We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting resort with among the best food we ever had.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Madikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We planned a 3 night holiday at the Taj Madikeri in April. We drove down from Banglore and its too long a drive. We later realized that it makes sense to reach Mysore a night before and then drive down to the resort. This is a huge property with amazing natural beauty, nice architecture and landscaping amidst a lush green rainforest. The views are breathtaking and there is an indoor as well as outdoor swimming pool. In the night the ambience is out of the world. There were millions of fireflies shining in the night like small stars visiting earth giving the whole place a completely surreal feel. There are 4 restaurants and the food is awesome and of the highest standard. Taj service is of the highest standards as usual. Chef Johnson the head chef is fantastic and so is the restaurant manager Gautam and we got great service from Niranjan and Pabitra as well as food recommendations. Do try the Coorg cuisine and the ghee roast dosas are the best in the world. We had an absolutely wonderful stay and came back refreshed and rejuvenated. Special mention- We reached in summer time and discovered that our room was not air-conditioned which we were unaware. Being a rainforest all rooms are not air-conditioned. When we expressed our discomfort being summer time, Chef Johnson and Vijay promptly moved us to a higher category accommodation. All in a all a wonderful Taj property we will love to come back to. Anuraag and Vaishali.

Room Tip: All rooms are not air conditioned so if you visit in summer time you need to confirm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASD148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your amazing review.

I am proud to be working with a team of fantastic individuals who with their tremendous commitment to quality service create unforgettable experiences for all our guests.

It is so special to know that you were impressed with overall product and service delivery from the team. It is so inspiring for us to get to know from guests that they had a beautiful stay. This is the biggest recognition for all the efforts we put in. We can't thank you enough for this feedback. I have conveyed your kind words of appreciation to Gautam, Niranjan, Pabitra, Chef Johnson & Vijay , who are indeed delighted that you remembered them.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our private Eden.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,251 - 1,257 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This place is a piece of heaven. You step into the tasteful and minimalistic lobby, with the breathtaking 180 degree view, and you know you are in the right place. Or, you go in the monsoon season where the clouds float in, engulfing the lobby, and you feel like you are one with infinity. Speaking of infinity, the pool and the jacuzzi alone would have made up for the trip :)

It's an expensive place, so a good choice for a special occasion. We celebrated our anniversary there, and the warm service of the staff made it a very special experience. They brought a cake for us and a sweet message, and made us feel like we were amongst friends. A special shout out to the chirpy Vaishali with the infectious smile!

The rooms was gorgeous - we were in the Premium Indulgence cottage and it was perfect.

The only not-so-awesome thing was the food. It was just average - not what you would expect from the Taj.

But overall, it was quick break that left us happy and energized, and yearning to go back!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank EshaTiwary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire team here , I wish to express my gratitude for your appreciation. Vaishali is also very thankful to you for your appreciation.

It has given us a reaffirmation that our private Eden in this breathing rainforest, offers an abode for our guests to enjoy and ruminate. It is always a thrill to wake up with the drawing realization that you have a misty morning , the unaccustomed views and sounds ( birds chirping !!).

Service excellence with the urge to anticipate and comply with guest needs is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality. The premium indulgence rooms with almost 270 degrees view of the rolling hills and the verdant forest are truly amazing.

The monsoon is one of the most fascinating seasons in the Coorg. It transforms our landscape into a completely unique eco system with all the foliage coming to life, including the moss and lichen which are an indication of the health of the ecology that we are reposed in. The canopy of trees here paint every possible shade of green making our verdant rainforest similar to none other.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon with family.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

this is one enchanting place that promises you nature's beauty at best. we reached this place after a little bumpy stretch and once here there was nothing to complain about. the property is huge as such and one has to either walk lot or use electric carts to get around. the rooms is beautifully done up and the views near the pool are breath taking. the food at their restaurants was equally good and there isn't anything really to complain about.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nehaahlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

The rolling mist and the lilting mountain air have an unparalleled place in all our lives and beckon you to return..

It has given us a reaffirmation that our private Eden in this breathing rainforest, offers an abode for our guests to enjoy and ruminate. Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavor to provide the highest quality of product and service.

We are in touch with the concerned external authorities for repair of the golf course road and hopefully we shall be able to find the solution for a 300 metre stretch. Rest, I am sure you will agree it is the most beautiful picturesque drive.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future to Vivanta by Taj – Madikeri, Coorg.

Assuring you the best attention and services always.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My work has given me an opportunity to stay at may be over 25-30 five star hotels in the country over the last 5 years.. and this by far is the best hotel i have stayed at in terms of the sheer natural beauty! its breathtaking.. it actually took my breath away..

As soon as you reach the hotel you are greeted with a heavenly view of the Madikeri.. as many other reviewers have mentioned it is just like heaven..

The best feature (apart from this view) is the temperature control pool.. available from 6 am to 9 pm... we swam to our heart's content over 5 days... its just unlike any other pool in teh whole country ...
Other highlights
+ Amazing staff... sorry i have forgotten names.. but we were traveling with 7 month baby.. and they took care of her so well that my wife for the first time could let her hair down and enjoy a peaceful swim in teh pool..
+ Starberry farm - its just amazing.. brought the kids in us out..
+ The View The View The View.. its just heavenly..
+ the rooms and fireplace and soooooo beautiful.. one day i jsut sat by the window staring at the valley for 4 hours or so
+ FOOD - how can i forget it.. never have had such different variety and such tasty food in any other location.. In five days teh hotel managers did not allow us to order any ordinary northindian dish.. they made us taste each an every coorgy dish and we ate our fingers!

Room Tip: Go for the premium indulgence villa.. if you are out to impress your partner.. they will never forge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mojoneeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out the time to share your feedback of your stay with us at the Vivanta by Taj – Madikeri, Coorg.

It is so special to know that you were impressed with overall product and service delivery from the team. It is so inspiring for us to get to know from guests that they had a beautiful stay. This is the biggest recognition for all the efforts we put in. We can't thank you enough for this feedback. Thank you for appreciating our culinary team who did a wonderful job in customizing the dining experiences for you and I will pass on your appreciation to them. As they say, a place is because of its people and so is Vivanta by Taj - Madikeri , Coorg. I am blessed to be working with highly committed and enthusiastic team members.

I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed our Indoor swimming pool, You will be happy to note that our pool has been rated as 5th hippest pool in the world and the only Indian Pool in the list.
Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavor to provide the highest quality of product and service. Your extended family here at the hotel now looks forward to welcoming you back very soon to what we now hope is your new home in Coorg.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

3 H ..Hospitable ,.Homely Homestay
One must stay in Taj Vivanta,Madikeri to experience the beautiful landscape complemented by flora and fauna . A home away from home. Soaked in their hospitality, our stay was highly commendable apart from the facilities .

Room Tip: Room N0 502... bEst view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire team here , I wish to express my gratitude for your kind words about our hotel.

It has given us a reaffirmation that our private Eden in this breathing rainforest, offers an abode for our guests to enjoy.

Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavor to provide the highest quality of product and service. Your extended family here at the hotel now looks forward to welcoming you back very soon to what we now hope is your new home in Coorg.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thanks to my wife for choosing this property to celebrate my birthday! This was my best birthday ever!! The property is in rain forest and the drive is very scenic, though a little bumpy(1 km stretch), we could easily manage in our Sedan.

Thanks to Ms Vyshali who made our stay so memorable and ensured our stay was smooth and special throughout.

The view from lobby is breathtaking and the property is amazing and luxurious!! Rooms are huge and well designed.. Enjoyed the food @ Nellakki and Dew restaurant. Spent good time in indoor pool which is temperature controlled. Spa is great tooo!

Thanks to Prince, Biswajit Ghosh and other housekeeping staff for adorning our room which was great surprise on my birthday!!

Overall a great experience and you feel out of the world!! Heavenly experience.

See you soon guys :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank srihk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your stay and for an amazing review.

On behalf of the entire team here , I wish to express my gratitude for your kind words about our hotel and associates. I am proud to be working with a team of fantastic individuals who with their tremendous commitment to quality service create unforgettable experiences for all our guests. We are glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our facilities and services. I have personally passed on your appreciation to Vaishali, Prince & Biswas who made a great impact.

It has given us a reaffirmation that our private Eden in this breathing rainforest, offers an abode for our guests to enjoy and ruminate.

Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavour to provide the highest quality of product and service.


Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had lunch at Fern Tree at Vivanta by Taj, Madikeri. What a view!! And the food was outstanding. Especially recommend the starters at Fern Tree. Incidentally, we had a great conversation with the staff about coffee from the region at the end of which they gave us a box of local coffee free!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out the time to share your feedback.

It was thoughtful of you to convey your delight . We are glad to have provided you with an enjoyable experience.

We do look forward to your continued support.

Regards

Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
15.5 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
540 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 28 in Madikeri
515 reviews
16.1 mi away
Evolve Back, Coorg
Evolve Back, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Ibnii
The Ibnii
#5 of 28 in Madikeri
79 reviews
16.7 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
20.6 mi away
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg

Address: 1st Monnangeri, Galibeedu Post, Madikeri 571201, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Madikeri
Price Range: £176 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched 4000 feet above sea level in the midst of a 180-acre rainforest is the Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg. With Kodagu architecture, a temperature controlled Infinity Pool, an outdoor pool, 4 experiential dining experiences, a fully stocked Hive Bar and serenity that lingers long after your blissful break at this 5 star hotel in Madikeri, Coorg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg India - Kodagu (Coorg)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing