We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Resebuddan

Price worthy hotel close to nice beach

Review of Tonsak Resort
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2012
Stayed in one room bungalow. Clean and nice with refrigerator - all you need. Staff helpful but avoid their restaurant. Much better places to eat nearby. Great beach but got a bit crowded closer to New year.
Date of stay: December 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£139
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.1 miles from Tonsak Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£38
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
0.8 miles from Tonsak Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£52
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.4 miles from Tonsak Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£43
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.2 miles from Tonsak Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
£50
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.2 miles from Tonsak Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £144
  • Expedia.com
    £189
1.1 miles from Tonsak Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Breakfast spot
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    £32
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Tonsak Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £104
  • Algotels
0.1 miles from Tonsak Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £292
  • Expedia.com
    £300
2.9 miles from Tonsak Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • StayForLong
0.6 miles from Tonsak Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ko Samet
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
9
25
31
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
9
25
31
8
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We hoped to have a relaxing time in Thailand at the end of a hectic tour of Europe. When booking we made sure that the resort catered for the quiet relaxed feel rather than the party boy set. We were assured that they did not welcome groups out for drinking binges.

What a disappointment it was when a bunch of louts arrived and started partying on their verandah in the afternoon, and it never stopped. Constantly wakened from people running around the resort and yelling. At one stage I awoke to find somebody had decided to set themselves up on my verandah. With no interconnecting door, there was no way to talk to my wife and son to reassure them.

In the morning we exchanged war stories. The resort refused to evict the party boys who had spoiled our first night in Thailand, so we chose not to stay for the second night we had booked.

No idea how the rooms compare to others in Koh Samet, but I was very disappointed by the bathrooms (dark, dirty, almost no water pressure). Can't recommend this place to anybody.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Tonsak resort during our stay on Koh Samet and it was the perfect island retreat. The resort itself is set in tropical gardens so you really get an authentic tropical beach feel. It is located on Saekew beach and only in a few minutes walk along the white sand you will find beach restaurants with fire shows and authentic Thai cuisine.

Definitely recommended!

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sagestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at Tonsak on Sai Kaew, the best beach in Koh Samet. We were slightly disappointed as we entered but that was just momentary. The beach is white, the breakfast is fantastic and the coconut smoothie is the best ever. The rooms could be less suffocating, but they are better than a lot of resorts around this place. For dinner, you could just stroll down the lovely beach at night and pick from any of the good restaurants serving excellent Thai food. Rent a bike and go to Ao Prao beach for the sunset and a cocktail at Lima Coco.

Tonsak is a good match for people looking for better than average accommodation. For the best, however, you should head to the luxury resorts on Ao Prao.

Room tip: Try go get the beach front cottage. But, dont be disappointed if you dont. The beach is all yours if you are staying here.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ishanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I' ve been in this hotel maybe 10 times as I was living in Bkk and been many time in Samet.
the resort is a bit pricy when you compare to other bungalows on Sai Keaw but the rooms are nice and the location on the left of the beach entrance is making you avoiding all the noise coming froms the bar area (ploy...)
The food is awful but whithin 2 minutes walking distance you have 15 restaurants.
So for a short stay it is one of the best product you would find and K . Nida, the manager is very nice and can give you some advise about the island.

Room tip: rooms on the left side
Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Where to begin...Recently stayed at the Tonsak Resort in Koh Samet. Won't bore with details but overall the experience was terrible. The staff were unfriendly and unaccommodating right from the beginning. The room was very basic for the price we were paying and was not clean at all. The restaurant has limited selection and the quality is quite poor. The only thing this place has going for it and the only reason i can imagine that it is still open is it's location. After the first night and a major headache from the resort we ended up checking out early (they refused to refund us for our second night). They then proceeded to try to charge us extra because the sheets were "wet". You are a beach resort! That's like complaining that we got sand on the floor. Save yourself the time, money and hassle, there are many other places to stay...

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamaal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews