We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice little resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samed Cabana Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice little resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I enjoyed my time in this resort - simple but nice. I stayed in a beachfront room with wonderful sea view. Quiet little island, where you can really relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: Beachfront room is really worth the extra $10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    145
    67
    31
    24
See reviews for
76
120
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I went to Koh Samet for 5 nights over Easter break, we took a speedboat over from the mainland pier (3,000 Baht for two, return, which is worth it as the cheap boat takes forever and is really crowded) which dropped us of in front of the resort on the beach, there were guys from the resort to help us with luggage etc,... check in was quick and we were taken to our room which was upstairs in the back by the pool. The room was fine, yes concrete floors but it keeps the room cool. The safe did not work, the TV did not have English channels and the aircon was really loud at night. Overall the room was nothing special but comfortable. Yes there are geckos ( lizards) everywhere in Thailand and if you don't like them, don't come, they make their way into any place they want to go regardless of screens. The main attraction of this hotel is the location; the beach in front is nice and (sometimes) clean and good swimming. The staff keeps the premises pretty clean but on the whole, the island had trash and plastic everywhere. It's such a shame to see. There is a small convenience store next to the resort which is pretty expensive but nice to have when you want water etc. you are better off going into the main town and going to 7-11 and stocking up on drinks as there is a fridge in the room that keeps things nice and cool. The food at the resort was very good and you will be hard pressed to find better along the beach, Thai food dominates all menus on the island and there is little else but hey, you are in Thailand. The breakfast included was adequate but the FLIES were unbearable and nothing seemed to be done about it. I have to say the reception was not helpful when we asked if they could call the speedboat service to confirm our pickup... in fact quite rude we ended up calling ourselves on our cell. The free WiFi in the main building worked well. I suspect this place is hit or miss but to be honest, even with the problems, I'd go back, but this time with fly spray in hand!!

Room Tip: If you get a beachside bungalow ask for one on the north side of the beach, quieter and more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stonelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Samed Cabana is a beautiful property nestled on one of the many islands that form a part of Koh Samed .
We stayed at the beachfront cottage and the door opened straight into the beach.... just 15 feet away. The staff was friendly and approachable.The rates were 'decent'... food was good and not very expensive.
The one negative, however, was the humongous numbers of flies at the restaurant especially during break fast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thampypg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stopped at Samed Cabana for 3 nights in April at the end of a tour. The location is good, being on one of the more popular beaches, but not too busy. The swimming pool was right outside the front door, with the beach being ~10m away. So the children had easy access to both and took full advantage of them. The rooms were a little spartan (no safe, hard floors, ...) but they must receive a lot of wear (sandy/wet kids) and were perfectly acceptable. The restaurant/breakfast were generally good, although one night the kids were both sick after eating fish. Free wifi is available in the restaurant and the people didn't bother you too much when you just wanted to sit there for 1/2 hr without buying anything. They discourage you using wifi in the restaurant in the morning, due to the turnover (although they did allow me when it wasn't too busy). We used the information desk to hire a speed boat for 3hrs around the island and the kids had a really good time.

There are flies/mossies, you just have to work around them. It would have been good to have at least one English speaking channel on TV (there is French and German).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinqbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Whoever select Koh Samet knows that island and beach are both great here. But what ticks for Samed Cabana is service they offer. We stayed at this relatively small resort this March and came back thoroughly refreshed and delighted.
As with Island resort, this one is bang on the beach. Beach is cleaner than other places, water very calm and bluish- you can see bottom upto considerable distance from shore- adds to the charm. Though temperature is rising now, we were fortunate that almost all the days it was cloudy and we could enjoy beach the most. You have good choice of water sports on the beach, with usual float hiring, snorkel hire etc services at the same place. 2-3 mini marts are there for your one-off requirements. There is a small police station at hand in case you ever need it.

Coming to resort facilities: We got a pool room, as beach front cabins were not available. As per manager, these rooms are within a newer wing, so more "modern". Rooms are clean and of decent size- not very big- but enough. A/c works fine, tea-coffe maker and safe also available. Bathrooms are smaller and water pressure low. Restaurant on beach offers very good food and ambiance. For some who are more inclined to swimming pool, it has decent size pool- we used only on last day when temperature was highest. What clinch deal for this resort is their staff. We had opted for room and b/f with dinner. We all were vegetarians and informed the resort beforehand. To our surprise, they noted and first day tried to prepare thai-indian dinner, with all great choices. However we liked their Thai food better and all three days enjoyed great food. Breakfast was standard but had enough spread for us. I also saw good amount of other varieties as well. We also had lunch once, and enjoyed the same. We were very impressed by service level, especially Kh. Chung was really helpful. Though English speaking is not very much with all staff, they tried to help us calling few staff members who understand English. I really believe that the staff deserves a 5* rating.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed this vacation, and will return surely.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are equally good (or better) compared to beach side rooms. Try to get rooms on ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KDMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was a relaxing and relatively quiet place to stay on Ko Samet. It is not on the busiest beach, which is a major plus for me, but there are plenty of nearby restaurant choices. The sea here is very calm and the water clean. The rooms are comfortable with good air conditioning. I could always find a lounge chair to sit on at the beach, in the shade of a lovely tree or in the sun. The beach was more crowded in different spots, but very nice here. The beach front cabins have great views and each has it's own little porch. The staff were friendly and the restaurant quite good. A large group arrived one night and the staff warned us ahead of time that their restaurant wouldn't be serving that night. The karaoke was very loud for their party but it finished right at 10:00 as promised.

Room Tip: beach front rooms 7 to 12 are the best if you want right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJVBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikbolandet
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

If it wasn't for the location Samed Cabana Resort would be... Let's say not our choice.

We stayed in a beach front bungalow, the bungalow (#12) was not in a poor state but it is definitively not luxurious. Rock hard bed.

But! The location is great! Right on the beach with a wonderful view to wake up to!

Just fall out of your bed and into the warm ocean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unicornone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.3 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Cabana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Cabana Resort

Property: Samed Cabana Resort
Address: 13/20 Moo.4 Tambol Pae | Vong Duean Beach, Ko Samet, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samed Cabana Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samed Cabana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samed Cabana Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing