We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location; good rooms; nice setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samed Sand Sea Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Samet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Samed Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #40 of 55 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
193 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great location; good rooms; nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Have stayed at Samed Sand Sea many times over the past three years, and taken many family members and friends there. Everyone has liked the place.

It is located right in the centre of the main Sai Kaew Beach, and right where the road from the village comes out at the beach, so ideal for going into the village or visiting other places either end of the beach. The resort consists of a two storey wooden building containing individual rooms, plus another section along a tree-lined and shaded walk with individual bungalows.

Rooms are probably best described as basic, but quite utilitarian and all you want for a beach holiday unless you prefer the sterilized and often snooty luxury of more upmarket resorts. This place does not pretend to have that, but is more than comfortable and pleasant to stay in. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby.

Staff are efficient and friendly and the rooms and grounds are kept very clean.

The only real drawback to the place is their restaurant - an addition a few years back when they built the individual rooms section. We have only ever had breakfast there and frankly it was woeful. Break your fast *anywhere* else (Jep's Restaurant on the next beach serves excellent and substantial breakfasts - American, English, Continental, Mexican and German).

Good value for money. In the ratings section below, it does not have a pool or fitness centre.

Will always stay here when visiting Koh Samed.

Room Tip: Select the bungalow rooms in preference to the standard type rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryWhite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    17
    7
    7
    14
See reviews for
17
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kandahar, Afghanistan
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We left the day of the oil spill. It was OK. Right on the beach, friendly staff and the family was happy. So that made me happy. Plenty of places to eat and relax. It was my first time here, lots of mosquitoes in the evening. Rooms have a safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desertrat0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed at Samed Sand Sea for 1 night in family room (for 4 persons and add 2 extra beds). The room is very big but has only 1 bathroom and got the problem very less water from the shower because every room uses water. Then I informed staff and request for bucket of water and staff brings it to me.
The breakfast not enough because we can get only 1 set of AF or Seafood rice boiled and only 1 cup of coffee also.
The resort is on Saikeaw Beach and very easy to find the restaurant and convenience store. But this zone very bustle, it not matches with someone who needs the peaceful beach.

Resort very near the beach.. We can see the sea from our room (I did not rent in sea view room but I can see from the balcony.

Room Tip: Very good view on family beach room and Room B2 the rate cheaper than family beach room but you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed here for 9 days and couldn't fault the rooms or the staff. Excellent location, clean rooms and fresh bed linen and towels. Bathroom was especially nice and the shower was hot and powerful.
Definitely recommend the larger bungalows. The small rooms were noisy and cramped but clean.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaznay_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I agree with all of the above reviews - I wish I had checked Trip Advisor before booking here. The descriptions above about the room quality are all correct but I want to add more comments about the place.

We have stayed on Samed more than 6 times in the past and we always enjoyed it, but this place really spoils the reputation of the island. The staff hassled us to check out exactly at 12.00, coming to our room in the morning with the bill and standing outside our door waiting for us to confirm we were checking out. Not only that, but they also forced my family to give up their chairs on the beach by kicking on the chairs,taking them away and folding them up. Instead of enjoying our last afternoon on the beach after checking out (which is normal at other resorts), we were absolutely furious, and left early. I have never been treated this way at ANY hotel, especially not in Thailand. This is not Thai behaviour. If the resort was full I would understand if they could politely ask us to check out on time, but they were not full at all.

The breakfast which was included in the price was also terrible - we only tried it once. They have only 2 choices, and when we ordered, they actually forgot two of our orders (out of four). The staff were 'busy" watching TV (there was only one other table occupied, so they had no excuse to forget our order). The "american breakfast" was made using the cheapest, crappiest ingredients you could imagine. We did not even wait for our missing food to arrive, but went somewhere else for a proper breakfast.

I would not complain if the resort was really cheap but in fact it was not - at high season it is Baht 4,000 for a family bungalow. Its not suitable for small kids however because its on 2 floors and the stairs have no rails so its really dangerous.

Totally bad hotel, I hope they go out of business soon so that some nice, professional people renovate and occupy this part of the beach. I suggest you stay somewhere else and just visit this section of the beach.

To help you with some positive information - I recommend that you stay at Samed Villa Resort (but book early) and eat at Jep's Bungalows, which has really great food on the beach.

Enjoy Samed, just dont stay here..!

Room Tip: Want to choose a good room? Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
33 Thank ChrisChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

good location but terrible hotel !!!!
Stinky, dirty and so expensive rooms for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank marianne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in. A rat came into the room under the door and so did a large cockroach.
You have no cupboards or wardrobes so you have to live out of your suitcase.
The hotel has some sort of scam with the room safe key. 500Thb but they want another 500 Thb to open the safe if you lose the key?
Staff are not friendly or helpful, breakfast is poor quality.
Only the location is good.
Would never stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank chas_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.0 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#4 of 46 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
The C Samet Beach Resort
The C Samet Beach Resort
#14 of 55 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pandora Resort
Pandora Resort
#2 of 46 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samed Club
Samed Club
#9 of 46 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Sand Resort
Silver Sand Resort
#7 of 46 in Ko Samet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Sand Sea Resort

Property: Samed Sand Sea Resort
Address: 43 Moo 4, Sai-Kaew Beach, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Samed Sand Sea Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing