We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fine for Samet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Samet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sawasdee Coco Bungalows
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It's fine for Samet”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Friendly staff, rooms are basic but all you need with tv, Aircon, fridge etc. A lot better than some other places on Samet. The curtains need to be a bit heavier to keep out light for sleeping. Beach outside is very close but it's crowded with people smoking and lots of Russians. Maybe it's not so crowded other times of the year though. The Security Guard is a dog but seems to be effective at night.

Room Tip: upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    9
    7
    8
See reviews for
8
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Drab, dark and smelly with awful staff, we are traumatised by our experience here. Not only did we not get the superior room we booked but the room we did get was smelly with dirty bedding. when we tried to leave and cancel the booking we were told rudely that they would call the police. After a rather tense situation where we told the hotel to please call the police we were allowed to leave without charge. Defiantly one to be avoided an awful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed four nights in september as a group of 14 people in mixed ages including couples.
Went for some beach time and chose the hotel for its location on Saikaew Beach.
For the poor standard you get for 1100baht a night, I'd stay somewhere else next time.
Keep reading for more details if you're interested.

The hotel is located at the end of Saikaew beach, we could walk there from the ferry port.

Facilities; Reception and a coffe shop. The coffee shop has real espresso coffee, a huge plus. however only from around 10am to 16pm (?) so no early breakfast coffee available there.
The bungalows are very close to the beach but only two had window sea views (behind the coffee shop and the other one behind the massage place).

Bungalows/rooms we stayed in 6 different rooms,
Family room bungalow for 4 people, the nicest option. Two double beds, a bathroom and a small closet, not much space for four people and you have to share beds. Tap was hanging loose on to the sink. Nice terrace with sea view though.

Small double room, indeed very small, dark and with a lot of mildew on walls. Worst I've ever seen...

Double room superior, in detached one story building in the back facing some ongoing construction. Wood hard beds, terrible humid no ventilation bathroom , with leaking sink flooding the bathroom floor,all over semi clean and very thin walls. See photos.

Double room in reception building, same beds, semi clean, but newer and way nicer than the other terrible double rooms.

Service; daily cleaning and changing sheets, Not very thorough cleaning though. Free water bottles a plus.
Reception only had one key so they came asking for the one and only key from us to clean the room, everyday, weird.

Room Tip: If you have already booked this place and there's no turning back, get a family room,, or one on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I've been living in Thailand for the past two years and my wife and I have travelled to a number of places and stayed in countless hotels/hostels/resorts. Swasdee Coco Resort by far is the WORST place we've ever stayed during our stay in Thailand. The room we booked had been barely cleaned for few days and bed linen was full of patches and FOOD stains. Another couple who travelled with us got a similar room with stains on bed sheets and even had trouble with commode flush. When we returned to our rooms late in the night, water pressure was so low, it took forever to have a shower. On a positive note, staff was helpful. They changed bed linen upon request, but even replacements were not very clean. Also they allowed us to checkout one hour late (13:00 hours) without a fuss. Location is good, facing Sai Kaew beach and ~5-10 mins walk to all happening night life spots and restaurants. I'm realistic enough not to expect 5 star luxury comforts, but at the same time don't feel a clean room and clean bed is asking for too much. Glad we stayed for only one night and will NEVER stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKODAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at Sawasdee Coco for 1 night for my first time in koh Samet. Location is good on Saikaew beach. The room is clean but not so good sleep on that bed. The bathroom is terrible, no separation of shower area, the water is spread all over, and there is the hot water machine but not working.

A bit overprice for just room only rate compare to the quality of room and service.

Do not really recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KngSys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

great location on the beach, none of the staff where thai, (actually cambodian), rooms okay for sleep, thats all, showers need a make over and rooms only just clean. but for location, its fine and u can get others at a higher price, we booked a standard double, the cheapest they had, so have no idea on the other rooms

Room Tip: standard doubles are near the beach, everyone walks past your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romepere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I've been to some bad hotels during my many years of travelling, this must be among one of the worst, if not the worst. More resembling a backpackers joint. Don't go by the pictures you see of it on websites, they look nothing like the real thing. Our balcony certainly didn't look like the pictures. Maybe more like the place you might put your dustbins at the back of the house.

Don't blame the staff , can't turn a hovel into a palace ! Lazy management by the looks of it.

Having paid B1,250 for the room , we weren't expecting 4* or anything near it. The rooms were small and not too clean. The very old furnture comprised of a TV (ancient) with no English stations, although there were 200 stations to choose from. No wardrobe or drawers, you had to hang things on something that resembled a rack in your hallway at home to put up coats and hats. Two single beds shoved together rather uncomfortably (we had asked for a double in advance). Air con unit had seen better days. Not even a chair in the room, having said that, not enough space for it to fit in

None of the rooms appear to have any sea view, although it is next to the beach. Our view out of our rather small windows was a white brick wall. If you get a room as you see in the brochure, you will be looking at another room opposite you, 2 metres away with the walkway in between.

There is no breakfast or any other meal for that matter, reason being they have no restaurant.

There is also quite a bit of building work going on around the hotel, hammering and electric saws and drills. Certainly not from the Sawadee Co Co, must have been quite a few years since they have done any work on the place

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend any room in this place. Best idea would be just go to Ko Samet. There are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BangkokRaymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Samet
0.0 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Coco Resort
Sawasdee Coco Resort
#18 of 47 in Ko Samet
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sinsamut Koh Samed
Sinsamut Koh Samed
#30 of 57 in Rayong
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samed Green Inn
Samed Green Inn
#40 of 57 in Ko Samet
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samed Grand View Resort
Samed Grand View Resort
#12 of 20 in Ko Samet
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Coco Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Coco Bungalows

Property: Sawasdee Coco Bungalows
Address: Saikaew Beach, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing