We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value on the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samed Villa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samed Villa Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best value on the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Samed Villa is such a great value. We have stayed there several times and the rooms are always well kept and the free breakfast is always enjoyable to say the least. The best part for us is that it is located at the corner of the beach so you get less noise at night and is easy to find if your walking back late at night. Most recently we booked three rooms and used their van service from Bangkok. The driver took great care of my out of town family and I wouldn't think of booking another hotel next time I am there. There are nicer hotels on the island, there are cheaper hotels on the island, but you will not find a better value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yourauntbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    239
    73
    18
    9
See reviews for
173
232
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Vy nice location and value.. Im walk in and have a special discount for a nice beautiful quite corner room. Breakfast was good. Staff are vy courteous and helpful.. Just have one minus thing tats it coffee served during breakfast time was not hot enough... Nid to improved!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttaradit City, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Loved this place and most of what it offered... clean rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, housekeeping can be improved.. excellent breakfast and good dinner menu.. its a real getaway from everything ... I did not even hear the noise from the club that some of the guests have been complaining about ...it was a good vacation ...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sizwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to Koh Samed and decided to stay at Samed Villa having rests countless reviews on Trip Advisor. I was travelling with my fiancé. This looked like the best place to stay. We Were picked up from Don Mueang, having travelled down from Chiang Mai that day, and taken to the coast in an a/c car. We then had a private speed boat take us to the east coast of Koh Samed, which was only then a 2 minute walk to the hotel. This travel option was quite pricey, at about £80, but it was a lot simpler and took a lot of hassle out of finding buses/ferries etc. We decided to stay in a superior bungalow with sea view. It was definitely a sea view and could also see some of the gardens too. Each bungalow is accessible from a path that winds through the resort, which is kept clean.

The room included buffet breakfast (inc. continental and cooked options), I'd recommend requesting your fried eggs over-easy though as sunny side up are never cooked adequately. The restaurant is open all day for lunch/drinks/dinner, and quite a reasonable price. We also had a/c, a fridge (inc. 2 bottles of water daily), beach towels, daily room service, tv, wifi (which was sometimes not accessible for our room and had to access wifi in the restaurant/beach area), hot/cold shower. The room was very clean and decorated very nicely.

We were a 1 minute walk from the beach and numerous sun loungers were available for use. There was a small swimming area roped off in the sea, as there are a lot of speed boats opporating nearby, but this roped off area seemed big enough at the time. There is a much quieter beach about a 5 minute walk south, which we discovered on day 2.

Downsides to this hotel was the noise from another hotel/club at night. Whether we were in a bad position to hear this noise, but loud music could be heard every night from between 23:00-03:00. I did read this on a previous review and thought nothing of it, but it was pretty loud. Would I visit again? I'd give somewhere else a go first, the beach in this area was very busy with vendors, tourists, and entertainers.

All staff were very friendly and couldn't thank them enough for our stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We've stayed on Koh Samet a few times in the last couple of years and this is our favourite resort so far. Clean and tidy, with good size rooms (tv, fridge, balcony) and friendly staff; we really enjoyed it. The location next to the beach is great too. Although the beach in front of the resort is smaller than the ones either side, it does have a marked-off swimming area, which the speedboats dropping people off don't come into to. A couple of minutes walk either way along the beach takes you to other beaches which are also very nice.

The breakfast at Samed Villa was good (included with the room), with a hot and cold buffet. We found the dining room wasn't busy at all in the mornings. The staff working on the beach were friendly and helpful, always happy to move the loungers or put more umbrellas in for shade. Bath and beach towels were provided, which is really useful. When we booked the rooms, we asked them to organise a speedboat to pick us up from Ban Phe (1,800thb) which made getting there easier and quicker than using the public ferry.

All in all, we'd highly recommend this resort. We stayed there with family, including teenagers, and it was perfect. There's plenty of places to eat/drink nearby, and even more if you're happy to walk for 5 or 10 minutes. A great place to enjoy beautiful Koh Samet!

Room Tip: Lotus Spa (onsite) does very good massages - much better than those offered on the beach, and around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunley-Griffin-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed at Samed Villa for the 2nd time. (Last visit 2 1/2 years ago). It is much improved. There is a new lobby and restaurant. The room was clean and well-maintained. Aside from some noise at a new bar next to the resort, it was very quiet and sleep was good. The daily breakfast was decent and other food from the restaurant was good as well. I tried the Lotus Spa and was quite pleased with the massage.

The one thing I was disappointed with was the beach. While clean, it's small, felt crowded and the swimming area isn't great due to a reef / rocks close to shore. I walked over to the beach at Tubtim each day. Better sand, and virtually empty.

Overall it was a nice stay and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: request a room / villa near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfmattyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We visited Samed Villa two times last year. The first time we went as a family with two kids (in July). The second time it was just me and my husband (in November).
We stayed in 3 different kind of rooms during these stays. The family room with 4 beds in one room was the one we liked the least. The beds were harder than the one in the bungalows even though we where told that it was the same facilities. The bungalows with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths was the best. It was more expensive, but absolutely worth it.
The food at the restaurant is great! In the evening they turn the beach into a restaurant, and it is just wonderful to sit here and have a romantic dinner! The disadvantage is that the beach is turned into a restaurant quite early, so you have to move your sun bed almost into the sea in the afternoon. The beach is small, but nice, except the stream running through (from the jungle). This one smells a bit, so don´t put your sun bed too close. The sun beds and towels are complementary for the guests, and the quality of the beds are quite good.
The people working at the hotel is very helpful, especially the people in the restaurant and at the beach, but I found it quite strange that no one at the hotel seemed to recognize that we had visited the place just a few months earlier when we came back in November. The local masseuses smiled and said "Welcome back!", but not the staff. When we tried to book a room again for the summer in February we were told that we couldn't book a room until March. We then decided to go somewhere else. Why not put a bit more effort into keeping me as a regular guest?

Room Tip: The bungalows with garden or sea view is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoppetussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.8 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Villa Resort

Property: Samed Villa Resort
Address: 89 Moo 4 | Ban Phe Muang, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The affordable escape in a lush tropical garden facing the sea on Koh Samed, Thailand" Samed Villa Resort offers an ambiance of simple well-designed rooms in a pristine natural garden setting right on the beach and belongs now to the best accommodations on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Samed Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samed Villa Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing