We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair, but little beyond the room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Saranya Khao Yai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Saranya Khao Yai
Ranked #21 of 59 Pak Chong B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fair, but little beyond the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Room small but adequate - first one smelled of smoke and we moved. Not quiet, and the chalets are very close together. The "garden" is feeble and you won't want to sepdn time outside. Can't comment on breakfast, as we left at 0545 each day for the National Park! Close to some decent places to eat. Shower very poor!

Room Tip: As far from the road as possible! C1-C3 were OK, but avoid those closer to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonWoolley99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

In hindsight we think it was probably a set up by the owners. Everyone staying tends to be going into Khao Yai NP, and they offer a 1.5 day tour which is standard for most travellers, unless you opt for more. It turns out they don't run the tours themselves, but are ran by Greenleaf guesthouse- everyone else on the tour raved about Greenleaf! And the Greenleaf guides were excellent. I can't comment myself on Greenleaf but I would rather have been there for sure.

Most guests arrive in time for the half day tour on day 1, which starts at 3pm. They told us to pay at the end of the 2nd day when we were dropped back at the hotel, and told us where the cashpoint was. When we got back at 8pm after the tour, the restaurant was shut, so we had no way of eating- not good. We ended up walking up the street to try and find a restaurant- there are none- so had some crisps etc from a 7/11. The two sisters from reception gave us some sticky rice and cutlery/bowls as I think they felt sorry for us. The only English speaker in the place was their brother who frequently goes to Bangkok on business. The next day we went on the tour no problem. In hindsight, the staff knew what time we left and that we wouldn't be back until 5pm at the earliest. We took the money with us for the tour and gave it to the guide at the end of the tour. We hid small amounts of money in various pockets of clothes, all packed inside our rucksacks in the room as there was no safe. On returning to our room, it was difficult to spot but money was missing. All the clothes had been taken out of the bags, searched thoroughly and repacked carefully. Money was missing, however they left some of the money in each area it was left- hoping we wouldn't spot that it was gone until we were long gone. The main give away was that US dollars were missing, we each had $35 for a Lao visa, and they took each person's $20 note, leaving the $15. Similarly they took some Thai Bhat but not all. We reported this to the reception staff, speaking to the English speaking brother on the phone. He apologised, saying it had never ever happened before and immediately said he would reimburse us. Very rare for Thailand, most places would shrug their shoulders. He said it must have been the cleaners, however about half an hour later we spoke to him again, and told us the cleaners said they hadn't done it (obviously!) Because the cleaners didn't own up, he now said he would call the police (previously he said this wasn't necessary as he'd sort it out with his cleaners) and they arrived later. About 4 policemen and 6 hotel staff (more appeared from the family house) all spoke in Thai for about 20minutes in the dark, we had no idea what was happening and thought the offer of reimbursement might be withdrawn. Eventually they gave us 5000 Bhat which was the equivalent of the Bhat/Dollars which were taken, I had to have a photograph taken with the elderly owner handing me the money for evidence. It was too late to leave and we left the next morning ASAP.

On reflection over the next few days, the hotel staff were probably in on it. Possibly the cleaners/police were too- it's very rare to be offered reimbursement in Thailand, customer service and accountability does not exist in the same way it does in the UK. Our suspicions were that they knew we'd be out all day, and had told us to pay at the end of the 2nd day. They had plenty of time to carefully search every nook and cranny of our room and neatly re-pack everything. We think that they hoped most guests wouldn't notice due to not all notes being taken, and when some do notice they quickly quieten you by offering to reimburse you.

Of course we could be completely wrong. However even if this hadn't happened, the hotel offered no food in the restaurant (we had to request breakfast on the 2nd morning) and the tour was actually run by another guesthouse- stay there and avoid any potential disasters like this!

Ignoring all of the above, the rooms themselves were basic and overpriced comapred to similar standard elsewhere in Thailand. They wanted an extra 300 bhat each for transfers to and from Pak Chong. Other guesthouses were also closer to the NP, this one was far out on the access road nearer Pak Chong.

Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aey S, Owner at Baan Saranya Khao Yai, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Traveller,
I'd like to inform that according to the review that they have mentioned that they were robbed money equivalent to 5000THB during their stay at my resort  in Kaoyai. Basically, all traveller must understand that all their belongings is under their full responsibility in order to keep it in the safe place especially for money and there is no such guarantee in any places in the world even in 5 stars hotel that it won't be lost and robbed. In this case, I decided to take my full responsibility and generosity to compensate by cash equivalent to 6000THB because they told me that they were robbed and their money 50 dollars and 4500THB were missing their wallet which they left in the room, no such thing that they mentioned their luggages were searched. I took this responsibility because it occurred in my place where police's stated I did not have to pay them because we did not have any invidience hoe it happened. The point is they didn't mention what they got or how much more they requested for such as free stay or free transit by private minivan to their next destination which costs 4500THB though they had already got 6000THB in their pocket. We do not mind for the money but we do care about their negative expressions where some of those are not true and misleading and insult our kindness by thinking and mentioning that was probably a "set up" by the owners. By all means I take this as the libel that is why I have to response to this.
We are appreciated to any reviews for any problems in our place so we can improve our place and solve all those problems.
Best regards,
Supakarn S.
Owner of Baan Saranya resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pak Chong hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stay at Baan Saranya twice now & will continue to stay here as the accommodation is cheap 700 - 1000 baht & it has everything you need. Always use this accommodation for golf trips with friends & our partners. You will need your own vehicle as everything in the area is quiet spread apart. I do not understand why people have issues with the accommodation missing basic amenities, you are paying 700 baht a night what do you expect silver service??
Very nice family run resort who will leave you alone & not bother you on your stay. Helps if you speak Thai as not all staff can speak English & the TV channels are only in Thai.

Pros:
Cheap & cheerful
Clean
Good Location (must have a vehicle)
Will allow pets

Cons:
Hard bed, usual Thai style (mattresses last longer this way)
Limited English from staff so some travellers may have issues

Will stay here again on our weekend trip to Khao Yai.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayLeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

If you've got your own car: fine. If not: you're far away from pak chong & too far from the NP.
Rooms are basic, clean. Seating is outside on the small porch. Shower was a slight drizzle, but bearable. Seems there were mostly thai families with their own car staying here during the two nights we stayed here.
No internet.
Go across the street to the restaurant for food. Food is excellent &the people are really nice, but speak almost no English and don't have an English-language menu.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

The bungalows are rather comfy, but common amenities missing such as shampoo.

On the second day of a four-day stay, the room was not serviced. So, we were left with dirty towels, full garbage cans, unmade bed, no drinking water, etc.

The management allowed bikers to roar into the resort in the middle of the night (3 a.m.-4 a.m.) unchecked. The bikers then revved their motors up right next to sleeping families in nearby bungalows for nearly 45 minutes. The management should have put a stop to that sort of unsocial behavior.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prof587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I've rated this property as average, but in reality it's a bit below that. The staff (owners) were helpful, the exteriors of the bungalows are attractive, and the location is convenient to the Park and local attractions. The price was only THB 1000/night (USD 33) and they accept dogs.

The interior however, was furnished with a bed, TV and stand, and refrigerator. There's a basic bathroom with hot water for the shower. That's it! No chairs or tables. No place to sit except on the bed - which had a hard, uncomfortable mattress.

If you're spending all your time away from the bungalow, it's fine, unless you have trouble sleeping on a rock-hard bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khon Kaen, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This place was amazing! It was family owned, low key and really beautiful! We booked it last minute and the hosts were so helpful and understanding. The lodges were simple and nice. We stayed in a bungalow and it had comfortable beds, a TV, a fridge and a nice shower. We did the trek which was provided through the lodge and it was really wonderful, and cheaper than most other treks. The food was cooked by the host and it was really delicious. We were driven to the bus station by the owner, which was included. It was a great visit and I hope to return some day!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pak Chong
0.2 mi away
The Vintage Hotel Khao Yai
The Vintage Hotel Khao Yai
#2 of 6 in Khao Yai National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rim Tarn Inn
Rim Tarn Inn
#13 of 40 in Pak Chong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lala Mukha Tented Resort Khao Yai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ban Suan Rim Nam Hotel Resort
Ban Suan Rim Nam Hotel Resort
#18 of 59 in Pak Chong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
4.3 mi away
Eco Valley Lodge Khao Yai
Eco Valley Lodge Khao Yai
#13 of 59 in Pak Chong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
58.1 mi away
PhuWanalee Resort
PhuWanalee Resort
#15 of 59 in Pak Chong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Saranya Khao Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Saranya Khao Yai

Property: Baan Saranya Khao Yai
Address: 298 M.2 Thanarad rd. KM. 13.5, Moosi, Pakchong, Pak Chong 30130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nakhon Ratchasima Province > Pak Chong District > Pak Chong
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Pak Chong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Baan Saranya Khao Yai Thailand/Pak Chong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing