We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£132
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
AmyandMatt_9
Bristol, United Kingdom

Nice, peaceful place to stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Mar 2012
Firstly, DO NOT book this (or any) hotel through Roomsellers.com. We arrived after long coach/ferry/taxi journey from Bangkok and were told by the hotel staff that they had no record of our booking and had not received the money we had paid to Roomsellers months earlier. The hotel staff were initially not very helpful, but eventually we managed to arrange a room for three of the five nights we had booked which we had to pay for again up front - can't really blame the hotel for this. They said they'd had lots of problems with Roomsellers, and that they didn't believe that Roomsellers would transfer our money to them. Roomsellers did refund us about two weeks later, but only after we threatened the involvement of local police.

Anyway, turning to the villas...We stayed in a deluxe villa, which was quite new. The villa was clean, and nicely decorated, and the bathroom was okay. Facilities in the villa were quite basic, there was nowhere to put our clothes for example, but it had a fridge and air-conditioning. The thing I really liked was that our villa was 2 mins from the beach front, we could move between the two as we fancied, and without any effort - ideal for a relaxing holiday.

The grounds of the hotel were very pretty, and peaceful, and the location of the restaurant overlooking the sea was great. We ate breakfast there one morning, and dinner one evening. Breakfast was quite limited, and the food in the evening was good but not the best we had on Vongdeurn beach. If you don't fancy cooked breakfast everyday, but would rather have toast and fruit, don't pay for breakfast in advance with your booking, it's cheaper just to buy each day. Also, there's much more breakfast and dinner choice if you take a stroll down the beach. We ate quite a few meals at the 'Nice & Easy' restaurant on the beach, and the food was very tasty, especially the red curry. I'd also recommend the iced mocha and free wi-fi at the cafe attached (I think) to the Vongdeurn Resort Hotel.

Overall, I'd say the villa was good value for money, and had lots of plus points. I would go back, but I'd definitely book directly with the hotel!
Date of stay: February 2012
Room Tip: The deluxe villas are a bit more expensive, but probably worth it.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£109
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £109
0.2 miles from The C Samet Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£112
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £112
0.9 miles from The C Samet Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£113
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £113
1.5 miles from The C Samet Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
£106
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £106
1.1 miles from The C Samet Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
£73
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from The C Samet Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£56
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £56
  • Priceline
5.2 miles from The C Samet Beach Resort
Miss Hong in front of Miss Hong House :)
Tripadvisor
£31
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    £31
1.6 miles from The C Samet Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £224
  • Vio.com
1.1 miles from The C Samet Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £81
  • Expedia.com
    £98
0.3 miles from The C Samet Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast spot
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £33
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from The C Samet Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ko Samet
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
51
81
36
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
81
36
26
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just been back to this resort with my daughter and her family and had a great time. This end of the bay is such a contrast to the noisy and much more crowded places further along. Our rooms were fine, nothing luxurious but clean and properly serviced by the housekeeping staff. Food in the very attractive restaurant on the rocks is good and moderately priced - the exception to this is breakfast which is fairly basic and with limited choice. There is a little cabin just behind the beach which serves delicious juices and coffee and cheerful vendors walk up and down the beach selling snacks for lunch and fruit, but they are not intrusive and do not hassle you to buy. The beach is perfect for children, being soft sand and gently sloping and the water is generally warm. Three or four masseuses are in attendance for those who wish to have a good Thai massage (or have their nails done). My only caveat, as last year, is that, if you want a bit of comfort, you need to be sure to get one of the updated/refurbished rooms.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnEdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I have been visiting Vong duern for nearly 20 years and lucky enough to visit 6 times a year. I have seen many changes, (most for the better) as the building of new bungalows blend in beautifully with the flaura and fauna. Luckily the resort still retains so much charm, it is my little bit of heaven on earth. Accomodation is basic, but who cares! when you have the most amazing beach, sea, resaurants and most of all, the Thai people, who I am lucky enough to call my friends and family. White soft sand, clear blue sea and really good food( especially on the rocks) served by the most friendly, genuine hard working people. One bit of advise - If you like a soft bed you will be disappointed, so have a Thai massage on the beach to loosen your muscles. Any stress you may have will disaapear immediately you step onto the beach. PLEASE do not leave litter or bottles on the beach though. Don't spoil my little bit of heaven

Room tip: Check the mattress as they can be extremely firm (Hard)
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HezNewcastleuponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Have been to Vongduern Villa many times over the years and was a little worried this time by some of the reviews here. However, although some of the rooms are in the process of being upgraded those that have already been done are great. At the best end of the beach - beautiful, quiet and peaceful - and with friendly staff and great food in the evenings it's for me the best value for money by far on the beach. Yes - there are more secluded and fancier places but if you're looking for a great place with a family you can't go too far wrong here. Rooms 207 and 208 are great by the way, with connecting doors making it great for a family.

Room tip: 207 and 208 are great - good value (for this beach), newly done up and great little location
Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Well, I am really not able to believe some of the previous reviews, as I found this place a very good, nice, tidy and peaceful one. You can see the actual photos of my villa and other parts of property.

The property is at the southern end of the beach Wong Duarn and is away from the daily hustle and bustle of beach. My villa was clean and tidy with AC, TV and hot water and balcony. There is a restaurant just on the beach. Staff is very good.

This beach is best for relaxation, but if you want a happening place with pubs and other activities, this beach is not for you and you should book on Haad Saikaew. One more thing....if you are returning back from northern part of island to the hotel in night, please keep a torch with you as after Ao tubtim, you may not find street lights. Also beware of street dogs which are plenty in Koh Samet.

It is better to go to Koh Samet on a weekday as on weekends there is rush of residents Bangkok and nearby place.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImDrMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We departed from BKK to spend a night in Samet. Thank god it was only for a night. My friend was in-charge of this trip.....so naturally he chose this place since the pictures on the site looks inviting, with a great view.

We book the family room as we had five of us. The moment we stepped into the villa, our jaws dropped.... the rooms was in a state of disrepair. The toilet door was kinda faulty and the table cabinet and table seems as though they would self-destruct any moment. There were unknown stains on the bed sheets and the room just seems filthy at every corner. What was disturbing was the mosquitoes seem to be buzzing around in the room, ALL THE TIME. We had to take turns to swat those pesky mozzies!

Definitely not returning to this villa again. We found another villa right at the end of the beach that seems to be the total opposite of this. Would probably book that when I'm back at Samet!

Room tip: Don't book this
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YunliT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews