We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice weekend getaway...but..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skanda Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skanda Homestay
Ranked #29 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Madikeri
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice weekend getaway...but..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent a weekend in April at Skanda Homestay. After a scenic but bumpy drive, we arrived at the charming estate house.

Room - Large, with an antique feel. Bathrooms are large and adequately appointed. We were not the only occupants of the room - several tiny black bugs (harmless) appeared in the night, apparently very common in the rainy season.

Food - Excellent!! Healthy, tasty, and homemade.

Activities - 1) Must do: watch elephant feeding at a camp 3 KMs away 2) Excellent biking route to Pollibetta (around 25 KM roundtrip) - manager was kind enough to arrange the cycles 3) Iruppu Falls (44 KM from estate)

The only major downside was that the estate house is right on the highway. A big disappointment for people looking to get away from vehicular noise.

Overall, a very satisfying experience and the staff is very hospitable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavvyManias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have visited this place number of times with freinds and family and everytime had a great experience. The rooms are spacious and clean and service is attentive. Food is perfect and they are pet friendly too.

I recommend this place highly for a nice relaxes weekend holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JItTravelDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Skanda is our best find of a homestay in Coorg. A quick drive from Mysore, Skanda's location at Tithimathi is at the entrance to the Nagarhole National Park which allows lots of activities to be fitted in. From walks, fishing, bird-watching, to taking a guided tour of the coffee processing unit, it is all available within the large estate. Apart from these, the jungle safari at the Nagarhole NP or the Namdroling Tibetan monastry is a half day's itinerary from this homestay. The elephant feeding at the Tithimathi elephant camp is another highlight and an unique experience.
The rooms here are stylish, spacious and well kept, food is homestyle and authentic, while the service is attentive and always with a smile.
We've been here several times with family and friends since 2009 and its got better with each stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

It is a decent place to stay, but I wouldn't rate it as worth the money that we paid. Due to the conditions of the road (which is extremely bad), I would say that the location is not good and there are not too many things that you can do around. Food was good, but the rooms (bathrooms, bed, linens) could be maintained better. It felt like the owners do concentrate much on its maintenance. The hosts were and took care of us, but during the night they were nowhere to find (they have intermittent power failures and I couldn't understand why the generator wont start automatically in the night).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaafamily25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
0.0 mi away
Kadkani River Resort
Kadkani River Resort
#1 of 1 in Ammathi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blue Mountains Estate Stay
0.0 mi away
Hotel Coorg International
Hotel Coorg International
#19 of 119 in Madikeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Leisure Vacations Brook Stone Villas
0.0 mi away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
0.0 mi away
Leisure Vacations Woodstock Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skanda Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skanda Homestay

Property: Skanda Homestay
Address: B C & K Estates, Thithimathi Post | South Kodagu, Madikeri 571254, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Skanda Homestay Madikeri, India - Kodagu (Coorg)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing