We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular and unique”
Review of Sala Khao Yai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sala Khao Yai
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Pak Chong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Sala Resorts is a company that manages a few boutique-sized hotels around Thailand. They have an excellent property in Phuket, one in Koh Samui and one just North of Khao Yai National Park, the largest nature reserve in Thailand (and one of the largest in South East Asia).

After experiencing the Phuket product a couple of years ago (a wonderful resort that offers the best food of any hotel I have tried – by far!), we decided to try out the small property in Khao Yai. We were not disappointed.

The setting is amazing. Perched on top of a hill it offers 360-degree views towards that park hills and the plains below. The hotel has just 7 rooms. Three suites in the main building that give you fantastic sunrise views, and are build on a split level, with a huge bed / lounge area in the low level, and an opulent bathroom area with a huge tub and separate shower in the upper level. Two smaller pool villas and two larger ones face the opposite side of the hilltop, offering sunset views. These villas have their own small pools, a secluded garden with a huge swing seat, and a roof deck area that has a circular sofa that can accommodate four people with ease, and from which you can view the sunset while sipping evening cocktails. Luxury furnishings, a sunken bath, separate shower area and a huge lounge complete the interior.

The main pool is on top of the hill, and is long enough for those who need to swim away a few laps, but beware that it is completely exposed to the sun all day. Loungers and deck areas complete the rest of the hilltop.

Other reviewers have pointed out some of the downsides of this otherwise outstanding property and I would agree with some. First of all if you are not a resident of Thailand and familiar with the area, it is a difficult place to find. You absolutely need your own car to go there, so if you are a tourist visiting from abroad you will need to rent one. If you are driving in directly from the airport, you don’t need to enter Bangkok but can take the outer ring road and then follow the signs for Saraburi and then Pak Chong/Khao Yai; turn left on the road you see just before the park entrance, coming from Pak Chong; the resort is about 16 Km away off that road.

The second issue that has been raised (especially by those who have also visited the Sala Phuket) is that the food is disappointing. This is true by Sala Phuket standards, but you are setting the bar very high in this case. Considering that the place is in the middle of nowhere, everything has to be trucked in and that there are only 7 rooms to make money on, expectations might need to be reset a bit. We have been there three times now, since the place opened, and the quality of the food has been steadily improving. On our last visit (June 2011) we only ordered Thai food and it was very good. The bar staff also know how to make great Margaritas! But if you are still craving for some variety, you can drive about 5Km back towards the park and turn left in to the Toscana Valley development that has a restaurant with a wider choice (and is not too bad either).

The only issue I would raise is that if you arrive during a rainstorm, or during the height of the days’ heat, you have to schlep yourself up a long, steep staircase to reach the hotel from the parking lot. There is absolutely no cover. It is possible to drive closer to the reception area, but for some reason the guards won’t let you.

But this is a minor annoyance especially once you reach the top and get to see the view that you will enjoy for the rest of your stay there. In summary this is not you standard resort, but that is exactly why you should try it out. There isn’t anything remotely as spectacular in the area. Final tip: if you can, go mid-week as the prices are much lower.

Room Tip: Best suite room #1. Best villa room #6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makalu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2011

The VIEW is what you can't imagine it's the best...
The location is very far from shop and restaurant..
The food was ok, you better buy food along the way to the hotel.

In other hand, internet connection is very poor, DVD movie at the front desk was so old and is nothing news ...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iklalanla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed in Sala Khao Yai for 3 nights in September. Reason for booking the hotel was our experience Sala Phuket last year and were absolutely blown away.
Sala Khao Yai is located on a hill top with absolutely stunning views. There is a beautiful infinity pool with view over the valleys. The villas are beautifully decorated with views over the mountains, private pool and a rooftop terrace with a huge round loungechair where you can enjoy the scenery. The restaurant on top of the hill is really nice to sit and look around. The staff were absolutely very friendly , as usual they did not understand English very well but they did their best.

However there were a few things which would need improvement, mainly the restaurant as the food was pretty poor. And nestled on top of a hill, there is not a town nearby where you can go and have dinner. The resort is very small (7 rooms only) so we did not expect a wide variety in the menu, but we did expect good quality as we had in Phuket.
It was also quiet difficult to make reservations as the staff did not respond to my email and I had to remind them I really wanted to book a room serveral times before they answered.

I gave the feedback to the management and they were really great about it and responded within 1 day they would investigate and get back to me. They mentioned they would like into my feedback and work on improvements and knowing the Phuket quality, they will manage to bring the hotel up to higher standards.

Some tips in general for visiting the area:
1) Bring a car, either your own or rent one in Bangkok. If you are without a car you are helpless and need to arrange for a driver who offcourse tries to rip you off, does refuse to drive you to place further away and only understands English when it is convenient for him
2) Ensure you bring a detailed map of the area so you know where you can go to and how far it is

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tuckiiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hannah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank attapong_proms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Seasand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pak Chong hotels
18.4 mi away
Escape Khao Yai Hotel
Escape Khao Yai Hotel
#5 of 38 in Pak Chong
175 reviews
8 mi away
The Paz Khao Yai
The Paz Khao Yai
#6 of 38 in Pak Chong
42 reviews
10 mi away
Muthi Maya Forest Pool Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Botanica Khao Yai
Botanica Khao Yai
#4 of 38 in Pak Chong
188 reviews
12.3 mi away
Thames Valley Khao Yai
Thames Valley Khao Yai
#1 of 38 in Pak Chong
183 reviews
12.6 mi away
Prairie Hills Resort
Prairie Hills Resort
#14 of 112 in Pak Chong
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Khao Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Khao Yai

Address: 99 Moo 11 | Wangkatha subdistrict, Pak Chong 30130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Nakhon Ratchasima Province > Pak Chong District > Pak Chong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pak Chong
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pak Chong
Price Range: £154 - £604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sala Khao Yai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate embrace all your own consisting of only 7 special, private rooms and pool villa accommodation, sala khaoyai resort is dramatically perched on a scenic hilltop above the lush, green khao yai countryside. our boutique resort in khao yai features the enchanting sala hilltop restaurant and bar with panoramic 360 degree views of the surrounding area. next to the restaurant is a stunning infinity edge swimming pool with spectacular elevated views of romantic khao yai sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sala Khao Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Khaoyai Hotel Pak Chong
Sala Khao Yai Thailand/Pak Chong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing