We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have to go to Koh Samet then stay here”
Review of Baan Ploy Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Ploy Sea
Ranked #4 of 57 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“If you have to go to Koh Samet then stay here”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Will keep this short and sweet.

Koh Samet was definitely not the island for us but that's another story...

The hotel itself was very nice.

Pros:
- Staff were pleasant, efficient and friendly,
- Room was modern, very clean and spacious although with poor lighting,
- The attached restaurant was spacious and modern,
- Location just a 10 minute walk from public pier or a couple of minutes from their own private pier,
- Resort has their own boat transfer to Ban Phe,
- Good pressure from shower,
- good breakfast
- We didn't use the pool but it looked nice, was large and clean.
- grounds were clean, beach swept free of rubbish and debris

Cons:
- Wifi did not work in our room,
- Only one English speaking channel on the TV and that was the news.

We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was more expensive than what we were used to paying in Thailand however the meals were large, fresh and tasty.

It was the nicest looking hotel that we saw on the island (as far as we ventured) and if you are going to go to this island then this would be the pick of the places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AustraliaJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    36
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

And this was with good reason, the decor was nice, with glass tables covering holes in the ground, everything was spotlessly clean. However, perhaps the chef had an off day, bored that there was nobody else there to cook for. Half the food on menu was unavailable, though they did have their 1500baht per kilo of fish, but I didn' t fancy fresh fish in an empty restaurant. Disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplest2remember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I think this was the nicest hotel on the island. It's modern, private and the employees were very helpful/friendly. If I was to complain about one thing, it's that I found baby red ants on my pillow covers. Then again it's Thailand. I would be surprise if I didn't find any. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanmali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

You will love the silent if you do, I did and was happy for not choosing the crowded noisy sai keaw beach area. Simple but decent yet clean room, simply nice. Renting a motorbike is just next door ride 5 mins to Sai Keaw beach. It's the medium range on price for accommodation on Samed but only if you like what it offer as said, then it certainly worth the penny, did I mentioned the room charges includes free ferry ride to mainland and breakfast.

The beach, yea it's clear as it is around the island, it's nice but not the best beach for me for swimming, I have been almost half of the beaches on the island, among them the one makes me feel wanna jump into it is the one at moo ban tale hotel which is up north 10 mins ride. Super clear, wide, full of small little fishes, but it seens to be a private beach so am not sure if the hotel is generous enough to allow non hotel customers to swim there.

Baan Ploy Sea definitely one of my top 3 choices on my next trip to the island.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel is a bit off from the main street but there was no problem to have a walk to the town. The beach right in front of the hotel is really clean and the best part is you have it all for yourself. The pool is really nice and very unusual with its color. Breakfast was great and all of the staff members. They all where so service minded and helped us with everything. Thanks for a great stay!!

Sad though that they removed the restaurant on poles out in the water...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoAbroadNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here during our visit to Koh Samet, not realising that this is a different location from the main beach. That being said, it is within walking distance, 15-20 minutes. This other area is not very interesting. The beach is dirty and there is not much space in the sand anyway.
The hotel itself is new. Rooms are very spacious and the decor is very simple and relaxing. Dark wood, feels a bit like a Scandinavian ski resort.
Most rooms seem to have a view of the ocean, and the restaurant (under construction) looked already nice, but it was unfinished. We had Wifi and our breakfast was ok. Not fantastic flavours but you won't go hungry. We were asked if we wanted more of everything, which was nice.
I would recommend this hotel if you want to enjoy the attractions of the main beach but prefer to go and stay/sleep somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guillermo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a place to relax then I was avoiding from Sai Kaew Beach and finally made decision to be here. Unfortunately it was totally huge wrong decision that I ever made. There was a construction near by; just next door. Of course it is very noisy and loudly all day. You could not relax or find a quiet place as expect. Hotel should mentioned it on website which would be fair enough to customer. I made booking via booking.com and they could not do anything except apologize. I think it is not fair at all as customer.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Numnim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.8 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.2 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
1.0 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ao Cho Grandview Hideaway Resort
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#5 of 47 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Ploy Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Ploy Sea

Property: Baan Ploy Sea
Address: 84 Moo 4, Phe | Ao Klang beach, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Ploy Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Ploy Sea, One stylish and unique resort in two different feeling; 7-villa built on stilts in the middle of the sea and 16-room offers the comfortable retreat on the lovely fine sands of Ao-Klang beach. A total of 16 rooms, ranging from 2-Deluxe room, 12-Deluxe Seaview, 2-Beachfront suite. FREE HOTEL SHUTTLE BOAT FROM/TO RESORT(For hotel guests only) From Seree Pier mainland : 11.00 Hrs., 13.30 Hrs., 16.00 Hrs. From Koh Samet : 10.00 Hrs., 12.30 Hrs., 15.00 Hrs. **Please stand by at Seree Pier (hotel pier) 20 minutes before shuttle boat time. **If missing the shuttle boat, extra cost of a private speed boat will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Ploy Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing