We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquito Heaven?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Win Unity Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Monywa
North Carolina Beach & Florida Gulf
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Mosquito Heaven?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were wondering where the dreaded mosquitoes of Burma were and we found them in our room at the Win Unity. The cottages look great from the outside and weren't horrible inside although a bit campy feeling. However, when we entered with the porter, he ran into the closed door bathroom and came back out, shutting the door behind him. When we left we checked the bathroom out and saw holes in the window screens and heard and saw dozens of mosquitoes. The bathroom is tiled in white and soon the tiled were splattered when dead mosquitoes. Most remained in the bathroom but an enough were in the bedroom as well. They did come down and spray right away when we called, but as it was bed time, we had to put up with the smell for awhile. Also, we had reserved a king bed and they didn't have any left.
The common breakfast room was just off, too much of a cafeteria feel and I think they could have done something to make it more pleasant. The breakfast buffet was very basic compared to most (but much better than a USA motel one). The wait staff did not offer to bring us coffee or tea which just meant another up and down for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    161
    169
    40
    6
See reviews for
41
224
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

So the first impression was pretty good. The rooms were clean and the pool was nice.

But every day the pool became greener and greener. When I told anybody about the state of the pool nobody seemed to care.

The internet was down. They said it would be fixed the next day. They called the technician they said but. After a few days it was obvious it was simply not true. The lie was just set on 'repeat' every day by anybody of the staff. Everybody was replying the same thing 'will be fixed tomorrow' Nobody cares.

At the bar I ordered a lime with my drink. They charge one dollar for one dry lime! You want extra ice? Another dollar please.

I bring in 2kg of laundry. Most of it was underwear, socks, tshirts. Our bill was 50 dollars! Can you imagine? It seemed they charged us 1 dollar for every piece in the bag. We tried to talk with the manager but there was no understanding nor compassion from his part. He did not care. They just wanted the money.

This is the worst experience I had with a high end hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monywa hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
191 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Good view of lake, but lacking in basics such as internet. Very friendly/helpful staff but hotel is 3 star at best. Myanmar has no concept as to what tourists want. We are not 'one size fits all'. We want a nice place to stay with a shower and internet.

Room Tip: No idea, our tour included a deluxe/superior room which would be a 2 to 3 star in Vietnam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Win Unity is one of the few decent options in Monywa. The grounds are like a lush Levittown. The room itself is acceptable but undistinguished. The dining room has the charm of a Soviet-era cafeteria, although it does have a nightly musician. The food choice is boring but inoffensive. The location is a cold 20-minute ride by motorcycle taxi from the town with its kitschy night market, food stalls, Chinese electronics, and pagodas a go-go. There is nothing else in the immediate vicinity. Best feature: the sign in the bathroom (see photo).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParoleAnima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great little cottage style accomodation with a huge bathroom and good facilities. the pool looked enticing but we stayed only one night and were unable to take advantage of it. The hotel is quite a way out of town where the cheap eateries are and the hotel restaurant, which was cheaper than the one across the road, was not very good for dinner. The service was almost non-existant - it was fairly full but even so there could have been far more staff. Wifi was available but only in very few places could a connection be found and even then it was very weak. having siad that it was quite good value for money. We had an included breakfast which was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diforgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Bristol
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent one night in Monywa as part of a tour through Burma and the Win Unity Resort provided a comfortable night's sleep in a semi detached "cottage" with a great view over the lake. The room itself was a good size, well furnished, fitted with a domestic size 'fridge and a small safe. The bathroom was a good size with a shower that worked well. The bed was comfortable and two types of pillow were offered. It was clean but not spotless.

However, the experience at Reception was less good. We arrived at the same time as many other travellers and it felt like a scrum. Given the limited accommodation in Monywa I suspect this will happen quite often. To be fair, checking out was better.

Similarly, getting a meal in the dining room was less than ideal although we were looked after by a remarkably helpful young waiter.

My rating reflects a balance between the good room and the poor experience at Reception and in the Dining Room and is marked against similar hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somersettraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in the Win Unity in Monywa for one night during our Myanmar tour. We had 2 very nice rooms in the Bungalows, clean, with shower, nice terrace, nice setting close to the lake. Our guide had made sure to make very clear to the restaurant staff not to use Ajinomoto or other MSG for our food. Forget it, it did not work out. Restaurant was horrible, terrace booked for group tours, and we had to eat inside in a dark room. Service was bad, food nothing special, and definitely made with lots of MSG. I got extremly sick at night and had a horrible following day. My parents went for breakfast and were just disgusted. The worst they eve had, they said. I complained about the food in the reception, they could not care less. I hope more hotels open in Monywa to avoid other tourists from this horrible culinary experience.

Room Tip: take rooms in the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFM_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monywa
0.0 mi away
King & Queen Hotel
King & Queen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Monywa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chindwin
Hotel Chindwin
#3 of 5 in Monywa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Ba Thaung
#5 of 5 in Monywa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
87.0 mi away
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
Kandawgyi Hill Resort
#6 of 15 in Pyin Oo Lwin (Maymyo)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Amara Hotel
Grand Amara Hotel
#15 of 34 in Naypyidaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jade Royal Hotel
Jade Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Monywa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Win Unity Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Win Unity Resort Hotel

Property: Win Unity Resort Hotel
Address: Bogyoke Road, Yone Gyi Quarter | Kantharyar, Monywa, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Sagaing Region > Monywa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Monywa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Win Unity Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Win Unity Resort Hotel not only provides the best accommodation in Monywa, but is also a landmark of the town and the surrounding area. The international standard hotel is privately owned by a Monywa family that had lived in the town for generations. The Win Unity Resort Hotel has six types of rooms. Suite Bungalow with Lake View, Deluxe Bungalow with Lake View, Deluxe Bungalow with Garden View, Junior Deluxe Bungalow and Superior Bungalows are attached twin bungalows with an own veranda to provide ultimate privacy for our guests. The Standard Rooms in a 6 stories building are a real bargain, considering the quality of the rooms and the service. Our housekeeping team ensures that cleanliness and hygiene are a top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, JovagoAsia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Win Unity Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Win Unity Hotel Monywa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing