We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a budget stay.”
Review of Prashanti Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prashanti Resort
Ranked #61 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Madikeri
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Took the round cottage and stayed for one night. Rooms are pretty ok. Nice view from the cottage of the mist covered hills. There's a small cute stream that runs next to the resort. Food is pretty standard, and not many options to choose from. Also since this is a little far from the town, you can't go out to find any eateries on your own. Overall, this is a good option for a budget stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank SantoshSavanur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Prashanti Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

First, the limitations: Most mobile signals not available, no non-veg food, virtually no a la carte, no intercoms, tiny play area for kids, creepy crawlies around,
Work-around: Wi-fi available, manager will order non-veg food if ordered sufficiently in advance. Working SIM available with manager in case you need to make phone calls.
If you cannot live with the limitations, then Prasanthi is not for you !
Good points: Very peaceful, quiet and green location (despite proximity to highway), Very enthusiastic and helpful staff, large rooms,great coffee!!
For the four of us (2 couples), we were given adjacent cottages. Since our idea of vacation was spending a few days in natural environment, it was a pleasurable stay for us.
Feedback for Management : Install intercoms as guests need to climb up to reach the office in order to communicate. Also, some fumigation to keep the insects in check.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RoadrunnerMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A Nice place to stay in. I stayed with my family for 2 days. The standard cottage was in the shape of circle and when you step outside, you get a nice view of hills and mountains and a cool breeze from the plants , trees and stream. The staffs were very kind and helpful to guests. Food was very clean and taste. Rooms were kept very neat. Service was very fast. Power was tripped a few times but the generator is operated.
Only, 2 problems are there in this resort.
1. It is located 5 kms from Madikeri.
2. No mobile network inside the cottages. Mobile network is available only near dining area and reception.

Room Tip: Choose rooms near the steam. So you can enjoy the cool breeze.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitish2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The resort has awesome location, good managers and serving guys. Plenty of estate to have a walk through the day.
Food is a constraint, specially for Non Veggies because the food is Veg and supplied by a family to the guests. However, on order, they would get you food of your choice all the way form Madikeri( from hill top).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Soumit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was at prashanti for 2N3D with my girlfriend. Its totally a couple friendly place. They arranged a pickup for us early in the morning from bus stand. Campus is neat and rooms are well kept. Rooms have mesh doors to keep those flies away from your bed. Staffs there are very friendly. Power tripped a few times but they have a decent power backup. Negatives are, no tower reception. Like Vodafone/Airtel doesnt work at all. May be its the case with most of the places there. The staff out there managed to give us spare sim during our stay. You will have to wait your luck for a ride to the city which is a few kms away. You cant walk it. The best is the food they prepare. You name it they cook it for you. Thats what happened with us. Overall, a chilled out place for couple. Not too fancy, inexpensive. CHEERS!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank venky303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed with my family for 2 days. The deluxe cottage provided was neat and clean and with glass windows on 3 sides it provides excellent view giving a feeling of staying in a Jungle.

The bathroom has a tub and was well maintained and so was the room. The balcony was spacious and provides a good view of the mountains, lake and we can hear the stream.

The room service was good, though it was raining heavily on the second day of our visit, they did served food at the room.

The complementary breakfast provided was good, we had typical coorg breakfast - Rice balls for the second day which was good.

Not much options for lunch / dinner but what ever they gave us was good.

They made snack ( onion pakoda ) on our request which was very good.

As mentioned in other reviews they serve only vegetarian food, but they do arrange for non veg from outside.


Some areas to note:

It was difficult to go to cottage from parking area when it rains. They could provide some cover for the path or at least arrange for umbrella.

Being more than 4 km away from Madikeri, we dont have shops or restaurants near by.

For Children they have a small swing and rope walk...nothing more than that..could improve on this..

Overall we had a nice time in the resort and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Deluxe cottages 4 & 5 have a good view of the mountain.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gokul1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have booked this place to stay from 27 Dec to 29 Dec 2013. Arrived there on 27th evening - after checking in we decided not to stay there in the night and checked out that night itself. Terribly maintained, unbelievably bad service - I can't believe the reviews here unless they have made major renovations. Even cheap lodges in towns offer better service and value - this place is a big hype. Would not recommend to anyone - please visit the place by yourself before you book it. We made the mistake of booking after seeing the photos - there is a big mis-match between the photos and reality and felt cheated.

Room Tip: make a visit yourself before u book it - please don't get cheated by the photos and reviews
Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank PremjD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikeri hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 25 in Madikeri
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
3.8 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coorg International
Hotel Coorg International
#13 of 133 in Madikeri
170 reviews
35.6 mi away
Yamini Green
Yamini Green
#67 of 204 in Madikeri
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treebo Oleander Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prashanti Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prashanti Resort

Address: Mangalore Road | Katakeri Village, Thalathamane Post, Madikeri 571201, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Madikeri
Price Range: £31 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prashanti Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Prashanti Resort Madikeri, India - Kodagu (Coorg)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing