshan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Rajdarshan
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Madikeri
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Was denied the room we booked.. But the alternative turned acceptable”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

First up, for the management.. Bad behavior. We booked through TripAdvisor and prepaid for two rooms. On reaching we were told all rooms are booked in hotel and the owner has a homesteader nearby that will we will be provided rooms at. This was a trip with my agreed parents so naturally we were very concerned and displeased. Having paid already for 4 nights, or options to say no was limited. The home stay was nearly and newly constructed. It was still not completely done. There was water dropping from room on the hallway. We were told no room service was available. Bad! however what worked was that the rooms were very spacious and we had the whole house on those days to ourselves. Location of hotel and the adjacent homestay is good. Owner stayed on ground floor. But the road leading down to the building was so narrow and slippery that being car to parking was a struggle. Walking was difficult. We did not complain and seek refund at TripAdvisor since parents ultimately liked having the space to ourselves and we were the young people who could get tea snacks etc from nearly places. When fully constructed, the of Rajdarshan will be OK. But we'll, it is cheating that you don't get what you pay for and book so well in advance. Unreliable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gdyru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    13
    7
    11
See reviews for
22
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Located exactly opposite Raja's seat, it is best for people travelling with kids. There is a toy train ride at Raja's seat, which can be enjoyed again and again till you stay in this hotel. Also, in the evening,only for 15-30 mins there is a musical almost comparable to Vrindavan Garden, Mysore. Also, though it is located near the market, it is 500 mtr away making it a calm place. The staff is very courteous, especially manager at the desk. He helped us get a rickshaw at 7am in the morning for us to catch our bus from bus stand. For vegetarians & Jains, it is better to go to a restaurants - Neelsgar or Athithi.

Room Tip: Backside rooms are better in view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is an average hotel with high price. Unclean bed sheets, fungus on ceiling walls and un-cleaned bathroom. Whenever you enter in the room, cannot breathe due to foul small (needs to open the door, window and full speed of fan)
The restaurant is a disaster place. The service staff is very unresponsive. The incident happened was: We are vegetarian (Even not eating eggs). We have ordered a “Veg. Manchow Soup” and they have served “Chicken Manchow Soup”. The superviser was not ready to listening to my complaint at all. We had earlier planned a full dinner there but then we went to The Fort Mercara Boutique Hotel.
Only positive of the hotel it is very near to Rajah's seat and also close to nearby restaurants (Neel Sagar, Athithi and The Fort Mercara Boutique Hotel.
Overall I am very disappointed with the hotel stay and I don’t want to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PankajGaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Madikeri hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is an average hotel with above average price. unclean bedsheets, beds with holes etc. The surroundings and hotel ambience is not for family.
Only positive of the hotel it is very near to Rajah's seat and also close to near by restaurants(neel sagar and athithi). The hotel's restaurant is not so clean. Overall the charges of the hotel doesnot di

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is very close to Raja's Seat. The ambience is hardly any thing as this is in the basememt. Network connectivity also goes for a toss. The service staff is very indifferent. The restautant is a family place still stinks of alcohol around 7.30 pm onwards, when it opens.

The incident happened was: we ordered for roti and we had confirmed with the attendant that it was wheat roti n not maida roti. It was a take away. So after we came back to our homestay, at dinner time we realized that those were maida rotis which were fully turned into rubber consistency. It was not in consumable form at all.

We had earlier planned a full dinner there, however it seems God was kind and we were saved from the terror.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DiptiKariwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

the rooms smell bad, avoid the rooms at basement.... u can seeing the building waste from the window..... they have a website n I was booking thro that for a I day ... got a discount of 10%. I decided to xtend a day of stay more. they charged me extra without the discount... the manager was not ready to listening to my complaint at all... no complimentary bfast also. only advantage is Its just opposite to the tourist location called Raja's seat. n the city...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manojinvincible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is ok if all you are planning is an overnight stay and need a place to bunk for the night. No major issues as such, just that it is a very average/below average hotel.

Rooms could have been maintained better. Rooms had not been swept before we move in. Restrooms were ok. Hot water was available in abundance.

The hotel is located on a slope, and the rooms are on and below the reception level. Rooms on the front side at the reception level can get very noisy, as the hotel is right next to the road leading to the raja's seat. So take a room on the lower side facing the backside. But don't expect any view. The hotel is walking distance from the "Raja's seat" and about 1.5 km from the Madikeri market place.

Staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Take a room on the lower side facing the backside to avoid the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwnargund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikeri hotels
132.0 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Madikeri Town Center
132.4 mi away
Hotel Hill View
Hotel Hill View
#19 of 25 in Madikeri
109 reviews
131.4 mi away
Hotel Crystal Court
Hotel Crystal Court
#15 of 25 in Madikeri
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
131.5 mi away
Prestige Residency, Madikeri
132.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
132.4 mi away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 25 in Madikeri
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rajdarshan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rajdarshan

Property: Hotel Rajdarshan
Address: 8/13 Mg Road, Madikeri 571201, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hotel Rajdarshan Madikeri, India - Kodagu (Coorg)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing