We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
april74CM
Chiang Mai, Thailand

Beautiful place!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2011
We were 2 families staying in Jomtien beach and came over to Samet for the night. We booked the 2 beachfront cottages here which were absolutley perfect! It is definitely the best for the money on Samet. We travelled the 15 mins or so over the bumpy roads to the Eastern side but they were simply not as nice. The beaches were bigger on the eastern side of the island but much rougher water which wasnt as good for us with small children. Not sure about how noisy the nightlife was over the eastern side but we wanted to avoid that anyway again because of the children, but I heard it can get a little crazy.
Samet reminds me of Samui or Koh tao back in the nineties, still very basic.
The resort was great, amazing food and cocktails as good as any 5 star hotel. The staff were excellent. The female manager ( who seemed to be there day & night!) was extremely helpful with everything.
It was so good we decided to stay another night - but unfortunately the whole resort was booked out, but the manager got us booked in at another hotel just 5 minutes away - an amazing place out on stilts over the water (cant remember the name) for nearly half the price - which was also totally amazing.
Highly recommend staying here, really nice place.
Date of stay: July 2011
Room Tip: If you can stretch to the beachfront cottage - do it!
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£96
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £91
  • Expedia.com
    £101
0.6 miles from Aqua Beads Samed
Free Wifi
Pool
£135
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £122
  • Expedia.com
    £159
0.7 miles from Aqua Beads Samed
Beachfront
Restaurant
£38
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £42
  • Vio.com
1.1 miles from Aqua Beads Samed
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Breakfast spot
£23
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £19
  • Vio.com
0.7 miles from Aqua Beads Samed
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£36
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    £30
  • Trip.com
  • Hotels.com
    £35
0.3 miles from Aqua Beads Samed
Free Wifi
Free parking
£35
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £30
  • Trip.com
0.1 miles from Aqua Beads Samed
Free Wifi
Free parking
£93
  • Hotels.com
    £84
  • Tripadvisor
    £84
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Aqua Beads Samed
Free Wifi
Pool
£54
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £47
  • Hotels.com
    £62
1.6 miles from Aqua Beads Samed
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    £40
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
1.1 miles from Aqua Beads Samed
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £35
  • Expedia.com
    £38
1.3 miles from Aqua Beads Samed
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ko Samet
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
42
76
43
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
42
76
43
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews samed club pool area is scooter resort beach tide sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Spent 3 weeks travelling Vietnam ,Cambodia & Thailand, then spent a week here to relax..The restaurant was the most expensive of all the countries we were in.Would not mind if the quality and standard of food was good.Dined there the first night, the food was cold and the quality poor.. Breakfast was a hit and miss affair, one day cold,ok the next.Restaurants in the village much more authentic and cheaper.Someplaces half the price.Only good thing was its location to the beach.Really ripping off tourists.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nollaigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Restaurant and room is nice and worth.
Beach is nice but has too many bloody sucker bugs. I couldn't even sit more than 5 mins. I have 10 huge spots back home. It is not mosq but blood sucker bug.
Pool is nice to sit around but not for swim, too dirty to swim.

Service is almost good. Just miscommunication between front and guard that made trouble to me. Front said I can park in front of hotel but guard said no. I told them to talk and let me know if I need to move it. In the morning, my bike is moved without notification.

Date of stay: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polpipath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights and we often felt like we had stepped out of reality into a magazine photo shoot for a tropical island paradise! we were greeted on our arrival with a cool and refreshing fruit drink and within moments were in bungalow #201, very close to the beach. our teenage children were in a nearby bungalow, not next door as we requested, which we were initially were upset about, but as time wore on, we realized we were very safe there and there was nothing to worry about!

the bungalows were so lovely. we had a king bed and our children had two twin beds. very confortable, and a large separate changing area with closet, mini bar and safe in the room. the bathroom fittings were very new and modern and the air conditioning units all new LG slim units. patios had nice wooden chairs and tables and drying racks. You get two free bottles of water a day.

the beach was incredible, on the small side, but deserted! we were the ONLY people on it! the water was so warm, it was so clean and well maintained, sweep and raked very morning. the lady manager was always asking us how everything was. we went on a day time snorkeling trip and no sooner had we got off the boat was she there asking after us. we also arranged for bicycle rental from the front desk for 24 hours (500baht each) and cycled everywhere, it was fabulous! saw so much of the island. i recommend going to see the BIG white buddha and visiting the monk there. i recommend this option, much safer than renting motorbikes!

the breakfast was fabulous at Samed Club. you help yourself to crossiant, toast, jam, cereal etc and order a la carte off a menu, as much as you want. (i have taken a picture of the menu in my photos) and everything is delicious. there are sauteed potatoes too, that are not on the menu. you sit there, on the beach, you can't believe where you are! heavenly! pool is lovely, no chlorine, fresh water system.

we had one dinner there and it was fabulous. quite expensive. for our other dinners, we either walked into town or rode our bikes. if you want drinks and snacks, instead of using the mini bar, walk out of the resort, turn right and walk 90 seconds down the road and buy stuff at the mini mart there, it is WAAAY cheaper!

i would definitely recommend staying at Samed Club again!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank default29012019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here for three nights before having to move for our last two nights to Mooban Talay, the next hotel up the coast, as Samed club was fully booked for Mother's Day.

The hotel provides a free shuttle boat from Seree Ban Phe and you pay 200 baht per person at the pier for your entry into the national park. We were greeted with genuine smiles and a nice cold drink on arrival and shown promptly to our room. The room was well presented and clean. However, western customs have infiltrated this non tipping culture and I was surprised when the porters actually hung back in anticipation of their tip (which I was more than happy to provide...but didn't anticipate that they were expecting them). The bathroom was perhaps a little disappointing for a hillside deluxe room as it was primarily made of concrete but this was really a very minor issue. The television provided an array of english speaking channels and there was a security box in the room for our convenience. The hotel (as many thai hotels do) provided two bottles of free drinking water each day.

Breakfast was virtually on the beach which was very pleasant each morning. There was a selection of continental breads and fruit and then you could choose what hot foods you fancied from a good menu selection.

We only ate once at the hotel for lunch. However, the food was fresh and tasted really good. I can recommend the duck and the chicken with cashew nuts. However, price wise we felt that the hotel was about 25% more expensive that other restaurants you could visit for similar food quality....and unfortunately it is clear that they are profiteering a little from the western clientel. Watch out for the 17% they add to your food bill as all prices are listed as net. All in all though the meal was still quite reasonable £20 for lunch and drinks for two.

The hotel is on the northern stretch of the island and I would recommend that you hire scooters to visit the island. However, beware the roads are very treacherous and you will not really manage to do more than 20 kmph, especially when navigating the roughest road that leads to the south of the island.

The beach at the hotel is fine but we preferred to venture out and visit as many as possible. For entertainment at night Sai Kaew Beach is always busy and with the best choice of restaurants. However, in the day, we preferred the more relaxed beaches of vonduearn, sangtian, ao prao and our favourite ao wai, which really was quite secluded and pristine.

We did have one item of clothing stolen from our balcony. However, it wasn't valuable. We reported it to reception and the Head of Housekeeping tried her best to help us but we never got the item back. We can't be sure whether it was staff or customers who took the item. So just be weary of leaving things on your balcony!!!!

We had a pleasant time here and would recommend it as a good choice for the £50 per night budget.

Room tip: agoda did the best rate here
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0amingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Location is too far away from Saikaew, the beach is bad, room build quality is awful (see the title), the pool is mediocre, the staff speak poor english but they try really hard and are friendly

Date of stay: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Poytatennaajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews