We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous , highly recommend”
Review of Smile Samet House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smile Samet House
ew Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous , highly recommend”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Value for money! Great location, lovely pools, clean, helpful staff, great breakfast, we would definitely go back when in koh samui for sure. Free wi ifi , literally walk out the gate and you are in fishermans village , very quiet which is always a must at the end of a busy day.
We have found this to be booked out in the past often so this goes to say a lot

Room Tip: We had a simple room I think it was called superior , king plus single , bathroom balcony , air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowboardchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    19
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

A really great little guest house on the small island of Samet. We had a room with fan and it was comfortable and clean. Wifi was good and the owner very accommodating. The bathroom was a wet room (but I hear most are in Thailand) the shower also made me feel the cleanest I have this holiday. The hotel is off the beaten track (watch out for the giant puddle- when you get there you will know what I mean!). It took about 2 mins to walk to town, 5 mins to the pier and 10 minutes to the beach. The bars on the beach are lovely and eating dinner on the beach was perfect! A couple of small quips were the tv remote did not work (but we weren't there to watch tv and if we'd mentioned it to the owner I am sure she would have sorted it for us) and we left some m and m on bed and ants went in the packet (this is Asia! We were silly!). Careful when renting motor bikes outside on the Main Street they will ask to keep your passport as a deposit just refuse!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenkm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I walked form the pier to the hotel, and stopped to ask directions - a lady in a bar shouted and a girl appeared on a motorbike who took me and my luggage to the hotel for free (well, for a drink or two afterwards...). the people running the hotel are lovely, there is a good supply of towels, a book swap, free coffee, and lovely lovely air con. My friend and I stayed there as we wanted a little bit of luxury (i.e. not a dorm room in a hostel) but it was still pretty cheap. Recommended. The one warning though - you have to navigate round a large puddle in the road when walking from the beach!!

Room Tip: I was downstairs as I have a mobility problem, (which they were really good about accommodating), it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel is not fancy but was very clean and the room was comfortable. Had an AC room but with the AC turned off and the room smelled quite damp and musty. Also we had a room on the ground floor and was quite dark. Think the rooms upstairs would be better. Liked the free coffee in the morning. People running it weren't particularly friendly or unfriendly. Location is great. 5 min walk to the beach and lots of cheaper eating places near by. Wifi worked fine. Wasn't cheap by any stretch of the imagination but good value for Koh Samet.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrswonderstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Very clean, quiet guesthouse with friendly staff. Close enough to walk to the beach but could be closer (depending on what you want I guess). Staff were lovely enough to fix our hot water system at 10 pm! We were very appreciative of this after travelling all day. Bed was a little hard but this is being picky. Would stay again and recommend to the budget traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camerong1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Working on a travellers budget, Smile Samet was perfect. It is in the centre of the main village (good for those not wanting to pay on the beach prices) with a 2 minute walk from both the beach & the pier.

Staff owners were attentive & made sure we had everything we needed. Clean room, good wifi, air con & cable tv (Thai channels as you would expect).

We extended our stay by 3 days & would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tripofalifet1me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.0 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#5 of 47 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Samed Thanee
Samed Thanee
#17 of 57 in Ko Samet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pandora Resort
Pandora Resort
#2 of 47 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Samet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Samet House

Property: Smile Samet House
Address: 35/3 Moo 4 | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 5-minute walk from Sai Keaw Beach, Smile Samet House offers cosy rooms with en suite bathrooms. It features a 24-hour reception and a tour desk. Free Wi-Fi is provided in the entire guest house.Smile Samet House is a 10-minute walk from Nar Dan Pier and Suvarnabhumi International Airport is a 3-hours’ ride away.Simply furnished rooms at Smile Samet offer a fan, a TV and an en suite bathroom with shower facilities. Select rooms come with air conditioning.There is a 24-hour front desk service and a tour desk to help guests with travel and sightseeing arrangements.For local favourites and seafood dishes, head to nearby restaurants located within a 5-minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Smile Samet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing