We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice holiday beach resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samed Cabana Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Koh Samed is always our favourite short holiday break as it is not too far from Bangkok. Most of the time we stayed at Wongduan Resort but this time we decided to stay at Samed Cabana Resort and it turned out to be a very nice stay. The room is clean. The bed is comfy. The breakfast was simple but good with a good selection of food to choose from. Decent coffee. The staff are friendly. The only problem we had with the hotel was our laundy has not been cleaned on the day we check out. Overall, it is a very nice resort and we will stay here again when we go back to koh Samed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank janies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were a group of college students who traveled here in January, and overall it was a nice stay, but the staff weren't particularly friendly, and since there was only one receptionist, it took about 3 hours for us just to check in. Being that we're college students, we also found the rooms to be a little overpriced--more simple than what it was worth. However, location was pretty good, being that it was right on the beach, and you could easily reach nearby restaurants, bars, and mini-marts. But the service at their own bar wasn't too great. I asked for a drink several times and never got it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank First_Finest_Forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My family and I continue to come back to this resort for log weekends and relaxing midweek breaks. The reviews here about the resort being tired and in need to repair and indeed very correct. However there is something about the small basic villas that are cool to be honest. The beach here is fantastic. Checked in Tuesday and out on Thursday. Breakfast is always poor, but I do not know why but it never bothers us. I don't agree with bad service from staff, they are always friendly to us, and from what I have seen, are this way with other guests also.

Was told by the GM that they are upgrading the bungalows, and making them more luxurious, which will be of great benefit for guests staying for more than a few days, honestly improving them will not make much difference to my family, as in advance we are going for the beach, the warm seas and amazing sunsets.

The food on the island in general is pretty good, some restaurants better than others.

Highly recommend for everyone. Koh Samet is a great place to be

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzyp43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We've always loved Koh Samet for the clear waters and beautiful sand. Samed Cabana Resort offers both direct beach access and a nice plunge pool which stayed warm well into late night - a most enjoyable night swim to gaze at the stars after a post-dinner stroll on the beach.

Poolside rooms were recently renovated with adequate facilities and amenities. We’d also enjoyed lunch and dinner there – the dishes were simple but delicious. Breakfast was sufficient.

Our only issue was with getting to and from the island.

The public ferry required a last stretch transfer via basic wooden boats to shore, where passengers are packed in, holding dearly onto their belongings. We’d opted for the speedboat service from Bang Phe Pier due to its more flexible schedules, for THB350 per person. The pier at Bang Phe was extremely basic, requiring some risky, and rather wobbly, maneuvers over wooden planks perched over unsecured surfaces. There were no life jackets provided, or in sight, for the trip to and from the islands. On reaching the beach closest to their resorts, passengers were asked to disembark right into and wade through thigh-high waters to shore, with all their belongings. On our return journey, the speedboat we were in took a few more than 35 people. Despite an indication of maximum capacity of 35 for the speedboat, it would have been difficult to seat more than 20 average-sized adults on the boat. Quite a few people had to stand, or sit on the steps, throughout the bumpy ride back to the mainland.

While this is in no direct relation to Samed Cabana Resort, it would help if the hotel, along with other resorts on Koh Samet, could find a safer solution for their guests to get to and from the resort. I’d think twice before booking my next beach holiday and probably head somewhere else a bit easier and safer to get to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globetrotter526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is good by beach bungalow standard so do not expect a big brand western hotel .
Great location , friendly relaxed atmosphere. Great seafood restaurants on the beach . Local c-store next door . Fire jugglers were incredible . Speed boat takes you straight to beach in front of hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I reached the hotel around 11.00 am. Employees do not smile. I asked if it was about a few here. I do not feel satisfied, and confer no good. Asking that because I saw it available. I booked a Beach front, but no guests at all time 1 pm. Walk asked again and he said there were already booked to come. We also have another book like it was a walk-in guest room, he sent it to. And what is worse, we are booking up, but we did not stay until almost 2pm feel to the hotel. If others see it, we still worse.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sookalaya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Samed Cabana is located at Vongduean Beach, which is not the most popular beach but with more then a few resorts. You arrive here directly via Ferry, which is offered by Malibu or Vongduean Villa and Resorts. Both Ferries cost about THB 80 per one way. Do not book via any travel agent as well not through Malibu Travel. They will charge you almost twice the amount.
The ferry take about 30-45 minutes from the ferry pier to the island. You will need to change onto a smaller boat to go to the beach as there is no pier. The staff will assist you with any luggage you have. Therefore I would not worry about how to get there.
The Samed Cabana is located at one end of the beach. They have bungalows with sea view as well as second row bungalows. We booked one in the second row. As they have only 2 ferries a day we decided to catch the 9:30 ferry. We where aware that our room might not be ready. The staff greeted us friendly and we have been able to check-in a bit earlier at 12pm instead of 2pm. We just went to a late breakfast/early lunch at Vongduean Villa at the opposite end of the beach.
At 12pm we have been able to check in. The room is quite nice. A bit older but still in good condition. The fridge working and not to noisy. The safe is secured to the floor, which makes it a bite harder to reach as it is inconvenient to knee down to get access to it. The bathroom is nice.Not too small not to big. the right size for only one person. The bathroom has open windows, which cannot be closed. This is not an issue, as they have nets to prevent mosquitos coming inside and due to its Thailand it will never be cold too. We had an issue with the bathroom door lock as it was locking by itself and we have not been bale to open it anymore. The handyman cam a few minutes after we let them know of the issues. They fixed it immediately and for the remainder of our time we had no issues with it. We had warm water, even though it was not needed. There is no wi-fi in the rooms but in the common area/restaurant. The restaurant is overlooking the beach and is quite nice. The breakfast is basic but good. They changed some of the menu item on a daily basis so that we had every day something new. Do not expect anything fancy but it is still a good breakfast. They even have a fresh egg station but you need to keep in mind that the chef might not be around as she has something to do in the back. Not sure what. We had as well lunch there. The thai food was quite good and the fish fresh. Not sure about the western menu. They offer as well bbq dinner but the service was non existent and we therefore decided to eat somewhere else. If the manager is not around it might get tricky to receive good service but I am not too sure about that. They have as well a pool, which is quiet and relaxing if you like to have clear clean water to swim. We used it once but I preferred the salt water. About 150meters from the resort is a small convenient store with the absolute basic necessities. Drinks, Snacks, Suncreme, bathing stuff. No food items though.
Overall for a weekend or long weekend it is great. Not sure if I would like to stay there for over a week.
Be mindful though that most people do not speak a lot of english and their Thai might as well not be that good. Most of the employees in the hospitality industry are from Cambodia or Myanmar. The managers and desk personell speak english quite well and during the day time they are always around.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobiasML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.3 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
729 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.9 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Samed Grand View Resort
Samed Grand View Resort
#11 of 20 in Ko Samet
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Cabana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Cabana Resort

Address: 13/20 Moo.4 Tambol Pae | Vong Duean Beach, Ko Samet, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range: £44 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samed Cabana Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samed Cabana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samed Cabana Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing