We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pak Chong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenleaf Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 62 Pak Chong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This guesthouse itself is quite basic- it is on a busy main road and is not particularly pretty. However, the rooms are clean, the staff are exceptionally helpful and their tours are good. We did the one day tour to the national park. Our guide spoke perfect english and was brilliant- keeping his ear out for gibbons, taking close up shots for us with his telescope, tracking down wild elephants. The tour is certainly not a 'trek'. There is barely any walking and quite a lot of time in the pick up which is a shame but you do get to spot a lot of wildlife. The staff at the guesthouse helped us plan our onward trip and gave us useful advice about places to go. The food was variable- I had one really good meal and one average one. Across the road there is a 7-11 and a coffee shop so if, like us, you crave a decent coffee then you can head there. Wifi was mostly good. There are not very many alternative dining options nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    133
    35
    12
    17
See reviews for
41
163
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Looking at the bare facts doesn't seem very inviting: A simple guest house, located on a big street outside the next town, no hot water in the rooms (cold shower!) and a simple restaurant. What makes this guesthouse a great place to stay are the atmosphere and the great tours to the Khao Yai natonal park. You feel welcome - and the big tables of the restaurant make you meet and get to know the other guests. I would return any time to this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEATraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. My room was basic but clean with fan and cold water showers (abit chilly in the mornings). The restaurant has a basic menu but the food is well priced and tasty plus caters for vegetarians. I booked my accommodation in advance and when I arrived by bus, rang them and they picked me up and also dropped me back at the bus station when I left - the bus station is approx. 20 mins from the guest house. You do need to book a tour with them to be picked up. Not a lot of eating choices around, there is a restaurant next door and some food stalls near the guest house plus there is a 7-11 up the road and an Amazon Coffee shop behind the 7-11.

I went on both tours, the half day and the full day tour. The tour guides are very friendly, professional, passionate and knowledgeable about the jungle and the animals. They can't promise you will see all the animals but we saw deer, monkeys, squirrels, hornbills and other birdlife but unfortunately no elephants. What was impressive is the tour company / guides seem to be very aware of litter and the environment as our lunch on the day tour which was pretty good was in re-useable containers and even our sticky rice snack wrapped in a banana leaf was not thrown away but packed away to be taken back to the guest house. Water also provided.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back as the guest house is on a main road, even though there are no rooms at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L2Travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgique
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This isn't my first stay at Greenleaf Guest House, and I'm impressed that they manage to keep the same quality over the years.
The rooms are clean but basic (no air con or hot water); the food is simple but tasty and cheap. I think they must have the best phat thai in the whole of Thailand !
Tour guides are very friendly, professional and knowledgeable about the jungle and the animals. We were very lucky and got to see gibbons, 3 different species of hornbills, countless species of birds, giant squirrels, a masked palm civet and ... a wild elephant in the forest !!
The atmpsphere is very friendly and relaxed, a "home away from home" kind of feeling. I could only stay for two days unfortunately but next time I'll stay longer.
You can get a free pick-up from the train or bus station if you call them in advance. There isn't much to do around the guest house but there is a 7-11 nearby, as well as an Amazon Coffee place right next to the 7-11.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the backyard, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawaddeekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This place is basic and they tell you that there is no hot showers, so at least you know before booking. We did both the half and full day tours which were amazing! Well worth doing! Also the good was great and big just what you need after a day in the jungle!

The staff are great very helpful and the atmosphere here is fantastic and a opportunity to meet other travellers. This place is more aimed at the tours which is good as that's why you are there. This is a great place and a must! Loved it, thank you greenleaf!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A good, basic place to stay. They offer a pickup from the train / busstation if you take a tour with them and they offer some nice food for a good price.

The tour is worthwile taking because the guides are very enthousiastic and know alot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letzer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We chose this B&B for the tours. We arrived to Pak Chong by bus and called to Greenleaf to ask if they had available rooms. Soon they came to pick us up. The room was - well, interesting. The pictures others have added here are exactly what you get. No air con, no hot water. Good enough when you are traveling on a budget and not spending a lot of time in the room.

Food was basic but very good and tasty. We also tried the food cart next door, also worth trying. Not a lot to do around the area, especially without your own transportation. We took both half day and full day tours and were very satisfied with both of them. The guides were very professional and attentive. We can highly recommend staying here while visiting Khao Yai.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susse84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pak Chong hotels
7.6 mi away
Escape Khao Yai Hotel
Escape Khao Yai Hotel
#6 of 40 in Pak Chong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
6.9 mi away
Kirimaya Golf Resort Spa
Kirimaya Golf Resort Spa
#5 of 40 in Pak Chong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khao Yai Garden Lodge
Khao Yai Garden Lodge
#25 of 96 in Pak Chong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Muthi Maya Forest Pool Villa Resort
5.0 mi away
Botanica Khao Yai
Botanica Khao Yai
#7 of 40 in Pak Chong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.2 mi away
Thames Valley Khao Yai
Thames Valley Khao Yai
#2 of 40 in Pak Chong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenleaf Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenleaf Guesthouse

Property: Greenleaf Guesthouse
Address: Khao Yai National Park, Pak Chong, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nakhon Ratchasima Province > Pak Chong District > Pak Chong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Pak Chong
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Greenleaf Guesthouse Hotel Pak Chong
Greenleaf Guesthouse Thailand/Pak Chong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing