We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educative and relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Retreat Eco-lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainforest Retreat Eco-lodge
Ranked #19 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Madikeri
Limoux, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Educative and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed 4 nights and really enjoyed the place.
The owners were leaving so we just briefly met them, however the manager is very nice too and we had interesting conversations with her. We learnt a lot about organic culture (in which we have interest), several good Indian magazines are also available for reading.
Food was excellent, every day.

Don't go there for luxury or if you can't live without Internet/mobile phones, it's really a place for nature lovers and people who enjoy walking and observing plants. Madileri town is about 12 km on a bumpy road (almost a 30 min-ride..) so it's better to stay immersed at the Rainforest once you get there !
The room (deluxe cottage) was a bit moldy since it was right after moosoon and heavy rain days, but nice and spacious, with a great bathroom and outside sitting-out area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocovlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    16
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
32
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

We had been to this home stay for our anniversary ,it is away for city where you would not even get the mobile signal. Its very nice getaway , its different experience than usual resort. Morning treks were refreshing. Overall would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadhusudhanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

I've been travelling in India for two months and have stayed at 3 other plantations/homestays . My expectations were that I would be taught about the couple's NGO, get a thorough tour of the planation and learn about the local culture in the Western Ghats. The guests mostly took hikes by themselves and toured the plantations themselves. We did have a guided tour but the guide was more interested in talking on his cell phone than telling us about the local species of plants and birds. Don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

As name suggests, it is right in the middle of thick rain forest, a little away from Madikeri City, but in absolute wid nature. Hosts are very good. Specially the manager Andrew was very helpful & a great guide. Absolutely recommended, if you want tranquility & Nature & NO POLLUTION. We went for some wonderful trek & had fun dining with co-guests. Food is quite good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupensheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

This NGO/guesthouse isn’t so much a retreat as a wonderful educational experience. The NGO’s research focuses on modern farming, reforestation practices and organic alternatives. The owners are fully committed to their cause and the lady in particular, Sujata, is incredibly articulate with a talent to explain complex issues in simple layman language and with a soft welcoming voice that draws you in together with a contained passion that captivates and keeps you listening. She doesn’t force their views down you, just informs of their side to the debates, clearly explaining the background to the issues, what’s happened, what’s happening and then what they believes the alternatives to be. It’s all makes for a wonderful eye-opening learning experience.

The accommodation’s on the pricey side but, like pretty much everyone else we met there, we were only too willing to pay after seeing the work they undertake here. Interns, both foreign and Indians, also provide a wealth of information. It’s not all about the learning, there’s plenty of opportunity to trek and socialise, and the food’s very good. It’s more ‘communal’ than a getaway, so perhaps not for someone looking for a totally relaxed break away from it all, although saying that – we went looking for a bit of seclusion and ended up having an immensely enjoyable stay, extending our planned two nights to five, and we weren’t the only ones extending our stay there.

Couple of things that might be worth being aware of - it is the rainforest and there are all types of bugs and creatures – for us that quickly became part of the beauty of it – and the NGO/plantation work seems to take priority over the guests, so you may not get the level of service that you might expect elsewhere for this kind of money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed in a tent one night and a cottage the other. Shifting was quite easy since they are close, and it was fun to experience both. These are a little far from the dining area, and we wished we’d brought a torch for returning in the evening. The food was good, plentiful, vegetarian-friendly and would generally still be around even though we kept showing up late for meals. We enjoyed meeting the other guests at the communal meals, going on the (sometimes tiring) walks, and talking with the staff about their work/research. The weekend we were there, the other guests included an few young expats who came individually to get away from Bangalore for a bit, people visiting interns at the farm, couples from Bangalore, and couples traveling around India. We never got to go on a plantation walk, but went on two nature walks. The road gets bad towards the end, and the place is a little hard to find at night, so try to show up before sundown. We went to Bylakuppe on the drive from Bangalore to here, but they also arranged trips for guests. It’s really worth visiting for the food and the beautiful temple. Others who went to Dubare seemed less impressed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Usually when a place is a bit above the average price, from my experience, it has been worth it.
The Rainforest Retreat is not this case.
The food was good, but that was about the extent of it. I realize that it is supposed to be a bit rustic, but my cabin felt like a health hazard-- the bed smelled of mothballs, and the mattress was sinking/ moist. Not to mention that the sheets were not washed (or if they were, they did not smell like it). The bathroom was fine, though. The landscape itself was very lovely, but I just can't forget how damp/ moldy the room was. And I got severe allergies from staying there.
We did a trek, but that was all that was offered (the website promoted so much more that was not on the itinerary when I was there, so it felt misleading).
The hostess and host were very friendly and informative, but I my way out, I was told I had to pay an extra service charge!! What?!! I've never heard of such a thing, especially after we went over the price via phone and this was never mentioned.If they can at least make the rooms more sanitary and be more upfront about their pricing, that would be great. I realize that the money goes towards preserving the retreat, but I felt pretty ripped off. They should use that money to get new beds, sheets, and rid the rooms of mold. But who knows-- maybe you will have a better experience than me if you decide to go

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShantiOm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
4.4 mi away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 21 in Madikeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
11.5 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
2.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
7.3 mi away
Three Hills Coorg
Three Hills Coorg
#14 of 118 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat Eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat Eco-lodge

Property: Rainforest Retreat Eco-lodge
Address: Mojo Plantation | Galibeedu Village, Madikeri 571201, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rainforest Retreat, Coorg is a unique destination that combines eco-tourism with sustainable agriculture, biodiversity conservation and environmental education. Our internationally renowned eco-lodge is situated on a certified Organic farm nestled in the tropical rainforests of the Western Ghats of Kodagu district in southern Karnataka. We cater to environmentally conscious travelers who want to experience a harmonious existence with nature. Surrounded by rolling hills and densely forested valleys, this is a naturalist's paradise waiting to be discovered. Experience the true meaning of biodiversity as you explore remote idyllic valleys and tropical forests or learn how coffee, cardamom, pepper, vanilla are sustainably cultivated under the shade of rainforest trees. We also offer some of the finest trekking and birding in Southern India. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mojo Rainforest Retreat Hotel Madikeri
Rainforest Retreat Eco-Lodge Madikeri, India - Kodagu (Coorg)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing