We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff”
Review of Ao Nuan Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Samet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ao Nuan Bungalows
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The place is amazing, definitely the best beach in the island and the bungalows are reasonable priced for the expensive island. The staff are sort of rude, specially in the restaurant.
I order a Pad Thai and they confused bringing me a omelette with vegetales. When I reclaim to get the right meal and they bring me back the same omelette at peaces mixed with noodles.
That's no way to treat a costumer, as if we were stupids.
I said it's ok and even I ate up, but I told them that I know that's not a Pad Thai and they ain't admite it, even didn't say sorry.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The east part of Kho Samed may be noisy and very busy, but Ao Nuan beach is calm and ideal to relax. The Bungalows is the only accommodation available on that small beach.

No reservation possible but being there during the week I just took the chance and arrive in taxi truck from the ferry: 50 to 100 bth.

They have three types of bungalows, but the closest ones to the beach are without AC with a fan and shared shower. Great quality/price value. Only downside, the mattress is very hard, but that was not a big deal since their is plenty time and places to rest at Ao Nuan Bungalows.

They have food and bar service. I ate their in the morning and for lunch or diner just walked north along the coast to other beaches (nice path link all beaches) where many choices are available.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luc Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I loved this. Ao Nuan is close enough to the port that you can reach it with a short taxi ride. Or you can do what I did and decide you don't like where you originally booked and walk from beach to beach until you find Ao Nuan.

I went for the cheapest bungalow, 800 Baht - a wooden hut among the trees with a single room. A standing fan, but no air conditioner. A mosquito net and a hard double bed mattress on the floor. It also has a lovely little roofed patio looking out to the beach. Shower and basin are free standing from the bungalow and shared with some of the others.

It's a bit sandy, and the wood is rough and real. If you're looking for a really affordable place and enjoy a rustic vibe, the cheap bungalows are the way to go. I felt very at home and definitely think it was a good choice. It is quiet and the bungalows are far enough apart that you have a sense of privacy. Some guys in the next bungalow said they've explored all around Ko Samet and Ao Nuan bungalows are the best value for money for such a secluded spot - as you go south the resorts may be more secluded, but they also rapidly get more expensive.

The one thing that wasn't top notch was the food at the restaurant cum bungalow reception. They are slow and the vegetables were not so fresh. This is a place to stay, and then wander to the next beach for meals at the beach restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wairoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This resort keeps things simple. It has an (almost) private beach. Tourists walking the coastal trail do pass through (and often stop to swim), but this does not really detract from the pleasantness of this little cove.

We stayed in the most expensive a/c villa (honeymoon style) at 3,000 baht/night, as we arrived late at night by speedboat, and this was the only room available. It is very nicely appointed, with a spacious bathroom, and comfortable bed. The only negative was the distinctly septic-tank sulfurous odor of the shower water. This is probably not what you really want if you are their on a honeymoon - but then again, Thailand coastal resorts often suffer from septic tank contamination of water bores used for water supply to showers and toilets.

We then stayed in a 1,500 baht/night a/c villa. This was also pleasant, but still expensive for what was offered. The bathroom of our unit was an awkward step-down from the bedroom, with a very low door, so the owners had helpfully nailed a rubber tyre across that to stop untoward injury.

800 baht/night non-a/c rooms are also available. The near-beach garden area is beautifully planted and cared for - a very pleasant place to relax with a book and a drink. The restaurant/communal area is also very 'Thai' - relaxed, homey-feeling, and very pleasant to spend time in. The food is both good value and delicious!

The beaches just north and south of Ao Nuan are tourist-infested deck-chair-littered tired-after-the-bar-party-last-night offerings. Any natural beauty that they once had has long since died. South, a 10-15 minute walk gets you to an internet cafe (Ao Nuan has no internet or Wi-Fi), and a 7-Eleven-style store that sells everything from jandals to soap. You'll need the latter as, even at these prices (other than the 3,000 baht/night villa) you are not provided with any soap.

When traveling to Ko Samet be sure to reach the standard Rayong ferry before 5pm. After that, you may be stung with a 600% surcharge to use a speedboat option to get to the island, if you don't want to find accommodation in Rayong itself. The beach at Ao Nuan cannot be used for speedboat landings if the swell is too great, so you may need to arrive/depart a 15 minute walk North at a neighboring beach with softer surf.

While waiting for our departure ride we noted one speedboat deck-hand immersing people's bags up to 1/3 in the surf as he attempted to carry 2 heavy bags (one each hand) at a time. If you are a planner, pack a jumbo garden rubbish bag, wrap your bag and tape it prior to boarding the speedboat, just for safety's sake.

Overall - this is a lovely spot to relax and just de-stress. We'd recommend avoiding the 3,000 baht/night villa not just because it is overpriced, but because of the sulfurous shower.

Room Tip: When checking in, ask if there is building work underway. In typical Thai style, existing guests ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lake_Road_B_and_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.1 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Nuan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Nuan Bungalows

Property: Ao Nuan Bungalows
Address: Ao Nuan Beach, Ko Samet, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Ko Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing